Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 71

Thread: Z790 hero xmp

  1. #61
    ROG Member Array GiulianoTakasu PC Specs
    GiulianoTakasu PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z790 APEX
    ProcessorINTEL I9 13900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Tridentz 32GB (2x16) F5-7200J3445G16G
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 3090TI FTW3
    MonitorAlienware Dell AW2721D 240hz
    CPU CoolerARCTIC LIQUID FREEZER II 420 ARGB
    CaseCorsair 7000X
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200W
    Keyboard HP OMEN SPACER
    Mouse LOGITECH G903
    Headset ASTRO A40
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    OS WINDOWS 11
    Network RouterFRITZBOX 7530

    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Tried the Version 0703 bios from asus website on z790 hero https://rog.asus.com/motherboards/ro...helpdesk_bios/ also updated intel me.

    I tried xmp2 with gskill 7200mhz and i got errors on pass 4 sadly , previously i will get errors on pass 1 with bios 0502. I will try xmp 1 later. If i set xmp (1 or 2) then clock down to 7000 mhz i get no errors btw.

  2. #62
    New ROGer Array NBPDC505 PC Specs
    NBPDC505 PC Specs
    MotherboardZ790 HERO
    Processor13900K
    Memory (part number)V-COLOR 7200MHZ
    Graphics Card #1STRIX 4090
    MonitorLG G1 55"
    Storage #1SK P41 1TB
    Storage #2WD SN850X 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK ELITE 280MM AIO
    CaseTHERMALTAKE VIEW 51
    Power SupplyROG THOR 1200W
    Headset STEELSERIES NOVA PRO WIRELESS
    OS WIN 11 PRO
    Accessory #1 SCUF REFLEX PRO CONTROLLER
    Accessory #2 12.2" AIDA64 SENSOR PANEL

    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by GiulianoTakasu View Post
    Tried the Version 0703 bios from asus website on z790 hero https://rog.asus.com/motherboards/ro...helpdesk_bios/ also updated intel me.

    I tried xmp2 with gskill 7200mhz and i got errors on pass 4 sadly , previously i will get errors on pass 1 with bios 0502. I will try xmp 1 later. If i set xmp (1 or 2) then clock down to 7000 mhz i get no errors btw.
    I would strongly recommend downloading the 0088 BIOS from the Z790 resources thread and trying the option labeled "XMP Tweaked" as many have had success with that profile where they did not with XMP 1 or 2.

  3. #63
    ROG Member Array GiulianoTakasu PC Specs
    GiulianoTakasu PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z790 APEX
    ProcessorINTEL I9 13900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Tridentz 32GB (2x16) F5-7200J3445G16G
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 3090TI FTW3
    MonitorAlienware Dell AW2721D 240hz
    CPU CoolerARCTIC LIQUID FREEZER II 420 ARGB
    CaseCorsair 7000X
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1200W
    Keyboard HP OMEN SPACER
    Mouse LOGITECH G903
    Headset ASTRO A40
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    OS WINDOWS 11
    Network RouterFRITZBOX 7530

    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by NBPDC505 View Post
    I would strongly recommend downloading the 0088 BIOS from the Z790 resources thread and trying the option labeled "XMP Tweaked" as many have had success with that profile where they did not with XMP 1 or 2.
    *ill wait the next stable bios on asus website

  4. #64
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    5

    I updated new bios (0703) on my ROG Strix Z790-E Gaming Wifi mainboard (They released yesterday). I guess they fixed all RAM and DIMM issue. I'm running my GSkill 7600mhz kit @ 7800mhz-8000mhz. I tested couple hours on Memtest and AIDA64 Extreme. It is rock solid stable now!
    Cpu: 13900KF
    Asus multicore enhancement : disable (if i keep enable this broke stability)
    AI overclocking: disable (it is broke stability too)
    Rams: 1,420v
    Memory Controller: 1,400v

    Thanks ASUS! ❤️
    Last edited by akinkucuk; 11-09-2022 at 10:06 PM.

  5. #65
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Ended up returning the ram for slower and cheaper.
    Last edited by Xmptroubles; 11-19-2022 at 08:08 PM.

  6. #66
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Xmptroubles View Post
    I've got an z790-e gaming wifi with bios 0703, 13900k cpu, gskill hynix 7600mhz rated ram, corsair h170i cooler, and official contact frame. Running passmark memtest free 9.4 from bios setup.

    Bios is set to default except Adaptive boost and Asus multicore enhancement are both disabled.

    XMP I and ram voltage values:
    Currently undervolting.
    Sa 1.13
    Imc 1.25
    Vdd 1.35
    Vddq 1.35

    6800mhz - pass 4/4
    7000mhz - pass 4/4
    7200mhz - occasional errors
    7400-7600mhz - many errors within the first minute, obvious fail.

    Xmp II is even worse.
    Tried overvolting with no success.
    Read about mobo buckling and loosened the h170i screws a bit. No change.
    Cleared cmos, no change.

    Is it safe to assume it's not a hardware fault? The cpu and mobo socket look fine and I can run benchmarks on windows at 6800-7000mhz.

    Should I rma something? Keep messing with timings? Reseat the cpu? Or wait for a new bios. Thanks.
    I have same system. I was suffering in 502 bios. I fixed in 703 bios.
    Try to all default settings on bios. Then set XMP2 and choose 7600mhz. Set memory controller 1,400v, And maybe your ram need little more voltage. Just try 1,42v. (There is no harm at all). And disable Asus multicore enhancement and AI overclocking. If you not stable try 7400mhz, 7200mhz or 7000mhz.
    If you still not stable. Try to change rams. If your kit in A2 and B2. Try to changed rams in same slots. If you still have trouble try to test single rams in A2 and B2. Probably your B2 DIMM is best. (cause i have same mobo i had same issue)

  7. #67
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by akinkucuk View Post
    I have same system. I was suffering in 502 bios. I fixed in 703 bios.
    Try to all default settings on bios. Then set XMP2 and choose 7600mhz. Set memory controller 1,400v, And maybe your ram need little more voltage. Just try 1,42v. (There is no harm at all). And disable Asus multicore enhancement and AI overclocking. If you not stable try 7400mhz, 7200mhz or 7000mhz.
    If you still not stable. Try to change rams. If your kit in A2 and B2. Try to changed rams in same slots. If you still have trouble try to test single rams in A2 and B2. Probably your B2 DIMM is best. (cause i have same mobo i had same issue)
    i just got my z790-e delivered and i plan on starting my build very soon. should i update the bios before building to avoid any headaches??? thanks.

  8. #68
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    I returned the ram.
    Last edited by Xmptroubles; 11-19-2022 at 08:09 PM.

  9. #69
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    265
    Posts
    2,842

    Quote Originally Posted by Xmptroubles View Post
    I've been doing more ram testing with the 7600mhz sticks.

    Xmp I 6800mhz 8/8 pass on memtest pro 10.0 full test incl hammers and fading. That took 8-9 hours to run. But it still hangs in Windows after 1-2 hours of use.

    I know it's the ram because windows is rock solid for days when xmp is off.

    So it's not causing memory errors, but still hanging in windows. What does that tell me? The Asus auto voltages for the system agent and imc are too aggressive when the ram frequency scales up. That means undervolting sa and imc is the answer. But don't go too low.

    I've tried overvolting sa/imc and didn't see a big change. So if you have a different result please share.

    I don't think Dram vdq/vddq voltage is an issue at 1.4. My bios won't go above 1.425v to the ram BTW.

    It seems like the silicon lottery between cpu and mobo is preventing the 7600 ram from running at it's xmp speeds. I'm positive I didn't damage anything.

    Basically I should return the 7600 ram for something slower and cheaper that my cpu/mobo can run at xmp speeds. Even then I may have to manually adjust the aggressive sa/imc voltages.
    If passing Memtest pro but hanging in Windows then the problem can't be isolated to just the memory bus. Are you overclocking the cache?


    Auto rules are not a one size fits all solution. VCCSA is not as sensitive on 13th gen as it is on 12th gen CPUs, however tuning can often be needed. Especially where margins are tighter at higher memory speeds. This is why the values can be changed.


    System Agent and IMC VDD Auto values. 7000MT (Z690 Apex)


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	7K Z690.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	235.5 KB 
ID:	96253
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ROG; 11-14-2022 at 07:47 AM.

  10. #70
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Yes, I've figured out even if memtest passes an 8-9 hour run, hanging and silent file crc corruption can still occur in windows, so the ram is still producing errors.
    Last edited by Xmptroubles; 11-19-2022 at 08:09 PM.

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •