Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus MZ790E Bios 0813
    Processori9 13900KS
    Memory (part number)F5-7600J3646G16GX2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1Asus 4090 Strix
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 990 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    2,595

    MZ790E Q code 55 solved

    Had to RMA the former MZ790E due to code 55 with GSkill 6400 memory all at default. Received the new MZ790E today. No problem. Boots without issue into the bios at default with the same memory kit. Testing memory at default currently.

    Noticed that there’s a note to update to FW ….2020 BEFORE flashing bios 0703 on the Asus website:

    “Before BIOS update, please download Intel ME update tool from ASUS support site, and update ME firmware to Version 16.1.25.2020 to ensure optimized system settings.”

    I have not installed windows yet. Is there any mechanism to updating the FW outside windows?*

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array iBruceypoo PC Specs
    iBruceypoo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus Z790 Apex
    ProcessorIntel 13900KS
    Memory (part number)F5-7600J3646G16GX2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX A2000 12GB workstation card
    MonitorLG 32in 2560x1440 32QN650-B
    Storage #1WD_Black SN850 500GB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSD
    Storage #2Intel Optane PCIe Add In Card 280GB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Magnitude HWL SR2 280mm Aquacomputer PWM D5 2Noctua 140mm PWM Industrials
    CasePrimochill WetBench SX Pro test bench
    Power SupplySeasonic TX-700 fanless titanium
    Keyboard HHKB Hybrid Type-S Snow Edition
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3S white / ROG Gladius II Origin
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterLinksys WiFi 6 MR9600

    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    678

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    Had to RMA the former MZ790E due to code 55 with GSkill 6400 memory all at default. Received the new MZ790E today. No problem. Boots without issue into the bios at default with the same memory kit. Testing memory at default currently.

    Noticed that there’s a note to update to FW ….2020 BEFORE flashing bios 0703 on the Asus website:

    “Before BIOS update, please download Intel ME update tool from ASUS support site, and update ME firmware to Version 16.1.25.2020 to ensure optimized system settings.”

    I have not installed windows yet. Is there any mechanism to updating the FW outside windows?*
    +1

    Congratulations on finally resolving your code 55 issue. Even though it took an RMA...

    Should we also update the ME firmware to version 2020 for the Z790 Apex boards BEFORE updating from the shipping bios?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1492.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	113.4 KB 
ID:	96186
    Z790 Epiphenomenal Raptor Bench

    ROG Z790 Apex / Intel 13900KS SP 111 SP-P 121 SP-E 93
    Gskill 7600 mem kit - TM5 stable at 8000MT/s 34 46 46 121 VDD and VDDQ 1.5v
    Gen 5 SSD Coming Soon

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus MZ790E Bios 0813
    Processori9 13900KS
    Memory (part number)F5-7600J3646G16GX2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1Asus 4090 Strix
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 990 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    2,595

    Thanks. Good question. I would rather update the FW without a windows installation, but I don’t know that it’s possible.

    I was really relieved when that 6400 GSkill kit booted. I was dreading another RMA or that I had missed something. It worked quite well. I can honestly say I tried everything in the troubleshooting area before sending it back. Even swapped the CPU just to make sure.*

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Adrian1983 PC Specs
    Adrian1983 PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Strix Z690 Gaming A
    ProcessorI9 12900K
    Memory (part number)BL2K16G36C16U4B @3800Mhz x2
    Graphics Card #1Inno3d Ichill X3 RTX 4090
    Sound CardHdmi
    MonitorLG Oled C1 55"
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro x2
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus x2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Elite Capellix
    CaseLian Li O11 Dynamic XL
    Power SupplySeasonic focus gold 850w
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Headset Logitech G935
    OS Windows 11 x64

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    63
    Posts
    211

    I had this issue on my previous Maximus XI Hero on Z490 it turned out to be slightly bent pins in the socket which I ended up fixing myself with a magnifying glass and a lot of patience haha, Glad you got it sorted though!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array kvarq PC Specs
    kvarq PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z790 Apex
    Processor13900KF
    Memory (part number)F5-6400J3239G16GX2-TZ5K
    Graphics Card #14090 SUPRIM LIQUID X
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorPG279QM
    Storage #1980 Pro 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Ultimate 3.0
    CaseMeshify S2
    Power SupplySeasonic Titanium TX1600
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman
    Mouse Razer Viper 8K
    Mouse Pad RAZER Firefly V2
    OS 21H2

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    154

    Not bad catching from the second try a good board.
    Sadly, it's just another confirmation that we have to BIN the Asus boards for daily use...
    Damn!

    @brucey - ya, the FW recommendation is also for Apex Z790, it's listed already on its support page as you shown

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus MZ790E Bios 0813
    Processori9 13900KS
    Memory (part number)F5-7600J3646G16GX2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1Asus 4090 Strix
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 990 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    2,595

    Quote Originally Posted by Adrian1983 View Post
    I had this issue on my previous Maximus XI Hero on Z490 it turned out to be slightly bent pins in the socket which I ended up fixing myself with a magnifying glass and a lot of patience haha, Glad you got it sorted though!
    Thanks!! I even checked the pins myself as best as could at the time and did not find anything. And it was peculiar that it would post on certain GSkill kits but not others. I would have thought I would have had the same result regardless of the memory kit if a bent pin was involved. Â*

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus MZ790E Bios 0813
    Processori9 13900KS
    Memory (part number)F5-7600J3646G16GX2-TZ5RK
    Graphics Card #1Asus 4090 Strix
    Sound CardCreative SB X4
    MonitorAsus ROG XG349C
    Storage #1Samsung 990 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 11 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    2,595

    Quote Originally Posted by kvarq View Post
    Not bad catching from the second try a good board.
    Sadly, it's just another confirmation that we have to BIN the Asus boards for daily use...
    Damn!

    @brucey - ya, the FW recommendation is also for Apex Z790, it's listed already on its support page as you shown

    I am glad this second one is working well. I have the GSkill 6400 kit working fine in it and has already passed stability testing at that XMP with tweaks setting with no issue at all. Â*

  8. #8
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    265
    Posts
    2,834

    Glad you got it resolved, Hopper. I didn't think there was much point pursuing with the board you had in hand. Glad that turned out to be the case!

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array kvarq PC Specs
    kvarq PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z790 Apex
    Processor13900KF
    Memory (part number)F5-6400J3239G16GX2-TZ5K
    Graphics Card #14090 SUPRIM LIQUID X
    Sound CardSound Blaster Z
    MonitorPG279QM
    Storage #1980 Pro 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Ultimate 3.0
    CaseMeshify S2
    Power SupplySeasonic Titanium TX1600
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman
    Mouse Razer Viper 8K
    Mouse Pad RAZER Firefly V2
    OS 21H2

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    154

    So there is something wrong with the memory tracers or the slots themselves, clearly it is a quality issue with the Asus boards.
    It is not normal to try 2-3 mobos (and sometimes not even then) just for the XMP to work as it should.
    Either the Asus Quality dept is not doing the job properly or they just leave it like this, throwing the cat to the customer...
    I was really hoping that Z790 would be different though.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Adrian1983 PC Specs
    Adrian1983 PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Strix Z690 Gaming A
    ProcessorI9 12900K
    Memory (part number)BL2K16G36C16U4B @3800Mhz x2
    Graphics Card #1Inno3d Ichill X3 RTX 4090
    Sound CardHdmi
    MonitorLG Oled C1 55"
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro x2
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus x2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Elite Capellix
    CaseLian Li O11 Dynamic XL
    Power SupplySeasonic focus gold 850w
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Headset Logitech G935
    OS Windows 11 x64

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Reputation
    63
    Posts
    211

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    Thanks!! I even checked the pins myself as best as could at the time and did not find anything. And it was peculiar that it would post on certain GSkill kits but not others. I would have thought I would have had the same result regardless of the memory kit if a bent pin was involved. Â*
    Yeah it was so hard to check also, I wouldn't mind it was brand new and I never dropped anything in the socket but when I was researching the issue and a lot were saying that code was possible bent pins I decided to get some 4k zoomed video footage to see before I sent the board back and that's when I noticed 2 or 3 slightly out of aligned pins so I got the tiniest of flat screwdriver and straightened them best I could as they are angled and it has worked ever since haha.

    That's when I had a steady hand though some years ago not so much now

    I didn't have any other memory to test so maybe your issue was different and obviously the board itself at fault, But congrats and enjoy your system!

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •