Results 1 to 10 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    ROG MAXIMUS Z690 HERO New Bios 1601

    Version 1601
    2022/07/08 10.95 MBytes

    ROG MAXIMUS Z690 HERO BIOS 1601
    "1.Update Microcode for next generation Intel Processors.

    Before running the USB BIOS Flashback tool, please rename the BIOS file (MZ690H.CAP) using BIOSRenamer."

    Not to much to get excited about though.

    https://rog.asus.com/au/motherboards.../helpdesk_bios

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardZ790 Asus Strix D4 Bios 801 / Strix z690 D4 Bios 1504
    Processor13900k @ 5.8 P/4.5 E/5.0 R @1.30v - 12900 Ks @ 5.4/5.1 ring @ 1.36v
    Memory (part number)DDR4 32GB @ 4300 c15-16-16-32 Gear 1
    Graphics Card #1RTX 4090 Gigabyte OC
    Graphics Card #2STRIX GTX 1080 TI
    Graphics Card #3MSI Gtx 1080 Ti + 360m aio @ 2000 mhz + 300 mem
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus Xg27AQM 27" @270 hz / Asus PG279Q 27" @165 HZ / AOC AG251FZ2 1080P @240hz
    Storage #1XPG 2TB/Samsung 970 evo+ 500 Gb / 970 Evo 1TB x 2
    Storage #22 tb HDD x 4
    CPU CoolerArtic liquid freezer 420mm / Deep Cool Gamermaxx 360mm v2 / Kraken G12 s36 360mm
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyEvga 1000w Platnuim / evga 750 w
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-21h1 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    372

    12900 ks @ 5.4 all core 5.1 ring cache , asus strix d4 ddr4 with dual rank 4133 mhz cl 15-15-15-35 16gb x 2
    i need +0.020v more vcssa vs bios 1503 ....

    evrything else is the same
    8gb x 4 sticks @ 4000 cl 15-15-15-35 requires +0.010v more vcssa as well on a 12900k regular
    13900k @5.8 P | 4.5 E | 5.1 R | @1.35v | 32GB DDR4 @4300 c-15-16-16-32 @ G1 | RTX 4090 | 27" 1440p 270Hz G-Sync

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    12900 ks @ 5.4 all core 5.1 ring cache , asus strix d4 ddr4 with dual rank 4133 mhz cl 15-15-15-35 16gb x 2
    i need +0.020v more vcssa vs bios 1503 ....

    evrything else is the same
    8gb x 4 sticks @ 4000 cl 15-15-15-35 requires +0.010v more vcssa as well on a 12900k regular
    Can i ask what overclocking settings you are using to achieve "5.4 all core 5.1 ring cache" ?

    because i am struggling to overclock my 12900k..

    thanks for the help,

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array ReatKay PC Specs
    ReatKay PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS Z690 Formula
    Processori9-12900K
    Memory (part number)4x Kingston Furty Beast Black DDR5-5600 32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX 3090 Suprim 24G
    Monitor2 x Samsung U28E590
    Storage #12 x Samsung S980 Pro 1TB, 1 Samsung S970 Evo Plus 1TB, 1 WD Black SN 750 2 TB
    Storage #21 x Seagate Exos 18TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair h150 Elite Cappellix 360mm with additional push fans (3 x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM)
    CaseIntertech C-701 Panorama
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime PX-1300 (1300W)
    Keyboard Roccat Vulcan Pro RGB
    Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
    Headset AstroTech A50 Gen 3
    Mouse Pad Logitech Lightspeed
    Headset/Speakers Samsung A350 Soundbar + Subwoofer
    OS Windows 11 Enterprise, Insider Release Preview
    Network RouterUbiquiti EdgeRouter ER-X, Huawei CEP 2 Pro, pfSense appliance
    Accessory #1 Thrustmaster A10 Warthog HOTAS
    Accessory #2 Corsair MT100 RGB Lighting Towers

    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    thx Asus :)

    To me, 1601 is a bless.

    It seems there have been some changes beside the microcode additions/changes for the upcoming raptor lakes, or does a bios update include something like new adjustments for memory based on new metrics/data/device tests?

    I'm not (much) into OCing , especially not when it comes to Memory-related adjustrments and im fairly new on the Z690 Formula - spending the last 2 weeks (well, the very limited time I have per day) trying to find a stable setting for my currently mostly "unconventional" setting (4 x 32GB). While the stock and - from now - 2 previous versions in auto mode didn't yield stability (with the version before 1601 being the worst - up to 6 bsods per day and hundreds of errors on Memtest86), 1601 changed the game: Auto settings (even I didnt recognize any obvious change as far as i went into the deeper nested settings) finally work stable for my setup. Freqs obviously are lower , but that doesnt really matter to me - I need the size of the memory due to work.

    PS: Using 4 x Kingston 32GB 5600MHz CL40

    @alessast:
    What issues do you have with your OC? I have just did some tests initially with the 12900k - reaching like 5.1 all core is not a big thing with it - if you can handle the heat - the 12900k tends to run significantly hotter than the 11900k - but at same time the really critical area is higher than on the 11900k. What cooling do you use? What does the ASUS rating say about your cooler, and SP ? What frequencies you get with what temperature - under what/which test procedure(s)? Keep in mind, the KS has a significantly higher boost and all core boost compared to the K, going up to 5.5 for 2 cores and 5.2 for all cores with its stock boosts (compared to our 4.9 stock), so directly comparing them both is hard - as the KS is basically the "perfect manufacturing outcome" - while our Ks range from "ok to good", the ks is the optimum.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array bass junkie xl PC Specs
    bass junkie xl PC Specs
    MotherboardZ790 Asus Strix D4 Bios 801 / Strix z690 D4 Bios 1504
    Processor13900k @ 5.8 P/4.5 E/5.0 R @1.30v - 12900 Ks @ 5.4/5.1 ring @ 1.36v
    Memory (part number)DDR4 32GB @ 4300 c15-16-16-32 Gear 1
    Graphics Card #1RTX 4090 Gigabyte OC
    Graphics Card #2STRIX GTX 1080 TI
    Graphics Card #3MSI Gtx 1080 Ti + 360m aio @ 2000 mhz + 300 mem
    Sound CardMotherboard Realtec , Driver 87.46
    MonitorAsus Xg27AQM 27" @270 hz / Asus PG279Q 27" @165 HZ / AOC AG251FZ2 1080P @240hz
    Storage #1XPG 2TB/Samsung 970 evo+ 500 Gb / 970 Evo 1TB x 2
    Storage #22 tb HDD x 4
    CPU CoolerArtic liquid freezer 420mm / Deep Cool Gamermaxx 360mm v2 / Kraken G12 s36 360mm
    CaseThermaltake View 71 full Glass
    Power SupplyEvga 1000w Platnuim / evga 750 w
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnuim RGB
    Mouse Corsair Night Sword RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 chroma
    Mouse Pad Asus Sheeth Large
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX 5.1
    OS Windows 10-21h1 x64 Pro
    bass junkie xl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    372

    Quote Originally Posted by alessast View Post
    Can i ask what overclocking settings you are using to achieve "5.4 all core 5.1 ring cache" ?

    because i am struggling to overclock my 12900k..

    thanks for the help,
    i can share my asus bios .cmo file or bios settings all text file if u want .

    i can do up to 5.7 ghz all core hyper threading off or 5.5 ghz all core ht on
    high sp chip requires less vcore im a sp 104 ks ( sp 114 + if it was 12900k ish )
    13900k @5.8 P | 4.5 E | 5.1 R | @1.35v | 32GB DDR4 @4300 c-15-16-16-32 @ G1 | RTX 4090 | 27" 1440p 270Hz G-Sync

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
    i can share my asus bios .cmo file or bios settings all text file if u want .

    i can do up to 5.7 ghz all core hyper threading off or 5.5 ghz all core ht on
    high sp chip requires less vcore im a sp 104 ks ( sp 114 + if it was 12900k ish )
    Yes please , i would be very nice if you could share your Asus bios.cmo file settings as text file (saving it with Ctrl + F2)
    because i don't have the same motherboard as you, so i can only read it as text file.

    I have an average sp chip, but i need to do 5.3 ghz on all cores, with E-core disabled
    and i am a bit desperate to find settings that could work..

    my sp is 93 for P cores Asus Ai rated my CPU cores VID 1.359v to 1.388v.
    Last edited by alessast; 07-15-2022 at 05:59 PM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Someone is having problems with Corsair RGB DDR5 in this firmware?

    Someone is having problems with Corsair RGB DDR5 in this firmware?
    It's seems not to be working the RGB assignations with iCue open, hardware lighting seems to be ok.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Megalamaniac PC Specs
    Megalamaniac PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore/Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i9-7920x/Intel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)32g TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16Q/32g TridentZ F4-3200C14Q
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #2GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #3none/GTX 970
    Sound Cardnone/SB Recon3D PCIe
    Storage #1Samsung EVO Plus 970 1TB/Samsung Evo 960 1Tb
    CaseThermaltake Core WP200/Coolermaster HAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi1500/Corsair AXi1200
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6 Pro, LT 6/Aquaero 5 Pro, LT 5
    Accessory #2 Dual Loop Custom Watercooling

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I updated to 1601 from 1403 and started getting BSOD's from Win 10. The system would boot, but once Win 10 finished loading, I'd get a BSOD within minutes, if not right away. I rolled it back to 1403, but I'm still getting the BSOD's, just not as many. Feel like I need to Reset Win 10.

    Has anyone else had any issues with this 1601? Maybe it's time to move to Win 11?
    Last edited by Megalamaniac; 08-03-2022 at 10:54 PM. Reason: sp

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by Megalamaniac View Post
    I updated to 1601 from 1403 and started getting BSOD's from Win 10. The system would boot, but once Win 10 finished loading, I'd get a BSOD within minutes, if not right away. I rolled it back to 1403, but I'm still getting the BSOD's, just not as many. Feel like I need to Reset Win 10.

    Has anyone else had any issues with this 1601? Maybe it's time to move to Win 11?
    Reset bios before any fast moves. Update chipset drivers too as well as others.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Megalamaniac PC Specs
    Megalamaniac PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme Encore/Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i9-7920x/Intel i7-6850k
    Memory (part number)32g TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16Q/32g TridentZ F4-3200C14Q
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #2GTX 1080ti Strix/GTX 970
    Graphics Card #3none/GTX 970
    Sound Cardnone/SB Recon3D PCIe
    Storage #1Samsung EVO Plus 970 1TB/Samsung Evo 960 1Tb
    CaseThermaltake Core WP200/Coolermaster HAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi1500/Corsair AXi1200
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6 Pro, LT 6/Aquaero 5 Pro, LT 5
    Accessory #2 Dual Loop Custom Watercooling

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by Makuzx99 View Post
    Reset bios before any fast moves. Update chipset drivers too as well as others.
    Pretty much the first thing I tried after rolling back to 1403.

    Most of the BSOD's are System Service Failure, but sometimes it's an IRQ or Kernal error.

    I had to RMA my first HERO because it started toasting the the RAM Stick in the second slot. I did an advance replacement so they would hopefully send me another new board, which they did.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •