Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Exclamation Build shuts down instead of sleep

    I've been going through this for literally months, and it is literally causing me to develop regularly scheduled headaches.

    When I manually go to set my PC to sleep, it shuts down the whole system. To make it worse, the power button doesn't turn it back on. I have to manually shut off the power supply and turn it back on for the system to power on again. However, just letting my PC go to sleep on its own does get it to sleep, but trying again after some time, even automatically sleeping cause it to shut off.
    All my BIOS settings are default except for PBO, Virtualization (SVM), and Aura lights to Aura Only once my PC boots to Windows

    I already have my Windows sleep setting on Balanced:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_1.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	1.15 MB 
ID:	96002

    Here is my System build:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_2.png 
Views:	2 
Size:	93.2 KB 
ID:	96003

    Funnily enough, when I underclocked my RAM to 3200Mhz from 3600Mhz because I felt like Cyberpunk kept crashing at these speeds, the sleep option does actually get my PC to go to sleep as well as automatically, and I'm able to turn the build back on no problem.
    So, I figured it has to be my motherboard screwing me because sleep is also not working proper but when I have the setting to make all the motherboard lights tun off when in low power, the lights turn back on; or Windows 10 somehow got corrupted at some point and I'm not able to pinpoint when Windows started to misbehave, hell, a USB port is suspiciously signaling a disconnecting and Windows keep alerting with the USB Disconnected sound - it could also be because of my custom theme but on my old B550 board, none of there were an issue.

    Is there anything I can do on my motherboard side, like clearing CMOS or downgrading BIOS, that can fix my issue altogether or should I do a clean reinstall of Windows 10 and hope for the best.

    Please, explain stuff to me like I'm a complete noob to PC building


    P.S. - When I do run my RAM speed to 3200Mhz, I'm able to run a CL of 14, which I find really curious

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II/Azoth
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X/Harpe Ace
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL / ROG Scabbard II/Hone Ace
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    404
    Posts
    17,790

    Hi PugMiester

    As you suggest, try clearing the cmos or entering the bios and hit the F5 key to reset to defaults, then do some testing and see if all problems disappear.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi PugMiester

    As you suggest, try clearing the cmos or entering the bios and hit the F5 key to reset to defaults, then do some testing and see if all problems disappear.
    Just to be a step ahead, if my problem persists after that, then should I reinstall Windows or attempt to get a replacement motherboard? (I unfortunately didn't buy warranty at the time I bought the motherboard because I never had to deal with hardware problems like this before)

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi PugMiester

    As you suggest, try clearing the cmos or entering the bios and hit the F5 key to reset to defaults, then do some testing and see if all problems disappear.
    Just tested with everything on default and the system works now, but unfortunately, now my motherboard isn't detected on Armoury Crate
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_1.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	503.2 KB 
ID:	96004

    Edit: false alarm, everything's working fine now, even the USB problem. I'll probably post again if my issue comes back
    Last edited by PugMiester; 11-01-2022 at 05:22 PM.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II/Azoth
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X/Harpe Ace
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL / ROG Scabbard II/Hone Ace
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    404
    Posts
    17,790

    Ok great, good to hear all is working at default settings.

    The problems you are experiencing are likely due to unstable memory.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Ok great, good to hear all is working at default settings.

    The problems you are experiencing are likely due to unstable memory.
    I'm back and the sleep problem is also back. Apparently, when I have the motherboard lights set to Aura Only, that kills the whole system. So then when I so then when I set the Aura lights to default now manually sleeping doesn't work. Should I just give up and let my system sleep on its own if it's going to make me waste time dealing with constantly moving to the back of my desk just to power off and on a system?

    Also, why would memory be a problem? Not saying you're wrong, but I would like to know a possibility considering my RAM is only running on DOCP and factory settings

  7. #7
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    436
    Posts
    8,615

    DOCP and XMP are overclocks. Memory kits are sold with various speed and timing profiles, and they often work at or near those targets, but the only thing guaranteed to work are the JEDEC baseline speeds. This is why motherboard manufacturers do testing and publish a QVL. If your kit is on the QVL and does not perform at that speed then it's likely something is wrong: either a bad memory kit, a weak memory controller on the CPU, or the motherboard needs a BIOS update. If the memory is not on the motherboard QVL then you are on your own to test and validate the memory at a stable speed. I've purchased multiple kits and had to run them one or two steps below the advertised speed. This was especially true on 1st gen Ryzen but it's way better now.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    DOCP and XMP are overclocks. Memory kits are sold with various speed and timing profiles, and they often work at or near those targets, but the only thing guaranteed to work are the JEDEC baseline speeds. This is why motherboard manufacturers do testing and publish a QVL. If your kit is on the QVL and does not perform at that speed then it's likely something is wrong: either a bad memory kit, a weak memory controller on the CPU, or the motherboard needs a BIOS update. If the memory is not on the motherboard QVL then you are on your own to test and validate the memory at a stable speed. I've purchased multiple kits and had to run them one or two steps below the advertised speed. This was especially true on 1st gen Ryzen but it's way better now.
    So, it seems DOCP wasn't my issue. It's just that I have to leave the motherboard Aura lights setting to default after clearing CMOS otherwise sleeping breaks the system again. What gives?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •