Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    7

    Question Expert advice for PC with Asus Rog Extreme VI, Intel 7900X, DDR4-3600 and 1080Ti?

    Hi everyone,

    Thanks for reading my post. I'm looking for a ASUS ROG expert that would be so kind to help me tune/config my PC the right way. My main question is how to configure my system so that I have optimal speed and stability for media/gaming/editing. I'm not looking to get the absolute maximum through overclocking. I'm looking for the best speed possible while maintaining stability (meaning no crashes), but I'm mainly having some doubt if my PC is configured the way it should be.

    So my system is running reasonable, but I'm not sure if it's running as fast as it can (without overclocking). My knowledge is fairly limited and I've never own a system as advanced as this one before.

    I'm not much of a gamer, but recently I've done a lot of level design for a gzdoom game and I'm wondering if my system is tuned correctly. I think it lacks CPU power even though I have 10 cores. Many games rely on single thread I believe and I suspect this may be the problem. It's probably the case for gzdoom. My system just indicates base core speed 3,3 Ghz for all cores, while I'm supposed to be boosting up to 4,3 Ghz for one or two cores iirc?

    So, what happened to Intel Turbo Boost Max (or whatever), I can't install it anymore. Can you bring me up to date on this? What am I supposed to do now? Basically, how do I set my OS/bios to have optimum CPU/memory speed? How can I test to see if some CPU core does get to 4,3Ghz?

    Some years ago there was the CPU security flaw (Spectre and something else?) and you had to install some update or something which basically made your pc secure again, but unfortunately slower, but that's on the OS level. I didn't do anything specific for this with my most recent Windows 10 install. I don't know at all if it's still an issue and if it's this that causes lack of performance.

    I would be very grateful for any direction on how to get my system tuned for media/gaming (as best as possible).

    I've never messed around in the BIOS other than what was indicated to me in instructions. I'm out of touch to say the least and I would need exact instructions.

    I took screenshots of CPU-Z, Windows 10 System/device mgr, dxdiag and made some pictures of the BIOS settings. It's about 30 images, I don't know what the most convenient way is to add 'm here. I don't want a long thread with 30 pictures showing.

    This is my PC configuration:

    Os: Windows 10 Pro 64bit/Debian Linux 10 64bit
    Motherboard: Asus Rog Extreme VI
    BIOS version: 3201
    CPU: Intel 7900X Skylake X (base frequency 3,3Ghz, max turbo 4,3Ghz)
    Memory: 2x TridentZ 16GB DDR4-3600Mhz
    SSD: 1GB Samsung 960 Pro
    + LL RGB fans / Asus Aura
    Power: Corsair Ax 1200i 80+ Platinum
    Case: Corsair Obsidian 750D
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos PC Asus Rog Extreme VI.jpg  

    Last edited by jauloise; 08-18-2022 at 03:11 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array restsugavan PC Specs
    restsugavan PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE VI EXTREME BIOS 3701 MOD
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 7980XE 2.60GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB GSKILL 3.2 GHz 16-16-18-36 2T
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG POSEIDON 1080Ti
    MonitorSAMSUNG ODESSEY G9 Firmware 1016.0
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB x 3
    Storage #2WD 4TB External HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT KRAKEN 62
    CaseCorsair Carbine 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Microsoft
    Mouse Microsoft
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Sony
    OS Windows 11 Insider Preview 25284.1000
    Network RouterD-LINK
    restsugavan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    167
    Posts
    816

    Lightbulb ๊็Easy solution to archive maximum performance of SKYLAKE X

    1. Update RAMPAGE VI EXTREME to 3701 BIOS

    2. Enter BIOS then hit F5 Load Optimized Setting Default

    3. Enter Extreme Tweaker Section then Select Overclock method to X.M.P.

    4. Enable Sync all Core

    5. Enter PCH Setting on Pheripheral Section.

    6. Use last menu Enable PTT for TPM 2.0 Check

    7. Go to Boot menu and Disable CSM Modules. Enable Fastboot.

    8. F10 Save Setting to exit.

    Enjoy your rigs
    Microsoft Windows 11 Insider Preview Build 25284.1000 Intel Core i9 7980XE 2.6 GHz 020006E05 Microcode ASUS RAMPAGE VI EXTREME MODDED BIOS 3701 SAMSUNG ODESSEY G9 FIRMWARE 1017.0 NVIDIA RTX 4090 24GB GDDR6X 256GB GSKILL DDR4 16-18-18-36 3200MHz SAMSUNG EVO 970 PLUS 1 TB x 3 HARMAN JBL 9.1 Sound Bar DOLBY ATMOS 9.1

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by restsugavan View Post
    1. Update RAMPAGE VI EXTREME to 3701 BIOS

    2. Enter BIOS then hit F5 Load Optimized Setting Default

    3. Enter Extreme Tweaker Section then Select Overclock method to X.M.P.

    4. Enable Sync all Core

    5. Enter PCH Setting on Pheripheral Section.

    6. Use last menu Enable PTT for TPM 2.0 Check

    7. Go to Boot menu and Disable CSM Modules. Enable Fastboot.

    8. F10 Save Setting to exit.

    Enjoy your rigs
    Hello sir,

    Thank you so much for your prompt reply.

    Please bare with me as I try to complete your instructions on my rig.

    I've updated the BIOS to 3701 w/o any issues.
    I went into the BIOS (because the boot up told me to) and just saved and exited.
    I booted into Windows and it had to do some reconfiguration apparently, but finally loaded ok.
    Tested a few reboots and a shut down. All good.

    So, then I had a look at your instructions (nothing executed so far).


    2. Ok, no problem

    3. Ok, I found "XMP" under the setting "Ai Overclock Tuner", I suppose it's this setting?

    4. Ok, I found "Synch all cores" under "CPU core ratio".

    5. I cannot find "Pheripheral Section" or "PCH Setting". I also don't know what you mean by "enter PCH setting".

    6. Yeah, no idea how to do "last menu enable" or where you can find "PTT for TPM 2.0 check".

    7. Should be ok.

    8. Ok.

    Thanks in advance for further information.

    (I'm doing some searches on the net for info.)
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos BIOS_updated.jpg  

    Last edited by jauloise; 08-19-2022 at 10:39 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    7

    So after some more searching, I found the following options (see screenshots).

    Instruction 5. and 6. remain unclear to me however.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos PCH-FW.jpg  

    TPM.jpg  

    Last edited by jauloise; 08-19-2022 at 11:04 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    300

    Hello
    it's good PTT for TPM 2.0 Check is enabled
    and xmp activation is ok

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by cekeu View Post
    Hello
    it's good PTT for TPM 2.0 Check is enabled
    and xmp activation is ok
    Ok, thanks for confirming, it seems like this was active already in the BIOS.

    I just don't understand then what is required for step "5. Enter PCH Setting on Pheripheral Section" or what is meant by it.

    Can I ignore it too?


    Otherwise I'm ready to try this procedure.


    update:
    Procedure executed. I had to rearrange my boot order. Other than that, everything ok. Booted in Linux and Windows. All good.

    All my ROG drivers and graphics card driver are up to date also, so I'll do some testing coming days and weeks.

    Thanks so much for your help.

    If there is any other expert advice that you can give me, it's always welcome.
    Last edited by jauloise; 08-19-2022 at 12:48 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array MoKiChU PC Specs
    MoKiChU PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 2666MHz CL16 - 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorASUS ROG Strix XG35VQ
    Storage #1SSD NVMe Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB
    Storage #2SSD NVMe Samsung 960 EVO 250GB | SSD NVMe Corsair Force MP510 240GB | SSHD AHCI Seagate FireCuda 2TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML240L RGB
    CaseBitFenix Enso
    Power SupplyCorsair TX850M (850W)
    Keyboard Logitech G413
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Windows 11 Pro 22H2
    MoKiChU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    507
    Posts
    611

    Hi,

    Follow this process :

    Start/Restart your PC then press Del when the ROG logo appears to enter in your BIOS

    Press F5 (Default) then Press F7 to switch in Advanced Mode

    XMP

    Extreme Tweaker tab > Ai Overclock Tuner : XMP
    ASUS Multi Core Enhancement

    Extreme Tweaker tab > ASUS Multi Core Enhancement :

    Disabled : CPU operation as expected by Intel (no CPU overclock)
    Auto : CPU operation optimized by ASUS (CPU overclock)
    UEFI

    Boot tab > CSM > Launch CSM : Disabled
    Secure Boot

    Boot tab > Secure Boot > OS Type : Windows UEFI Mode
    TPM 2.0

    Advanced tab > PCH-FW Configuration > TPM Device Selection : Firmware TPM or PTT : Enable > OK
    Press F10 to Save & Exit


    Also, you need these firmware/drivers for your ASUS ROG Rampage VI Extreme motherboard :

    [FIRMWARE] Intel ME (X299)

    [DRIVERS] Intel Chipset/MEI/SATA/VMD (1xx/2xx/3xx/4xx/5xx/6xx/7xx)

    - Intel Chipset Drivers (+ X299 add-on driver)

    - Intel MEI Drivers (Drivers Only)

    - Intel SATA AHCI-RAID Drivers (Drivers Only) :
    Drivers - 2xx/3xx

    [DRIVERS] Intel Ethernet/WiFi/Bluetooth

    - Intel Ethernet Drivers (Drivers Only) :
    Drivers - I217/I218/I219

    [DRIVERS] Marvell/Aquantia Ethernet

    [DRIVERS] Qualcomm WiFi/Bluetooth

    - Qualcomm WiFi Drivers (Drivers Only) :
    Drivers - QCA61xx/QCA9xxx
    Drivers - QCA63xx/QCA64xx

    - Qualcomm Bluetooth Drivers (Drivers Only) :
    Drivers - QCAxxxx

    [DRIVERS] Realtek Audio (Intel 2xx/3xx/4xx/5xx/6xx/7xx & AMD 3xx/4xx/5xx/6xx)

    You have an ASUS ROG SS3 motherboard, so :

    You need Realtek Audio Drivers (UAD - ASUS ROG SS3) from the first post of the thread.

    Follow scrupulously your CLEANUP process then your INSTALL process, for the next drivers packages that I would release, you will can directly follow your UPDATE process.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by MoKiChU View Post
    Hi,
    Follow this process : ...
    Ok, I'm double checking the BIOS with your instructions.

    I updated my drivers a few days ago from the ROG web site, but I will double check the links you've provided.

    Thanks.

    update: I checked your instructions in the BIOS and the only thing that is still different is that I have "Boot\Secure Boot - Os Type" set to "Other OS". I'm just wondering if changing this can affect my Linux boot or if Linux will still boot. I'll try that later on. Everything else is set to the recommendations I've received in this thread.
    Last edited by jauloise; 08-19-2022 at 01:30 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    51
    Posts
    300

    Hi
    It's nice of Mokichu to provide very recent drivers
    However if your system works fine with the latest drivers on your motherboard's official support page you can stick with them.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    7

    Hi,

    I just wanted to inform you that my system has been running "stable" for more than 24 hours.

    So, the configuration was updated without any issues. Thanks again to you all.

    What is the best way to test that my CPU / memory / gfx card is working optimally in terms of speed?

    I've ran some benchmark tools, but it's not very clear to me.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •