Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: POST failing

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array jaristr PC Specs
    jaristr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Skylake-X Core i9-7920X, LGA2066, 2.9 GHz, 16.5 MB
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance, DDR4 4000MHz, CL19, 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING, 11GB GDD
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 970 EVO SSD, M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVM
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    POST failing

    Hi
    I upgraded my mobo BIOS to the latest version (3701). But I've got POST problems after that. The first boot seems to always fail and I boot again and I am forced to go to BIOS and I just close it without changes and then it boots to windows.
    The only option I have changed from BIOS after the update is enabling XMP, which I probably had enabled before the update.

    Is there anything I can try to fix this?

    Specs:

    Motherboard: Asus ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming

    Memory: Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance, DDR4 4000MHz, CL19, 1.35V

    CPU: Intel Skylake-X Core i9-7920X, LGA2066, 2.9 GHz, 16.5 MB

    HD: Samsung 500GB 970 EVO SSD, M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVM

    GPU: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING, 11GB GDD



    thx!
    Last edited by jaristr; 08-10-2022 at 06:49 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    400
    Posts
    17,687

    Hi jaristr

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    In the bios on the boot tab, check the first boot device says "Windows Boot Manager".

    Also Disable CSM.

    Does this get your pc to boot normally?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    191
    Posts
    692

    When system first boot after bios upgrade/updatge, system always prompt you to enter bios while the bios already been reset to default. What you need to redo your setting such as XMP, boot device etc etc. Basically just redo your best setting according to your system requirement.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array jaristr PC Specs
    jaristr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Skylake-X Core i9-7920X, LGA2066, 2.9 GHz, 16.5 MB
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance, DDR4 4000MHz, CL19, 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING, 11GB GDD
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 970 EVO SSD, M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVM
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi jaristr

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    In the bios on the boot tab, check the first boot device says "Windows Boot Manager".

    Also Disable CSM.

    Does this get your pc to boot normally?
    boot device is ok

    I didnt change CSM because there was some message about drivers

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array jaristr PC Specs
    jaristr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Skylake-X Core i9-7920X, LGA2066, 2.9 GHz, 16.5 MB
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance, DDR4 4000MHz, CL19, 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING, 11GB GDD
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 970 EVO SSD, M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVM
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by ahfoo View Post
    When system first boot after bios upgrade/updatge, system always prompt you to enter bios while the bios already been reset to default. What you need to redo your setting such as XMP, boot device etc etc. Basically just redo your best setting according to your system requirement.
    the only thing i ever change is XMP to on

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    191
    Posts
    692

    So you what your descriptions for my understanding, After update the system always prompt you to enter bios? Am I right.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array jaristr PC Specs
    jaristr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Skylake-X Core i9-7920X, LGA2066, 2.9 GHz, 16.5 MB
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance, DDR4 4000MHz, CL19, 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING, 11GB GDD
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 970 EVO SSD, M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVM
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by ahfoo View Post
    So you what your descriptions for my understanding, After update the system always prompt you to enter bios? Am I right.
    First the boot fails, nothing happens just black screen. then I shutdown and restart and I am forced to go to bios. but after that windows loads up

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    191
    Posts
    692

    Ok, reset your bios and redo your bios setting. Save and exit and boot. Once done. Boot to windows and once windows 10/11 settle down, turn off your PC. Wait foe a while and turn on again. Hope it help.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array jaristr PC Specs
    jaristr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Skylake-X Core i9-7920X, LGA2066, 2.9 GHz, 16.5 MB
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance, DDR4 4000MHz, CL19, 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING, 11GB GDD
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 970 EVO SSD, M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVM
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by ahfoo View Post
    Ok, reset your bios and redo your bios setting. Save and exit and boot. Once done. Boot to windows and once windows 10/11 settle down, turn off your PC. Wait foe a while and turn on again. Hope it help.
    Doesn't the bios update reset settings?

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array jaristr PC Specs
    jaristr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Skylake-X Core i9-7920X, LGA2066, 2.9 GHz, 16.5 MB
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance, DDR4 4000MHz, CL19, 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING, 11GB GDD
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 970 EVO SSD, M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVM
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    I tried resetting the bios to "optimized defaults" and then put XMP back on but same problem

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •