Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Boot monitor

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array jaristr PC Specs
    jaristr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Skylake-X Core i9-7920X, LGA2066, 2.9 GHz, 16.5 MB
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance, DDR4 4000MHz, CL19, 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING, 11GB GDD
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 970 EVO SSD, M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVM
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Boot monitor

    Hi
    Does anyone know if it's possible to change the boot monitor?

    i have my main monitor in display port and the other in DVI (I think) but the bios opens up in the secondary monitor.
    been going through the manual/bios but have not yet found anything

    is it possible?

    thx

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    398
    Posts
    17,522

    Hi jaristr,

    You should be able to change the primary display in the Nvidia Control Panel.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	display.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	54.6 KB 
ID:	94552

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array jaristr PC Specs
    jaristr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Skylake-X Core i9-7920X, LGA2066, 2.9 GHz, 16.5 MB
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance, DDR4 4000MHz, CL19, 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING, 11GB GDD
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 970 EVO SSD, M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVM
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi jaristr,

    You should be able to change the primary display in the Nvidia Control Panel.
    Hey, sorry probably wasn't clear. I have set the main monitor in windows but the problem is my PC boots with the secondary monitor. So in bios it uses the second monitor

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    398
    Posts
    17,522

    That was for the Nvidia Control Panel, have you tried the windows settings too?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	10.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	8.5 KB 
ID:	94553

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array jaristr PC Specs
    jaristr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Skylake-X Core i9-7920X, LGA2066, 2.9 GHz, 16.5 MB
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance, DDR4 4000MHz, CL19, 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING, 11GB GDD
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 970 EVO SSD, M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVM
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Yea same thing

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    398
    Posts
    17,522

    All right, I don't know if this would help but...

    While your pc is on, disconnect the secondary display.

    Reboot, and let the displayport monitor become the primary display.

    Then connect the secondary display.

    Reboot and see if the displayport monitor stays as the primary display.

    If this doesn't work, would you have a displayport to DVI adapter cable to try?

    Someone said unchecking fast startup solved this problem for them.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	startup.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	29.0 KB 
ID:	94555

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array TrebleTA PC Specs
    TrebleTA PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Desktop PC
    MotherboardGigabyte Z390 Master (Rev 1.00) Custom bios
    ProcessorIntel i7 9700k OC 5.1ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 3200mhz 32gb OC 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 2070 OC 2021mhz
    MonitorAcer 27" 2k 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Evo plus 1tb
    Storage #2Samsung 950 evo 256gb
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 using 3ed party software.
    CaseNZXT H500 Sweat box added bottom fan
    Power SupplyEvga Super Nova Platinum P2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitch P12
    OS Windows 11 Pro insider
    Network RouterDSL-AX82U-AX5400
    Accessory #1 Desk fan for them hot times

    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    119

    Normaly its hardware set in the video card firmware.

    Yet display port should be set by default, do you have another display port?

    Also what display card, onboard or nvidia etc model?
    Last edited by TrebleTA; 08-11-2022 at 06:19 PM.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40B)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    398
    Posts
    17,522

    Hi TrebleTA,

    He's using the MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming.

    It could be how the graphics card initializes at boot.

    An adapter cable might be the solution or if the monitor has other connection types, could try a different cable.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array TrebleTA PC Specs
    TrebleTA PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Desktop PC
    MotherboardGigabyte Z390 Master (Rev 1.00) Custom bios
    ProcessorIntel i7 9700k OC 5.1ghz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 3200mhz 32gb OC 3600mhz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 2070 OC 2021mhz
    MonitorAcer 27" 2k 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Evo plus 1tb
    Storage #2Samsung 950 evo 256gb
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62 using 3ed party software.
    CaseNZXT H500 Sweat box added bottom fan
    Power SupplyEvga Super Nova Platinum P2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
    Headset Logitch P12
    OS Windows 11 Pro insider
    Network RouterDSL-AX82U-AX5400
    Accessory #1 Desk fan for them hot times

    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    119

    If its a MSI card, then on the MSI forum they should be able to help. Maybe even a Firmware update, they would know.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array jaristr PC Specs
    jaristr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX X299-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Skylake-X Core i9-7920X, LGA2066, 2.9 GHz, 16.5 MB
    Memory (part number)Corsair 16GB (2x8GB) Vengeance, DDR4 4000MHz, CL19, 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti GAMING, 11GB GDD
    Storage #1Samsung 500GB 970 EVO SSD, M.2 2280, PCIe 3.0 x4, NVM
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    All right, I don't know if this would help but...

    While your pc is on, disconnect the secondary display.

    Reboot, and let the displayport monitor become the primary display.

    Then connect the secondary display.

    Reboot and see if the displayport monitor stays as the primary display.

    If this doesn't work, would you have a displayport to DVI adapter cable to try?

    Someone said unchecking fast startup solved this problem for them.
    I had just one monitor before (the primary) but ever since I plugged the second monitor it has been the one booting first (bios monitor)

    windows fast startup was already off

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •