Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array yobzhik PC Specs
    yobzhik PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z790 Hero
    Processor13900k
    Memory (part number)F5-6000J3238G32GX2-TZ5K
    Graphics Card #13090ti
    Sound CardGoXLR + GoXLR Mini
    MonitorDell 32' + AGON 32'
    Storage #1Kingston nmve 2tb
    Storage #2Gygabyte 7000 2tb
    CPU CoolerCustom waterloop
    CasePhanteks enthoo 719
    Power SupplyBeQuite 1500
    Keyboard Steel Series Apex Pro
    Mouse Steel Series
    Headset Epos GSP 670
    Network RouterAsus AX11000

    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Angry Z790 Hero random bluescreens/errors in the games due to two same Memory kits

    Just got new hardware and assemble a new PC:
    Asus Z790 Hero
    Intel 13900k
    G.Skill Trident Z5 DDR5 2 kits for 64Gb each (F5-6000J3238G32GX2-TZ5K).

    After assembling started to get a lot of random bluescreens. UnrealEngine games, luckily, mostly show random errors. No overclocking at all. If XMP is enabled - PS is not booting. Fight with this like for a week!

    What I tried to fix issues:
    - Reseat all MB cables
    - Change the custom water cooling's CPU water block
    - Reseat memory sticks
    - Change my 3090ti to 3080ti card (3090ti was modified by me from air to water cooling, possible problems with assembling)
    - Re-install Windows
    - Update - downgrade BIOS a few times
    - Undervolted CPU up to -0.090v

    Original bios (0404) sometimes won't even start (and EZ Flash doesn't work). 0503 (from the original website) worked much more stable, start windows, but anyway didn't give me a chance to play games. Bios from this board (0701) are much, much better. I can play from 5 to 20 minutes before error/bluescreen.

    Nothing from this help. Until I tried to remove one kit of memory. And that is weird because, with 64Gb, all are working fine! Even XMP (via XMP Optimised) starts booting. Weird because memory kits are the same. The only difference is S/Ns:
    Kit 1:
    22403579599
    22403579600
    Kit 2:
    22403579603
    22403579604

    So, they were assembled on the same day, in the same factory, and somewhere in the world exists, one more kit was assembled between mine.

    If there is any chance for further bios releases, will my memory start to work? It's a pretty good SK Hynix memory, and I don't want to change it. Also, I would prefer to stay with 128Gb.
    If not - what about 128Gb kits selling in two boxes, like "A-Tech 128GB (4x32GB) DDR5 4800 MHz UDIMM PC5-38400 CL40 DIMM 288-Pin 2Rx8 1.1V"? Will it work on Hero, or I'll still have the same problems?


    I've been using ASUS Mobos for the last 10-15 years, and I still have x99 Extreme and x99 Extreme Windows 10 edition, which fixed some BIOS errors about a year ago, and Crosshair VIII Formula still won't boot with XMP, so I know about issues with ASUS bios-es and was ready for this (actually as appears I didn't ). But that is something weird not to work with the same kits...

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    I also had problems with 4 DIMMs on a z790-e gaming wifi. Switch to 2 DIMMs with XMP off and no problems. XMP on is another story.

    You already figured out 2 DIMMs works fine for you. I would return the extra RAM while you can.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array yobzhik PC Specs
    yobzhik PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z790 Hero
    Processor13900k
    Memory (part number)F5-6000J3238G32GX2-TZ5K
    Graphics Card #13090ti
    Sound CardGoXLR + GoXLR Mini
    MonitorDell 32' + AGON 32'
    Storage #1Kingston nmve 2tb
    Storage #2Gygabyte 7000 2tb
    CPU CoolerCustom waterloop
    CasePhanteks enthoo 719
    Power SupplyBeQuite 1500
    Keyboard Steel Series Apex Pro
    Mouse Steel Series
    Headset Epos GSP 670
    Network RouterAsus AX11000

    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Xmptroubles View Post
    I also had problems with 4 DIMMs on a z790-e gaming wifi. Switch to 2 DIMMs with XMP off and no problems. XMP on is another story.

    You already figured out 2 DIMMs works fine for you. I would return the extra RAM while you can.
    I believe so close, serial numbers assume that the compatibility of these kits is maximum close to each other. So I don't want to send it back if I have a chance to run it on this mobo with further bios, or I can change it to a different one (1 kit costs almost like a mobo itself).

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by yobzhik@gmail.com View Post
    I believe so close, serial numbers assume that the compatibility of these kits is maximum close to each other. So I don't want to send it back if I have a chance to run it on this mobo with further bios, or I can change it to a different one (1 kit costs almost like a mobo itself).
    I have been there. I used to have 2 kits of 32 each (16x2) at 5600, no matter if they are of same chip and speed. You cannot merge kits, thats all. If you merge kits, they will run at default speed (4000 or 4600) base.

    Memory controller requires more voltaje to support 2 kits but always it will result on blue screens for me.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array BenchAndGames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    From GSKILL web

    Do not mix memory kits. Memory kits are sold in matched kits that are designed to run together as a set. Mixing memory kits will result in stability issues or system failure.

    So you already mix them, you have to chose to run only one kit, or return both and buy a single kit with double GB capacity that you aim for. So you need a single kit with 2x64, or 4x32, if u want that huge capacity RAM

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array yobzhik PC Specs
    yobzhik PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z790 Hero
    Processor13900k
    Memory (part number)F5-6000J3238G32GX2-TZ5K
    Graphics Card #13090ti
    Sound CardGoXLR + GoXLR Mini
    MonitorDell 32' + AGON 32'
    Storage #1Kingston nmve 2tb
    Storage #2Gygabyte 7000 2tb
    CPU CoolerCustom waterloop
    CasePhanteks enthoo 719
    Power SupplyBeQuite 1500
    Keyboard Steel Series Apex Pro
    Mouse Steel Series
    Headset Epos GSP 670
    Network RouterAsus AX11000

    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by BenchAndGames View Post
    From GSKILL web

    Do not mix memory kits. Memory kits are sold in matched kits that are designed to run together as a set. Mixing memory kits will result in stability issues or system failure.

    So you already mix them, you have to chose to run only one kit, or return both and buy a single kit with double GB capacity that you aim for. So you need a single kit with 2x64, or 4x32, if u want that huge capacity RAM

    Yep, got it, thanks. Looking for any 128Gb kit with 6000+

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Murph_9000 PC Specs
    Murph_9000 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950X
    Memory (part number)Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3600 CL16 (BL16G36C16U4B.M16FE1)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix Radeon™ RX 6750 XT OC Edition 12GB GDDR6
    MonitorROG Strix XG43UQ, XG27AQM
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 530
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin II 360
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyROG Thor 1200W Platinum
    Keyboard ROG Strix Scope RX, ROG Claymore II
    Mouse ROG Keris Wireless, ROG Chakram X
    Headset ROG Delta S
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX6000
    Accessory #1 ROG Eye S
    Accessory #2 ROG Strix Magnus
    Accessory #3 LINKUP Ultra PCIe 4.0 x16 Riser Cable - Right Angle - 20cm

    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    255

    There are no 2x64 or 4 DIMM configurations currently on the ROG Maximus Z790 Hero Memory QVL. The "Socket support" column is important, telling you how many sticks are validated, and is currently "1,2" for all listed configurations; 4 DIMM configs would be listed as "1,2,4". Hopefully things may improve as DDR5 matures, as was seen with DDR4, due to improvements at the silicon fab level. It's not clear than 64GB DIMMs are supported, as there are none on the QVL and the platform is max 128GB over 4 slots (which could imply max 32GB per slot).

    Remember that XMP is overclocking, so going outside validated configs may need some manual tuning. In particular, running 4 DIMM configs is always harder than 2 DIMM configs; and may well require reduced speed, looser timings, or a bit more voltage to be stable.

    Caveat emptor, and buy from sources which either guarantee compatibility (such as Crucial) or have a good returns policy.

  8. #8
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    265
    Posts
    2,842

    Quote Originally Posted by yobzhik View Post
    Yep, got it, thanks. Looking for any 128Gb kit with 6000+
    This configuration is not possible on this platform or any currently, look for a single kit. Memory kits are binned in the density that they are sold in.


    Please note that high speed and high density kits may need to be dialled in manually. I would always recommend going for a kit on the QVL that is at least one or two ratios below the maximum frequency validation for best chance of plug and play.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    This configuration is not possible on this platform or any currently, look for a single kit. Memory kits are binned in the density that they are sold in.


    Please note that high speed and high density kits may need to be dialled in manually. I would always recommend going for a kit on the QVL that is at least one or two ratios below the maximum frequency validation for best chance of plug and play.
    may I know what is the frequency guaranteed by Intel on 4 sticks on raptor lake?
    for 2 sticks is 5600MT/s, what about 4 sticks?

    thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •