Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array homdax PC Specs
    homdax PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus TUF B450-Pro Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)32 GB Kingston KHX3200C
    Graphics Card #1ASUS TUF Gaming X3 Radeon™ RX 5600 XT EVO
    Monitor2 x Dell U2718Q 4K
    Storage #1NVME
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith
    Keyboard Logitech G815
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad None
    Headset/Speakers Creative
    OS Windws 11 Pro
    Network RouterIPFire custom SuperMicro
    homdax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    32

    RAM speed decrease after CPU upgrade

    Motherboard is TUF B450M-Pro Gaming
    RAM sticks are 2 x Kingston KHX3200C16D4/16GX
    CPU is Ryzen 7 5800X
    BIOS is 3802 which I think is the latest available.

    I am used to not being able to get above 3200MHz on the memory frequency, but now I am not even getting 3000 using D.O.C.P standard profiles.
    Did set BIOS to default after the CPU upgrade and started from there. Only tried different D.O.C.P so far.

    Anyone has any ideas on where to start changing settings... ?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array homdax PC Specs
    homdax PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus TUF B450-Pro Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)32 GB Kingston KHX3200C
    Graphics Card #1ASUS TUF Gaming X3 Radeon™ RX 5600 XT EVO
    Monitor2 x Dell U2718Q 4K
    Storage #1NVME
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith
    Keyboard Logitech G815
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad None
    Headset/Speakers Creative
    OS Windws 11 Pro
    Network RouterIPFire custom SuperMicro
    homdax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    32

    Small update.

    Testing step by step up to 3066 works. Above 3066 werd things happen, like one monitor not being detected or ntoskernel bsod's.

    Will repeat from default again and see if that is consistent behaviour.

    ---

    Yep, same **** happens.

    What works are these settings.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2qJ3Qj2.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	50.1 KB 
ID:	96105
    Last edited by homdax; 11-06-2022 at 02:41 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)13" Macbook Pro M1
    MotherboardROG Maximus XIII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.2 GHz AVX0 all core, 1.28v
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 4200 @ CL18
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Hynix 2TB P43, WDC SN850 1TB, Samsung 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks T30 -120 fans, 1 Noctua Chromax 140 case fan
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64, 22H2
    Network RouterAsus RT-AX82U + RT-AX86S mesh
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    115
    Posts
    671

    It may be that you just got a processor with a weaker memory controller, which sucks if so. Hope not but have no suggestions.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array homdax PC Specs
    homdax PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus TUF B450-Pro Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)32 GB Kingston KHX3200C
    Graphics Card #1ASUS TUF Gaming X3 Radeon™ RX 5600 XT EVO
    Monitor2 x Dell U2718Q 4K
    Storage #1NVME
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith
    Keyboard Logitech G815
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad None
    Headset/Speakers Creative
    OS Windws 11 Pro
    Network RouterIPFire custom SuperMicro
    homdax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    32

    ok? Never heard of that in my 30 years building computers. How would I diagnose it, because if the CPU is flawed it is an obvious RMA...

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    by any chance did you check your ram in zentimings ?

    btw do u have an AMD GPU ? if yes and your zentimmings are incorrect go to task scheduler and disable "AMDRyzenMasterSDKTask" that fixed all my problems with rams

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array homdax PC Specs
    homdax PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus TUF B450-Pro Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)32 GB Kingston KHX3200C
    Graphics Card #1ASUS TUF Gaming X3 Radeon™ RX 5600 XT EVO
    Monitor2 x Dell U2718Q 4K
    Storage #1NVME
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith
    Keyboard Logitech G815
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad None
    Headset/Speakers Creative
    OS Windws 11 Pro
    Network RouterIPFire custom SuperMicro
    homdax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    32

    dangerbass

    No, I did not, are you referring to this: https://zentimings.protonrom.com/ ?
    I do have an AMD GPU, specifically an RX 5600 GT.

    I do not have Radeon Software installed, but drivers "only" since the Radeon Software has a tendency to crash some games.
    Can't find any task for "AMDRyzenMasterSDKTask". Is that not a Ryzen Master dependent task, I don't have Ryzen Master installed.

    Open for suggestion, should I do the Zentimings thing? Is that the correct source?
    Last edited by homdax; 11-07-2022 at 08:35 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array homdax PC Specs
    homdax PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus TUF B450-Pro Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)32 GB Kingston KHX3200C
    Graphics Card #1ASUS TUF Gaming X3 Radeon™ RX 5600 XT EVO
    Monitor2 x Dell U2718Q 4K
    Storage #1NVME
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith
    Keyboard Logitech G815
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad None
    Headset/Speakers Creative
    OS Windws 11 Pro
    Network RouterIPFire custom SuperMicro
    homdax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    32

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ZenTimings_Screenshot-7nov2022.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	42.8 KB 
ID:	96109

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array homdax PC Specs
    homdax PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus TUF B450-Pro Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)32 GB Kingston KHX3200C
    Graphics Card #1ASUS TUF Gaming X3 Radeon™ RX 5600 XT EVO
    Monitor2 x Dell U2718Q 4K
    Storage #1NVME
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith
    Keyboard Logitech G815
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad None
    Headset/Speakers Creative
    OS Windws 11 Pro
    Network RouterIPFire custom SuperMicro
    homdax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    32

    Any ideas on how to proceed with this?

  9. #9
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Intel NUC laptop LAPQC71D
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD 5800X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX3090Ti
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorAORUS FV43U
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop
    CaseBeQuiet Dark Base Pro 900 V2
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare II Animate
    Mouse ROG Chakram X
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906 5.1
    Network RouterpfSense/OPNsense
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    436
    Posts
    8,615

    The best thing would be to compare the timings with the old & new CPU. See if for some reason you are getting odd timings with the new CPU. Also, if you note the timings with the old CPU and manually set them for the new CPU you can make a direct comparison. If everything is the same and somehow it is not working on the new CPU then that would indicate the weak IMC previously mentioned.

    Also, if you have been building for 30 years then having the Integrated Memory Controller on the CPU die is a more recent architecture that didn't exist when you started. Intel started doing it with the Nehalem generation of CPUs (2008).
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array homdax PC Specs
    homdax PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus TUF B450-Pro Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)32 GB Kingston KHX3200C
    Graphics Card #1ASUS TUF Gaming X3 Radeon™ RX 5600 XT EVO
    Monitor2 x Dell U2718Q 4K
    Storage #1NVME
    CPU CoolerAMD Wraith
    Keyboard Logitech G815
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad None
    Headset/Speakers Creative
    OS Windws 11 Pro
    Network RouterIPFire custom SuperMicro
    homdax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Also, if you have been building for 30 years then having the Integrated Memory Controller on the CPU die is a more recent architecture that didn't exist when you started. Intel started doing it with the Nehalem generation of CPUs (2008).
    Lol, yeah, experience does not equal excellence.. .

    I can't really swap the CPU's back and forth. The old CPU is in another rig as an upgrade from a Ryzen 1600 ...

    This may come as a surprise but I am actually expecting Asus or someone to provide me with the correct BIOS settings to make this work, because there must be such a thing, right? It can't be anyones best guess?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •