Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Exclamation Need help with an AXE16000 and an AX11000 as a repeater

    Ok this is making me crazy. *I tried adding the 11000 as a mesh node and it keeps dropping and only uses 2.4g as a backhaul, so I set up the 11000 as a repeater, connecting to 5G1 on the 16000.
    *
    When the 11000 connects, it knocks down the 16000 and when it (the 16000) comes back up the 5G1 channel is set to control channel 0 and the SSID isn’t visible nor can you connect to it manually. If I then reboot the 16000 then reboot the 11000 I can sometimes get them to connect for a while, but randomly the 16000 will drop everything and reset the 5G1 to channel 0 and it cannot be changed, and I have to systematically reboot everything again.
    *
    *I have an AC88U set as a repeater on the 2,4g band it stays locked and reconnects if the 16000 reboots, but the 11000 will not and must be manually rebooted any time the 16000 drops.
    *
    I’ve tried:
    - upgrading all the firmware
    - switching the 11000 to Merlin firmware
    - using 5G2 as backhaul (same deal, resets and takes down the channel, resetting it to control channel 0)
    *- disabling AX, disabling 160MHz, disabling Wi-Fi agile connect, manually setting control channels, etc.

    It feels like the 16000 recognizes the repeater and is trying to reserve the 5G1 channel as a dedicated backhaul, but it doesn’t do this consistently and when it does do this (resets and puts the 5g1 to control 0)nothing including the repeater can connect to the channel.*

    Reading online it sounds like a hardware issue, but since it’s mainly acting up when another ASUS router connects as a repeater I’m wondering if it’s firmware as the channels seem stable as long as they aren’t connected to an ASUS router.
    *
    I’ve applied for an RMA and while I’m waiting I’m willing to try anything! *Thanks for any ideas. ***
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	6A47B88B-C846-494B-A94B-89B8EDCA5C13.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	22.0 KB 
ID:	93624
    *
    Just did a factory reset on the 11000 just in case there was some random setting left over from my messing with Merlin and Aimesh, but it didn’t fix it. *
    Last edited by Armand28; 06-25-2022 at 12:01 AM. Reason: Additional info and clarity

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    219

    NetSpot on a mobile device can help you see the signal strength. The 5 GHz signal degrades with distance and number of obstacles/walls, more than 2.4G so they may be too far from each other. If possible try moving them closer even better if they have clear line of sight to each other.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    588

    I have been going through this with an AX92U but I do have an AX11000 I might try later. I was having the same situation as you until I found a page discussing allowing Dedicated Wireless Backhaul.

    What it said is IF you have selected different SSIDs for your radios, you need to allow Smart Connect. It did not seem to work for me but I may have needed to adjust the Smart Connect rule.

    What has worked is going back to a single SSID on all the radios except the 6GHz one. Once I did that and had the 5-2 radio set as priority it jumped into that mode.

    https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1039646/

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AXEMesh.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	104.8 KB 
ID:	93629
    Last edited by Saltgrass; 06-25-2022 at 01:49 PM. Reason: more info

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    219

    I have SmartConnect enabled combining all 3 bands for my AXE11000 RT-AX86U and RT-AC68U and can confirm from WebGUI that the 6 GHz was set to WiFi-Name_dwb. I still have nothing to try to connect to 6 GHz though interesting that article says it can be manually connected to. (I noticed one setting does say 6 G is setup for both backhaul and fronthaul)...

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    IWhat has worked is going back to a single SSID on all the radios except the 6GHz one. Once I did that and had the 5-2 radio set as priority it jumped into that mode. Â*
    Yikes, I really do not want to do that if I can avoid it. *I have security cameras that do not like being handed off, so I want the routers closest to them to have unique SSIDs so that if a router has to reboot it does not lock on to the distant router which I then have to manually reboot to pass it back. That and my Xbox has the opposite problem, it likes jumping routers on a whim which really makes gaming tough, so ideally I would prefer to keep a bunch of different SSIDs, plus having unique SSIDs allows me to choose to connect to a router that may have had the backhaul disconnected.
    *I may just have to live with the router reboot shuffle if forcing shared SSIDs is a topology choice by ASUS.
    *
    Also why are my messages mis-formatted badly in this forum? *Any punctuation gets replaced with weird characters.*
    Last edited by Armand28; 06-25-2022 at 09:33 PM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    219

    With SmartConnect ON I can "Bind" each device to a specific node or the router. (I'll find out soon whether that feature is also available on the AXE16000). (Lyra Voice does not support binding so I don't know all of the models that don't)...

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Interesting, if that is true then I just need to figure out how to force my backhaul to 5g, but first I need to have those routers connect consistently.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    628

    Only if you connect your AX11000 to your AX16000 via wired, In that way your 5GHz_2 will become the backhual. That is what what I configured my mesh system with 3 AX11000 ( my third AX11000 bought from used market to replace my GTT5300, and it too coneected via wired).
    Last edited by ahfoo; 06-26-2022 at 04:34 PM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    219

    Quote Originally Posted by Armand28 View Post
    Interesting, if that is true then I just need to figure out how to force my backhaul to 5g, but first I need to have those routers connect consistently.
    If you are setting up WiFi backhaul start with router and node near each other ie within 2 m, (per ASUS instructions). Setup the AiMesh. Then move the node to the desired location. (Technically ASUS says move the node in the middle between router and dead zone).

    Try to check they may be too far from each other...
    Last edited by jzchen; 06-26-2022 at 05:37 PM.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    219

    I can confirm weird stuff happens to the backhaul of an AXE16000 router and AXE11000 as a node. Please note this is with 2.5 Gbps Ethernet backhaul connected and backhaul priority set to Auto. I even tried Cat 6 550 MHz cable gonna try Cat 8 tomorrow. (Inside wall is Cat 5e 550 MHz cable).

    A screenshot that I took. One time it was connected to the RT-AC68U...
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Screenshot_20220627-062211.png  

    Last edited by jzchen; 06-28-2022 at 02:39 AM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •