Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I think the available rates come from this device driver:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rogdriver.png 
Views:	32 
Size:	46.9 KB 
ID:	94921

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    So...

    Great answer would be:
    "Here, use this driver and now you have 32/96!" (or at least 24/48)

    Sobering answer would be:
    "Sorry, we have a 16 bit DSP so there is no point in sending 24 or 32 bits to the Control Box even though it has a 32 bit headphone DAC."

    Unfortunate answer would be:
    "Yes, the Control Box operates at 32 bits, but unfortunately nobody works on that driver anymore, so you are stuck at 16 bits."

    Bad answer would be:
    Nobody wants to talk about it, so I am left in the dark wondering...


    Note, I have read every Centurion review I could find, and nobody seemed to mention this as a limitation.
    Does ANYONE see more than 16 bits from their Centurion device driver?

    Note, my motherboard is a recent ASUS Prime Z490-P with USB 3.2 ports and such. I tried plugging the Centurion into all the various USB ports and always got 16 bits max from the driver.
    Last edited by TEG2TEG; 09-04-2022 at 11:11 PM.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rog71-formats.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	35.7 KB 
ID:	94982

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Well, I guess I am out of luck. It appears that the Centurion control box uses a Realtek CM6210 chip which does 24/96 for Stereo, but only 16/48 for Multichannel.
    Too bad Realtek didn't design the chip to take 24/48 on multi-channel.

  5. #15
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II/Azoth
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X/Harpe Ace
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL / ROG Scabbard II/Hone Ace
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    404
    Posts
    17,804

    Thank you,

    I don't have the ROG Centurion so I wasn't 100% sure, but I was wondering about the shared mode.

    Based on that, it seems you'd use 24/96 stereo for music and 16/48 multichannel for games.

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I got this headset for the 7.1 surround sound. I don't plan to put them in stereo mode, so will just leave them in 16/48 mode all the time, for games and 5.1 / 7.1 music. (Yes, there is a limited selection of surround sound music available.)
    Most of the 5.1 & 7.1 music comes from Bluray and is 24bit sampled, so it is a shame that this DSP chip in the controller can't support that.

    I have a better DAC and better stereo only headphones when I want to listen to stereo music.

    I have a Soundblaster X3 that can do 32/96 Surround sound to a Razer Tiamat 7.1 headset that I was using before.
    The audio sounds slightly clearer at the higher bit depth and sampling frequency, but I am sticking with the ROG Centurion because:
    * It has richer/deeper bass than the Tiamats
    * The Sonic Studio VU meters are very handy
    * The Centurion beta firmware has that crossmix feature to convert 5.0 sound into 5.1 (driving the subwoofers) for some games and music that lacks LFE/sub encoding.

    I am finding that the beta firmware feature to drive the subwoofer (when source audio lacks LFE encoding) only works in headset mode. I wish I could use that feature with the speakers out as well to drive some home theater speakers.

    I realize that this is a discontinued product (although they are still available from Amazon) , so I don't really have any hope of any new (software/firmware) features being added...

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •