Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Random shut downs and reboots, no bcod

    Hey guys, I have random reboots on my computer. I dont get any blue screens or error messages, ive check temps and basic stuff but im not the most advanced tweaker like some of you. I can be gaming or surfing net or just sitting idling. sometimes it will turn back on immediately and sometimes it has to wait 10 mins or so.

    -Maximus XII
    -i910900kf AIO cooler with 320mm rad.
    Rams (4) sticks of g.Skill f4-4133c19d-16GTZR--- might be the issue, ive tried it on different scenarios with 1, 2, stick and swapped them around and all that and ran mem test its test ok.
    -1090ti
    -(2) 960 PRO m.2 in raid
    -1 970 pro m.2 storage
    -corsair 1200gold PSU


    I have some basic diag stuff but just tell me what to post.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    400
    Posts
    17,679

    Hi Datsun240z

    I'd start with one matching ram kit in slots A2-B2 and test at default settings.

    If stable, then try X.M.P. or manually setting your ram to its rated specs, you may need to raise these voltages to get 4133MHz stable.

    Dram voltage: 1.40 - 1.45v
    CPU System Agent Voltage (VCCSA): 1.25v - 1.30v
    CPU VCCIO voltage: 1.25v - 1.30v

    Try with the lowest voltages first.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    ok i will try that when i get home, i do remember i did try putting the ram in like that but i didn't mess with voltages as i don't know all the depth of that kinda stuff. it did crash again last night and i was logging stuff. would that be any good to post?*

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Ok, it failed to post with XMP 1 settings so i tried XMP2 and it failed as well. put it back on auto and it booted right up. im not sure my problem is ram im not a very in depth cpu guy but i can build stuff forgive my ignorance.
    i should have 2 logs of failures as i now have had 2 and i wrote down the time.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    i tried setting the frequency to 4133mhz and it will not boot. then i tried setting the voltages to what you said and left the 4133mhz.. no boot.... then i put the dram frreq to auto and it booted. it shows it as 2133mhz. (should i run it like this or should i change the voltages back to default to test it for awhile?)

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Ahh it finally booted. been playing with settings. currently in XMP 2 with your settings but the 1.45v on the memory. should i try to keep it like this or keep playing with xmp 1?

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    400
    Posts
    17,679

    Nice, it sounds like you're edging towards stability.

    What Frequency and Timings does X.M.P. 2 show?

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    xmp ddr4-4140 19-19-19-39.1
    BLCK FREq 100
    pcie freq 100

    i have not had a crash yet but ive just been googling stuff. i did a stress test with AIDA64 and she fails memory and cashe but i dont know what im looking at, temps look ok. i unpluged my AIO cpu cooler and temps ramp so my pump is good.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    oh this is with all 4 dimms installed

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    ehhh another crash as usual. damn
    opened asus extreme tuning utility and ran cpu stress test. its showing "Power Limit Throttling" about 3 mins into the test. im not overclocking the cpu. its default. could that be something?

    cpu test with avx says passed though but it did trigger "Current/EDP Limit Throttling"
    Last edited by Datsun240z; 07-28-2022 at 10:02 PM.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •