Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array mett1990 PC Specs
    mett1990 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X670E-F GAMING WIFI
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 9 7950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 2x (2x32) CMK64GX5M2B5600C40
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX TITAN X
    Graphics Card #2AMD WX9100
    CPU CoolerArctic
    Casebe quiet! Silent base 802 Window
    OS Ubuntu

    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Question STRIX X670E-F GAMING WIFI+Corsair Vengeance sticks: any hope for next BIOS releases?

    TL;DR: Is there a possibility that upcoming BIOS updates will extend compatibility of RAM sticks to Corsair Vengeance 5600 MHz CMK64GX5M2B5600C40?


    Hello there,
    Happened to me to choose and order components for a PC to be used at work, that I wanted to assemble myself.
    Motherboard would have been STRIX X670E-F GAMING WIFI with AMD Ryzen 9 7950X processor.
    For choosing the RAM sticks made a naive mistake by not checking the QVL list, at that time I did not even know such a list existed.
    I then chose to buy 2x of Corsair Vengeance (2x32) 5600 MHz CMK64GX5M2B5600C40, for a total of 128GB.
    At boot the Q-LED related to RAM stucks in a solid yellow light, and indeed nothing is shown in the video.
    I upgraded the BIOS to version 0705 via flashback, nothing changed.

    After all the usual troubleshooting and after contacting official ASUS support, my conclusion is that at present the RAM sticks I have are just not "compatible".
    Hence my question above.

    Any asnwers/comments/hints?

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array planetbeing PC Specs
    planetbeing PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair X670E Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 7950X
    Memory (part number)F5-6000J3040G32GA2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GeForce RTX 4090 GAMING OC 24G
    MonitorSamsung Odyssey G9
    Storage #1SK Hynix Platinum P41 2 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid PL360 FLUX
    CaseCooler Master HAF 700 EVO
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i (2022)
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins Aqua
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder V2 Pro
    Headset Razer Kraken V3 Pro
    Mouse Pad Razer Firefly V2
    Headset/Speakers Razer Leviathan V2
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Accessory #1 CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD UPS

    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    If you’re just operating the RAM at stock speeds (I.e. you did not enable DOCP in the BIOS), the RAM is most likely “compatible” even though it’s not in the QVL. Perhaps they’re not all seated properly? I would try one stick in slot 2, then if that works, two from the same kit in slots 2 and 4, then try all four slots again. You’ll be able to debug what’s wrong by slowly working your way up to all 4.

    Also, just a note, *you’re probably not going to be able to get the advertised speed of 5600 MT/s with all four slots filled, at least perhaps without some tuning. See this article:*https://videocardz.com/newz/amd-conf...t-is-ddr5-6000

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array mett1990 PC Specs
    mett1990 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX X670E-F GAMING WIFI
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 9 7950X
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 2x (2x32) CMK64GX5M2B5600C40
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX TITAN X
    Graphics Card #2AMD WX9100
    CPU CoolerArctic
    Casebe quiet! Silent base 802 Window
    OS Ubuntu

    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by planetbeing View Post
    If you’re just operating the RAM at stock speeds (I.e. you did not enable DOCP in the BIOS), the RAM is most likely “compatible” even though it’s not in the QVL. Perhaps they’re not all seated properly? I would try one stick in slot 2, then if that works, two from the same kit in slots 2 and 4, then try all four slots again. You’ll be able to debug what’s wrong by slowly working your way up to all 4.

    Also, just a note, Â*you’re probably not going to be able to get the advertised speed of 5600 MT/s with all four slots filled, at least perhaps without some tuning. See this article:Â*https://videocardz.com/newz/amd-conf...t-is-ddr5-6000
    Hi, first of all thanks for answering.
    Indeed, I was just too impatient, and I did not really know about the time it takes for 600 series to configure bios the first time.
    I hence started with one single RAM stick and waited a bit more at startup. When I realized that it was just matter of time then I added also the rest of the sticks and now I am able to boot the BIOS.

    Now I guess there is a whole world to learn, as the memory frequency is lower than the nominal one and all the configurations must be tuned/tweaked, I guess.

    Thanks again for the hint and for your time.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •