Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    130

    z690 Formula - Detect memory

    I've had this board since launch. In the begging, I had it with 4x16GB sticks from two corsair kits and with early bios revisions that was a nightmare. Fine, I've sold the kits and switched to a single 64GB kit. I was hoping for plug and play. Just XMP is enabled.

    https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Catego...GX5M2B5200C40W

    I need stability out of this rig, and I'm having two big issues. Every couple of reboots, I'll get stuck on memory detect while booting. I'll have to power cycle and it'll kick me to bios saying it couldn't boot, I'll go into bios and without changing anything, it'll keep working for another couple of boots. The other issue is win 11 refuses to wake from sleep. Instead of waking the system, it will reboot. Bios is 2004

    Current bios settings -

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	221013091512.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	178.1 KB 
ID:	95685
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	221013091524.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	158.7 KB 
ID:	95686
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	221013091604.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	155.4 KB 
ID:	95687
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	221013091608.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	161.9 KB 
ID:	95688
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	221013091626.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	151.2 KB 
ID:	95689
    Last edited by axiumone; 10-16-2022 at 08:54 PM.

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    265
    Posts
    2,834

    Hello,

    You'll need to tune the system. You can try using XMP II as this is the default DIMM profile with slightly loser memory subsets.

    Try bumping VCCSA (CPU System Agent). 1.05 - 1.15v

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    130

    XMP I or II produce the same results. As you can see in the screenshots, MC voltage is already at 1.25. How much more can I safely raise it? I’ll try raising VCCSA. *

    This is a pretty slow ram kit. Why does this require tuning besides turning on xmp?

    Edit - Raising VCCSA to 1.15 seems to have helped. System wakes from sleep as expected and no memory detect after a couple of reboots. Thanks!
    Last edited by axiumone; 10-17-2022 at 12:43 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    130

    Nothing changed in voltages or system config. Now it's back to restarting when waking from sleep.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    130

    Tried VCCSA voltages from 1.1-1.4, no affect.
    Tried setting the speed to 4800mhz, no affect.
    Updated bios from 2004 to 2103, no affect.
    Tried slots A1-B1, system wouldn't even post at anything above 4000mhz.

    The system just reboots instead of waking from sleep.

    Running memtest right now. It looks like the memory is not defective, so it must be the motherboard or bios.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1727806682_Screenshot2022-10-24100212.gif.0590651983c7f9b3ad00b6469dd1c535.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	64.1 KB 
ID:	95881

    Why is it that a set that is on the QVL list for this board doesn't work with just XMP settings?
    Why aren't the settings posted that the set was used with for QVL testing?
    Is the motherboard defective?
    Last edited by axiumone; 10-25-2022 at 01:44 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    130

    Asus? Anyone? My workflow changed and it's imperative that this motherboard restarts and wakes from sleep without fault. Between the PG42UQ having massive issues with firmware and this motherboard having huge issues with networking and now this memory problem, that's over $2000 usd tied up in faulty asus products.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array JohnAb PC Specs
    JohnAb PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP 430 G5
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Z690 Hero
    Processor12900K
    Memory (part number)2x 16GB CMK32GX5M2B5200C40
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 3090 TI 24GB TUF GAMING OC - TUF-RTX3090TI-O24G-GAMING
    Monitor28" Samsung 4K & 32" Samsung 4K
    Storage #13x NVME Drives on Motherboard
    Storage #22x SATA HDD, 2x SATA SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair iCUE H150i ELITE LCD Display 360mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCorsair 7000X RGB Black Full Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex Pro
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 600
    Headset Blue Yeti / Sundara Headphones
    Headset/Speakers Bose Soundbar
    OS Win 11 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk RAXE500 6E
    Accessory #1 SDR Radio
    Accessory #2 Graphics Tablet
    Accessory #3 Jabra Microphone/Speaker

    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Reputation
    82
    Posts
    469

    I have 2x16GB Corsair 5200 sticks in a 690 Hero. They are the non RGB sticks. They run at 5200 with XMPI just fine. Never had a stability problem with them and just about all of my other mobo settings are on defaults.

    If it helps, I have taken a screenshot of my memory voltages from HWInfo below. Also, in CPU-Z I get exactly the same timings as you. The only difference is that mine says 32GB, yours says 64GB. Otherwise identical. I was going to suggest 2103 BIOS as I've seen no complaints about that version, but you have already done it.

    You say you have a 64GB kit. Is that 2x32GB or 4x16GB? If the latter, have you tried just 2 sticks instead of 4? Maybe see if that helps stability for now?

    The columns in the screenshot are current, min, max and average
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Screenshot 2022-10-26 152507.png  

    Last edited by JohnAb; 10-26-2022 at 02:47 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I have similar issue that related to RAM and memory detect issue with frequent crash during gaming or stress or sometimes not posting and showing memory detect

  9. #9
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    265
    Posts
    2,834

    Quote Originally Posted by axiumone View Post
    Asus? Anyone? My workflow changed and it's imperative that this motherboard restarts and wakes from sleep without fault. Between the PG42UQ having massive issues with firmware and this motherboard having huge issues with networking and now this memory problem, that's over $2000 usd tied up in faulty asus products.
    Try raising VDD and VDDQ to 1.30 - 1.35v.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    130

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Try raising VDD and VDDQ to 1.30 - 1.35v.
    Please see the first post. The bios settings are there, including what you're suggesting.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •