Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    3
    Posts
    101

    Smile Reset button turn off instantly the PC?

    Hi guys. I'm wondering why reset button act this way.

    When I press the reset button, system shutdown instantly, even the power led goes off and system turn on by itself after 2 or 3 seconds.

    I mean, when using reset on other systems, they won't completely turn off, they just reset or reboot without turning completely off the system.

    Any ideas is this behavior can be changed to usual reset?

    B660m plus wifi board here.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by trihy; 08-14-2022 at 09:59 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    1,675

    Hi trihy,
    Do you want to restart the pc but the power led remaining on?
    Please click restart in windows to see if it meets you needs.
    Thank you.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    3
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by STARRAIN@ROG View Post
    Hi trihy,
    Do you want to restart the pc but the power led remaining on?
    Please click restart in windows to see if it meets you needs.
    Thank you.

    Hi. Sure, but wanted to do that with the reset button on the case/motherboard.

    For when Windows crash and need to reset using the case button. HDDs doesn't like too much hard shutdown holding the power button and prefer the kind of soft reboot the reset button offers. Older boards just reset as it should pressing that button. Not sure what could had changed.

    Using restart on Windows works fine with the expected behavior (led stay on)
    Last edited by trihy; 08-15-2022 at 04:46 AM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Murph_9000 PC Specs
    Murph_9000 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950X
    Memory (part number)Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3600 CL16 (BL16G36C16U4B.M16FE1)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix Radeon™ RX 6750 XT OC Edition 12GB GDDR6
    MonitorROG Strix XG43UQ, XG27AQM
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 530
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin II 360
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyROG Thor 1200W Platinum
    Keyboard ROG Strix Scope RX, ROG Claymore II
    Mouse ROG Keris Wireless, ROG Chakram X
    Headset ROG Delta S
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX6000
    Accessory #1 LINKUP Ultra PCIe 4.0 x16 Riser Cable - Right Angle - 20cm

    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    59
    Posts
    105

    This is just a guess, but you should double check which motherboard header pins the reset switch is connected to. The behaviour you describe could be caused by it shorting out one of the power rails, rather than just bridging the reset switch contacts on the front panel header. E.g. if connected across +V and ground on a fan or RGB header, that could potentially trip the power supply's protection when the switch is pressed, causing the power supply to shut down.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    3
    Posts
    101

    Yes. Next time I open the case will double check that. But since it shutdown and restart by itself when pressing the button, I think it's not related to a wrong connection, but surely will check that.

    If someone can confirm the expected behavior when pressing reset button on this boards, suely will have to check.

    On the manual I can see ground, rstcon and a NC pin. At wost it could had been connected between rstcon and NC pin which I think it's an empty pin. There are no more pins where could got wrongly connected to.
    Last edited by trihy; 08-15-2022 at 05:13 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)13" Macbook Pro M1
    MotherboardROG Maximus XIII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.2 GHz AVX0 all core, 1.28v
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 4100 16-16-34
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1WDC SN850 1TB, Samsung 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks T30 -120 fans, 1 Noctua Chromax 140 case fan
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    93
    Posts
    646

    The reset button will power down the PC.That is what is supposed to do.

    If you want to cleanly shutdown the computer (not loosing power), either press the on/off button and release it, or select shutdown from Windows.
    If you want to restart the PC, select restart from Windows.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    3
    Posts
    101

    Hi. I'm just talking about case buttons. Not software buttons.

    On other builds the case reset button didn't shutdown the system completely, just restarted it without the power led going off.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    146
    Posts
    612

    Quote Originally Posted by trihy View Post
    Hi. I'm just talking about case buttons. Not software buttons.

    On other builds the case reset button didn't shutdown the system completely, just restarted it without the power led going off.
    The reset button on your case in recent year mobo perform a reset process inclusive of power shutdown and restart the power on the system again automatically to boot into the windows system again. It for when you reach a certain time your system are not responsive with screen freeze, BSOD and you cannot used your mouse to perform a software restart.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    3
    Posts
    101

    Thanks. So I guess this is the way it works now. Seems like a killer option for HDDs drives but well, hope they can resist.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array ahfoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    146
    Posts
    612

    Quote Originally Posted by trihy View Post
    Thanks. So I guess this is the way it works now. Seems like a killer option for HDDs drives but well, hope they can resist.
    Bro, not to worry. Now a day the HDD tolerance level very high. The damage will be minimal. Just enjoy your computing experience.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •