Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Please help me. Rog qi throne being ridiculous

    Hello.

    I just purchased a Theta 7.1 headset and the QI Throne. I have seen the two marketed together, but I cannot FOR THE LOVE OF GOD get it to work. The headset itself when plugged into the computer itself worked great. Wonderful. Then I got the Throne a day later and holy hell. So when you plug in the Throne, it overrides the headset as input and output....and absolutely no sound comes out. Nothing. I tried plugging in the headset USB to the USB port on the side of the throne, nothing. Worst of all. When you unplug the throne, now armory crate WONT REGONIZE THE THETA 7.1!!! At all. So not theres still no sound and my brand new headset doesn't work.

    What the hell is up with this thing? How do I get the Theta 7.1 AND the Throne to work in tandem as advertised.

    ** Update. Armory crate recognizes my headset if I disconnect the USB and use the Type C connection. Throne still does not produce sound. There is a 3.5mm audio jack but the Theta 7.1 does not come with such an adaptor....who knows why not.

    Any help is appreaciated. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    386
    Posts
    17,419

    Hi Herls,

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Does everything work ok if you connect the ROG Theta 7.1 and Throne Qi to their own separate motherboard usb ports?

    Click the picture below to make it bigger.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	qi.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	9.1 KB 
ID:	93686

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi Herls,

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Does everything work ok if you connect the ROG Theta 7.1 and Throne Qi to their own separate motherboard usb ports?

    Click the picture below to make it bigger.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	qi.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	9.1 KB 
ID:	93686
    Hello Nate. Thank you for the reply.

    When using the USB's, no they do not work. Connecting my headset via USB, and then the Throne QI via its USB causes the audio input and output to default to the QI and the Theta to disappear entirely from my computer as an option. Before plugging in the Throne QI for the first time, the USB for the Theta worked fine. It only started doing this after I plugged in the Theta for the first time.

    The Theta works if I use the Type C connector to my motherboard, but the cord is so ridiculously short its inconvenient.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    386
    Posts
    17,419

    Try using the USB-C to USB-A adapter cable, it should be in the ROG Theta 7.1 box.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	adapter.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	8.3 KB 
ID:	93691

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Try using the USB-C to USB-A adapter cable, it should be in the ROG Theta 7.1 box.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	adapter.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	8.3 KB 
ID:	93691
    That is what I was saying in my last two posts. That is the USB cord I used originally. It came with the headset. Before the Throne QI, it read the headset via the USB-A just fine. Now after with Throne QI, my PC refused to acknowledge the Theta 7.1 when the Throne is plugged in. It only acknowledges the Theta if I use the type-C.

    Not only that, but when the USB cord from the Theta is plugged into the Throne, absolutely no audio comes out at all. Nothing. I understand it won't utilize the amplifier which is ridiculous in its own right, but shouldn't it still play audio normally?
    Last edited by Herls; 06-30-2022 at 02:28 AM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    386
    Posts
    17,419

    Thank you,

    Is Armoury Crate and all devices updated?

    As I don't have the ROG Throne Qi, I can't say for certain if it would work, it says the amp and DAC aren't used when connecting with usb.

    It seems there is some sort of conflict going on but from what you're saying, an easy solution would be a USB-C to USB-C extension cable.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •