Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 25 of 25
  1. #21
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II/Azoth
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X/Harpe Ace
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL / ROG Scabbard II/Hone Ace
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    404
    Posts
    17,798

    I don't think it's fair to blame the motherboard when the memory controller is on the cpu. All cpu's are not created equal, and it seems your cpu's memory controller is on the weaker side.

    One thing you haven't done is listed your cpu, are you using a 12th gen or 13th gen cpu? The i9-13900k will have the strongest memory controller and give you the best chance at hitting 7600MHz.

    X.M.P. sets your memory kit at 1.40v and since it's not stable, you may need to enable High Dram Voltage mode in the bios and try VDD and VDDQ at 1.45v - 1.50v. Disabled, you can apply VDD and VDDQ a maximum of 1.435v.

    At least this is how it is on my ROG Strix Z690-F Gaming Wifi.

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Thanks for your reply. I think it's absolutely the mobo's fault. I'll prove it when I swap out with a different non-Asus board. I'm using a 13900k of course. If there's a way to test the cpu imc specifically I'd like to know.

    I set the bios to manual ram oc, set it to 6600 32 41 41 108 with dram vdd/vddq at 1.4v, and it seems to be passing tm5 extreme and absolut cycles. Bump it up to 6800 and even with 1.35 to the sa or undervolting the sa to 1.15-1.2, it gets errors in tm5 eventually. 6600 seems like the limit here.

    Bumping dram vdd/vddq from 1.4 to 1.43 doesn't help. Pushing 1.5v to reach 6800 is absurd. You push 1.5v to hit 8000 on an apex board.
    Last edited by Xmptroubles; 11-25-2022 at 03:09 PM.

  3. #23
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II/Azoth
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X/Harpe Ace
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL / ROG Scabbard II/Hone Ace
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    404
    Posts
    17,798

    G.Skill has always been my go to memory but I see no 16GB TridentZ5 DDR5 kits which is what I wanted as no games to my knowledge are recommending 32GB, plus as you stated earlier in your thread, 16GB will have a much better chance to hit those higher speeds as less capacity = less strain on the cpu's memory controller. This is why I went with the fastest 16GB Kingston Fury Beast ram which at the time was 6000MT/s 40-40-40-80-2N.

    Thank you for confirming your cpu, you have the best so....

    No errors at 6600MHz with 32-41-41-108 timings is actually pretty good.

    I'm not sure of your memory kit's timings but, what I would try next is setting the primary timings manually to 41-41-41-108-2N with the same voltages and see how high the frequency lets you go.

    If you've set X.M.P. then changed the timings, reset to defaults (in the bios F5 key) then set the AI Tweaker to Manual and set your ram manually (primary timings and voltages), this could give better results.

    Should be able to run 100:100 in Gear Mode 2, 100:133 may get you a higher frequency at the cost of some performance.

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Either I return the ram for a cheaper 6600 kit, or return the mobo for a more expensive one that can really do 7600+. It's not really worth the performance increase, but I'm annoyed at Asus for the false marketing.

    It's set to manual, xmr is off. I've tried 40 40 40 108 and ramping up the frequency. It really doesn't like going past 6800. 6800 isn't fully stable in tm5 either. I'll look into the gear and ratio thing thanks.
    Last edited by Xmptroubles; 11-26-2022 at 04:54 AM.

  5. #25
    New ROGer Array Bukov. PC Specs
    Bukov. PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RoG Strix Z790-E Gaming Wifi
    ProcessorIntel i9-13900K Raptor Lake
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX5M2X6200C36 (16x2)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte 4090 Gaming OC
    MonitorLG Ultragear 27gp850 2k @ 180hz
    Storage #1WD sn850x 2tb
    Storage #2WD sn850x 2tb
    CPU CoolerLian Li Galahad 360 Infinity-fan
    CaseLian Li 011D-XL-RoG + 10x Lian Li Infinity fan
    Power SupplyCorsair HX 1200 80+ Platinum
    Keyboard Steelseries Apex 7 (red switches)
    Mouse Razor Lancehead TE
    Headset Sennheiser HD 569
    Mouse Pad iCEMAT
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z901 5.1
    OS Yes
    Network RouterSkynet beta 0.97
    Accessory #1 Valve Index
    Accessory #2 Tobii Eye/Head tracker
    Accessory #3 Xbox controller

    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Ugh. At this point I consider myself lucky that my xmp6200 seems to be working. Also that my 4090 has not melted, but that's unrelated...

    Meanwhile I'm wondering what the "i" in "A.I.O.C." stands for. Seems like it's Incompetence for the moment?

    Of course I suppose Early Adopters must also be Early Adapters. So there is that. Respect does seem to be costly proposal these days...luckily I've been saving some patience for a rainy day.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •