Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Essex23 PC Specs
    Essex23 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X470F-Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 2700X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill DDR4 3200
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 1070 Ti Advanced
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix GTX 1070 Ti Advanced
    Sound CardAudioengine D1 24-bit DAC
    MonitorLG 29UM68-P 29-Inch 21:9 UltraWide
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 500 GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i v.2
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe
    Mouse Corsair Glaive Aluminium Pro
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+
    Essex23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    ROG STRIX Z690-E not seeing GPU/not booting with it installed

    Unfortunately there seems to be a problem with the motherboard working in tandem with the GPU that is being used.

    System:
    ROG STRIX Z690-E Motherboard
    ROG STRIX 1070 Ti OC

    Problem:
    50% of the time when 'restarting' the system (not from a cold boot) clicking start and reboot or asked to restart after an update ect.., the card is not seen by the motherboard after the 'reboot', i get one long beep followed by three short beeps which also indicates GPU or RAM issue, I've already ruled out 'New' RAM and swapped them out for other RAM I have, yet have same problem. I have to hit the 'reset button' on top of the tower to come back up OR i have to shutdown the PC and press the start button on the tower to get around it.

    To further test, my ASUS motherboard (ROG STRIX Z690-E) has an HDMI that I used instead, restarted my PC at least 50 times without failures, so that means my onboard GPU works fine, but when I reconnect back to the card's HDMI, its fails 50% of the time on a 'Restart'. On a cold start it works every time but I do a lot of remote work and reboots / restart need to work so can access my PC. I've already tried to reset it several time and clean the pins but have the same problem.

    The GPU worked perfectly fine in a previous build with an ROG STRIX X470-F Gaming motherboard, was never overclocked or anything, and was run in SLI configuration. Both cards were working perfectly, but now have issues with this new motherboard. ASUS Tech supprt claims the card is the issue and is about to fail, but I disagree and think it is some other issue not being identified.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Same problem. Using Nvidia 1060 6GB DP port and restart from windows gets stuck with GPU(white led) lit. Until I press reset on the cabinet it won't boot into windows.

    With the onboard DP port, it reboots fine.

    This Nvidia card which I am using is absolutely fine and can able to use in other systems without any issues like this.

    Please help anyone.

    Just for Info, My System Config
    i9 12900K
    Asus Strix Z690-E
    XPG 16x2=32GB 5200mhz Kit
    Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB GP104 Amp Edition
    Corsair 1000RM Watts

    I use PCIe SATA 10 Ports card
    ROG M2 Card with 1 NVMe Occupied.
    Last edited by SunilV; 03-18-2022 at 04:08 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    how long have you had the card? if just received, i would try a bios flash if possible

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by hoodiemike View Post
    how long have you had the card? if just received, i would try a bios flash if possible
    I have had this card since 2019. Zero problems with other boards.
    It's Zotac GTX 1060 6 GB (AMP! Edition)

    Flashed to latest ROG STRIX Z690-E Version 1304 also but no solution.
    Last edited by SunilV; 03-14-2022 at 10:03 AM.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    233
    Posts
    2,780

    Hello,

    Can you confirm you're not using a riser cable of any kind? Does the issue occur with the GPU in another 16x length slot?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Hello,

    Can you confirm you're not using a riser cable of any kind? Does the issue occur with the GPU in another 16x length slot?
    No, I am not using any riser cable. I haven't tested in another slot.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array catch36 PC Specs
    catch36 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog CrossHair VIII WiFi
    Processor3900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW (2 X 16GB)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti
    Sound CardCreative ZxR
    MonitorDell 24"
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket NVMe 1TB Gen4
    CPU CoolerArtic Cooling Liquid Freezer II-280
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000w G3
    Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600 USB
    Mouse Logitech USB 325
    OS Windows 10 v20H2

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13


  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by catch36 View Post
    Thank you. I will check tonight and will update here.

    Strange thing yesterday noticed. When I do click restart from windows and as usual mobo stucks at Q-LED with VGA light(white) but I noticed windows 11 is loading behind successfully.
    Yesterday my speaker bar was switched on and I can hear Windows 11 loading and welcome sounds. Usually, I switch on my speaker after successful windows loading every time.

    Then I just did press the cabinet switch once(not long just tap) to shut down the windows normally. It shut down the windows and the system completely off.
    All of it happened with no display screen.

    Hope you guys understood what I am saying. English is not my language.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Are you on windows 11? If yes, Check event viewer do you see WHEA error or warnings about PCI express root port errors? Would show Vender 8086 Device 06BC for intel PCI controller? If yes you may be having the same issue as mine. I posted my issue here, my theory and my solution.Â*
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...y-loses-signal
    I believe there is a windows .net framework update that is messing things up. Basically what solved for me is you need to connect your monitor to igpu and do a clean windows install, update chipset, igpu and other drivers. Then finish all windows updates including the framework updates then restart to apply the updates on igpu. Download nvidia driver (I also think 511.79 is causing some issue so I am on 511.23). Turn off internet adapters, shut down, connect monitor to your dGPU, install driver without internet. Hope you can resolve this issue I know how annoying this is, I was really scared it was hardware issue as all the WHEA errors and warnings show up.Â*

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by catch36 View Post
    Thanks for the help but I already have the update installed it says.

    No luck

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •