Results 1 to 10 of 202

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    Can Windows update, update the BIOS?

    It seems that there are some Z690 users receiving a new firmware from the Windows update.

    Is this really possible?
    I never seen windows update, updating the bios.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bios.png 
Views:	75 
Size:	523.3 KB 
ID:	94601
    Last edited by raybantracing; 08-16-2022 at 06:49 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array mr_allroy PC Specs
    mr_allroy PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C15-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX3080 FTW Ultra
    Sound CardSB AE-5
    MonitorAsus pg278qr
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 500Gb x3
    Storage #2Seagate 4TB HD x2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LED
    Mouse Razer Viper
    Headset Sennheiser GSP 300
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly (hard mat)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1
    OS Win10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk R7000
    mr_allroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    72

    This just happened to me. I've never seen windows update used to update UEFI bios before. Not really liking how it was a "forced update" though.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_allroy View Post
    This just happened to me. I've never seen windows update used to update UEFI bios before. Not really liking how it was a "forced update" though.
    Agreed, happened to me as well. Seems to be a good BIOS though, solid performance, good memory overclock etc.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Z790 Hero
    Processori9 13900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 11 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52
    Accessory #3 Intel AX411

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    663

    Quote Originally Posted by raybantracing View Post
    As title.
    It seems that there are some Z690 users receiving a new firmware from the Windows update.

    Is this really possible?
    I never seen windows update, updating the bios.
    Windows has been offering Bios updates for quite a while. Currently, I have a Dell system that will not update using the Dell utility but will with Windows 10 version.

    If you look at the Device Manager, you will see a system firmware device and it is likely Windows can alter that, but I don't know what it can do exactly. As far as I know Windows has never updated my ASUS board, but I do keep it up to date myself.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Setting the CPU Cache Ratio is not possible

    Bios 1720

    Setting the CPU Cache Ratio is not possible, only default settings.
    3600mhz - 12900K @ ROG STRIX Z690-A GAMING WIFI D4

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Got this today as well. Bit odd that it showed up in windows update. It’s still not available on the ASUS support page.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array mr_allroy PC Specs
    mr_allroy PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS X HERO (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C15-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX3080 FTW Ultra
    Sound CardSB AE-5
    MonitorAsus pg278qr
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 500Gb x3
    Storage #2Seagate 4TB HD x2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LED
    Mouse Razer Viper
    Headset Sennheiser GSP 300
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly (hard mat)
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1
    OS Win10 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk R7000
    mr_allroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    72

    How can I stop windows from updating my mobo bios? This new version doesn't seem to like the settings I've been dialing in for the last couple bios versions. It's almost as though it doesn't recognize my cpu adaptive voltage setting making my system run at least 10 degrees hotter. I've tested this as I'm back on bios ver. 1601 and my settings acutally work and my temps are back down to normal.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •