Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array TEZLINTON PC Specs
    TEZLINTON PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Prime Z690-A DDR5
    Processori5 12600K
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast DDR5 5200MHz 2x16GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1070 OC
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 1TB M.2
    CPU CoolerEKWB EK-AIO 240
    CaseCorsair 4000D Airflow
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000X 20211000W
    OS Windows 11
    Network RouterTp-Link AX11000

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    XMP Profiles crash my PC

    Whenever i enable a XMP profile on my Asus Prime Z690-A it crashes games within minutes. Sometimes the game just crashes other times it will blue screen or just restarts but only crashes when in a game's as stress tests seem to be fine. It also sometimes fails to reboot and just gets stuck at the asus logo screen clearing cmos fix's this but sometimes just powering down pc for a few mins lets me back into windows. XMP disabled seems to be fine not issues at all. Im running windows 11 with a 12600K & Kingston 32 GIG ram 5200MHz also running latest bios, Drivers & NO overclocks

    EDIT: I have just updated to bios 1720 turned on XMP and got a blue screen within 2 mins. Im starting to regret the choice i made to switch to ASUS
    Last edited by TEZLINTON; 08-17-2022 at 08:34 AM. Reason: Updated BIOS to 1720

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    146
    Posts
    612

    Which RAM slot you insert your RAM into? and can I make assumption your RAM in 2X16GB pair?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I am experiencing similar issues with my z690 Apex which I received last week via Asus RMA. I was sent what looked like a brand new board. It has the most recent bios. XMP is stable in dimm slot B1, but it is not stable in A1. Memory kit is on the QVL. I cannot get either stick XMP stable in dimm slot A1. The exact same kit worked fine running XMP on my original Apex board, and was able to overclock with tight timings. It's frustrating, however the Asus support team has been very nice and really good at communicating. I dislike the thought of having to RMA another board. I have spent so much time on this to where I'm almost exhausted. I have owned and used several generations of Asus motherboards, and this is the first time I have had any issues with XMP memory stability.

    My suggestion is to call Asus support, open a support ticket and be patient. Be methodical with your troubleshooting and log everything so that you can be prepared to answer any questions over the phone.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    398
    Posts
    17,516

    I'm using the ROG Strix Z690-F Gaming Wifi motherboard and 12700KF with Kingston Fury Beast 16GB 6000MT/s cl 40 memory.

    I was experiencing crashes at first, what solved it was raising three voltages.

    CPU System Agent voltage - 1.30v
    Dram VDD voltage - 1.38v
    Dram VDDQ voltage - 1.38v

    Updating to the latest bios may help with memory stability.

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array TEZLINTON PC Specs
    TEZLINTON PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Prime Z690-A DDR5
    Processori5 12600K
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast DDR5 5200MHz 2x16GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1070 OC
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 1TB M.2
    CPU CoolerEKWB EK-AIO 240
    CaseCorsair 4000D Airflow
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000X 20211000W
    OS Windows 11
    Network RouterTp-Link AX11000

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by ahfoo View Post
    Which RAM slot you insert your RAM into? and can I make assumption your RAM in 2X16GB pair?
    Yes its 2x16BG and they are installed in A2 and B2 slots

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array TEZLINTON PC Specs
    TEZLINTON PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Prime Z690-A DDR5
    Processori5 12600K
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast DDR5 5200MHz 2x16GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1070 OC
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 1TB M.2
    CPU CoolerEKWB EK-AIO 240
    CaseCorsair 4000D Airflow
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000X 20211000W
    OS Windows 11
    Network RouterTp-Link AX11000

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    I'm using the ROG Strix Z690-F Gaming Wifi motherboard and 12700KF with Kingston Fury Beast 16GB 6000MT/s cl 40 memory.

    I was experiencing crashes at first, what solved it was raising three voltages.

    CPU System Agent voltage - 1.30v
    Dram VDD voltage - 1.38v
    Dram VDDQ voltage - 1.38v

    Updating to the latest bios may help with memory stability.
    Im currently on latest bios it was also doing the same on a older bios it came with. Im pretty new mucking around with anything memory related like voltages but im sure i could figure it out. I will wait to see if there is a easier option

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus MZ690E Bios 1505
    Processori9 12900KS
    Memory (part number)GSkill F5-6400J3239G16GX2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Ti Tuf
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    2,480

    There is also a preconfigured set of profiles for memory in the memory timings section of the bios depending on whether it’s Samsung, Hynix, etc. There may be a profile present in that section that you can apply. I am not familiar with your memory kit, but you can check CPU-Z for the manufacturer and then apply the profile provided it’s compatible with your kit.

  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array TEZLINTON PC Specs
    TEZLINTON PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Prime Z690-A DDR5
    Processori5 12600K
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast DDR5 5200MHz 2x16GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1070 OC
    MonitorAsus ROG PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 1TB M.2
    CPU CoolerEKWB EK-AIO 240
    CaseCorsair 4000D Airflow
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000X 20211000W
    OS Windows 11
    Network RouterTp-Link AX11000

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    There is also a preconfigured set of profiles for memory in the memory timings section of the bios depending on whether it’s Samsung, Hynix, etc. There may be a profile present in that section that you can apply. I am not familiar with your memory kit, but you can check CPU-Z for the manufacturer and then apply the profile provided it’s compatible with your kit.
    Thanks are you able to tell me what tab in bios it might be under i have had a good look around but can only find the XMP profiles. Heres a screenshot of CPU-Z i think my ram is samsung is that good? I also included the spec sheet of my ram if that helps. Sorry im pretty new to this stuff
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos RAM.png  

    RAM2.png  

    Archivos Adjuntos

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    19
    Posts
    187

    Only the upper tier boards have the extra profiles. Strix, Tuf and Prime dont have them

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •