Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Helios front panel RGB not working when connected to motherboard

    Hi All, i have a frustrating problem, the front panel rgb isn't working in MB mode, i have it connected to a MB header but when i go into armory crate it shows the three addressable headers but i am not sure what i am meant to do from there? The BIOS has "all on" for the lighting.

    Is armory crate meant to automatically recognise when something is plugged into one of the addressable headers?

    Not sure where to go from here, cheers.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Murph_9000 PC Specs
    Murph_9000 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950X
    Memory (part number)Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3600 CL16 (BL16G36C16U4B.M16FE1)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix Radeon™ RX 6750 XT OC Edition 12GB GDDR6
    MonitorROG Strix XG43UQ, XG27AQM
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 530
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin II 360
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyROG Thor 1200W Platinum
    Keyboard ROG Strix Scope RX, ROG Claymore II
    Mouse ROG Keris Wireless, ROG Chakram X
    Headset ROG Delta S
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX6000
    Accessory #1 ROG Eye S
    Accessory #2 ROG Strix Magnus
    Accessory #3 LINKUP Ultra PCIe 4.0 x16 Riser Cable - Right Angle - 20cm

    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    255

    The front panel ARGB in the Helios is the simple "gen 1" type, so doesn't talk back to the motherboard for AC to detect (that's "gen 2"). The motherboard just sends RGB patterns blindly. There's really nothing to it; just plug the front panel ARGB cable into an ARGB header, set the front panel to MB mode, then tell AC what pattern to output.

    Do the front panel lights work ok when the front panel is not in MB mode?
    Do you have another ARGB device (e.g. a fan) that you can use to test the motherboard ARGB header?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by Murph_9000 View Post
    The front panel ARGB in the Helios is the simple "gen 1" type, so doesn't talk back to the motherboard for AC to detect (that's "gen 2"). The motherboard just sends RGB patterns blindly. There's really nothing to it; just plug the front panel ARGB cable into an ARGB header, set the front panel to MB mode, then tell AC what pattern to output.

    Do the front panel lights work ok when the front panel is not in MB mode?
    Do you have another ARGB device (e.g. a fan) that you can use to test the motherboard ARGB header?
    Thanks for the reply, yes it works fine in those other modes. I could plug my PSU RGB into one of the headers to check. Do you know if the connector on the header needs to be pushed on forcefully? I have tried a few times and it sits on the pins quite loosely but I am worried that if I try too hard I will break a pin.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Murph_9000 PC Specs
    Murph_9000 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Extreme
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950X
    Memory (part number)Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3600 CL16 (BL16G36C16U4B.M16FE1)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix Radeon™ RX 6750 XT OC Edition 12GB GDDR6
    MonitorROG Strix XG43UQ, XG27AQM
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 530
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin II 360
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyROG Thor 1200W Platinum
    Keyboard ROG Strix Scope RX, ROG Claymore II
    Mouse ROG Keris Wireless, ROG Chakram X
    Headset ROG Delta S
    Mouse Pad ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX6000
    Accessory #1 ROG Eye S
    Accessory #2 ROG Strix Magnus
    Accessory #3 LINKUP Ultra PCIe 4.0 x16 Riser Cable - Right Angle - 20cm

    Join Date
    May 2022
    Reputation
    70
    Posts
    255

    It shouldn't need much force to plug onto the header. Just make sure the blank pin on the connector and header is aligned. It should fully cover the height of the header pins when installed. It's typically not that tight a fit.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by Murph_9000 View Post
    It shouldn't need much force to plug onto the header. Just make sure the blank pin on the connector and header is aligned. It should fully cover the height of the header pins when installed. It's typically not that tight a fit.
    That's interesting as when I push it on as far as it will go a lot of the pins are still visible, I thought it only went on one way but will have to check that

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Got it sorted, strange though, I tried and tried two different headers and could not easily press the connector all the way in but when i tried it out today to check I oriented it correctly it went on no probs, don't know why but not complaining now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •