Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    asus z690 hero event id 17 whea-logge

    Hello everyone i have asus z690 hero 13900k 2x16gb g skill 6400mhz gpu 1660 super(temp whait for my 4090) every time when i start windows from cold boot i see in the eventlog a lot of event id 17 whea-logger when i do restart and i log into windows no event id 17 whea-logger only when i power my pc first time i see a lot of event id 17 whea-logger
    what can casue this?
    Thanks for the help
    Last edited by tomerturbo; 11-26-2022 at 07:24 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array JohnAb PC Specs
    JohnAb PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP 430 G5
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Z690 Hero
    Processor12900K
    Memory (part number)2x 16GB CMK32GX5M2B5200C40
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 3090 TI 24GB TUF GAMING OC - TUF-RTX3090TI-O24G-GAMING
    Monitor28" Samsung 4K & 32" Samsung 4K
    Storage #13x NVME Drives on Motherboard
    Storage #22x SATA HDD, 2x SATA SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair iCUE H150i ELITE LCD Display 360mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCorsair 7000X RGB Black Full Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex Pro
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 600
    Headset Blue Yeti / Sundara Headphones
    Headset/Speakers Bose Soundbar
    OS Win 11 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk RAXE500 6E
    Accessory #1 SDR Radio
    Accessory #2 Graphics Tablet
    Accessory #3 Jabra Microphone/Speaker

    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Reputation
    84
    Posts
    517

    I had a lot of WHEA 17 errors after an install of Windows, which I assumed were related to a bad (corrupted) Windows driver. Once I reinstalled Windows and let Armoury Crate update the drivers, the errors went away. I also got a lot of errors when I tried reducing my PCH voltage to minimum values.

    Have you modified anything in the BIOS or are you on defaults? Are all of your drivers up to date? Have you looked at your PSU voltages using something like HWINfo and are the voltages stable?
    Z690 Hero, BIOS 2204, ME Firmware 16.1.25.2020, Corsair 7000X Case, Corsair RM1000x PSU, i9 12900K, ASUS TUF OC 3090TI, 2 x 16GB Corsair RAM @ 5200MHz, Windows 11 Pro 22H2, Corsair H150i AIO Cooler, 4x Corsair RGB fans, 3x M.2 NVME drives, 2x SATA SSDs, 2x SATA HDs, 2x 4K monitors.
    "If you're lazy like me and do nothing else in life, be nice to yourself and back up your data today"

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnAb View Post
    I had a lot of WHEA 17 errors after an install of Windows, which I assumed were related to a bad (corrupted) Windows driver. Once I reinstalled Windows and let Armoury Crate update the drivers, the errors went away. I also got a lot of errors when I tried reducing my PCH voltage to minimum values.

    Have you modified anything in the BIOS or are you on defaults? Are all of your drivers up to date? Have you looked at your PSU voltages using something like HWINfo and are the voltages stable?
    first of all thanks for the respone

    my cpu is on stock only XMP my psu voltage is ok according to my bios voltage and hwmonitor everyting seems to be ok

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array JohnAb PC Specs
    JohnAb PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP 430 G5
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Z690 Hero
    Processor12900K
    Memory (part number)2x 16GB CMK32GX5M2B5200C40
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 3090 TI 24GB TUF GAMING OC - TUF-RTX3090TI-O24G-GAMING
    Monitor28" Samsung 4K & 32" Samsung 4K
    Storage #13x NVME Drives on Motherboard
    Storage #22x SATA HDD, 2x SATA SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair iCUE H150i ELITE LCD Display 360mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCorsair 7000X RGB Black Full Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex Pro
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 600
    Headset Blue Yeti / Sundara Headphones
    Headset/Speakers Bose Soundbar
    OS Win 11 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk RAXE500 6E
    Accessory #1 SDR Radio
    Accessory #2 Graphics Tablet
    Accessory #3 Jabra Microphone/Speaker

    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Reputation
    84
    Posts
    517

    OK. Sorry I don't have a clear answer for you then, but like I said before, a fresh install of Windows fixed them for me. Might be worth trying if you haven't done that yet. Also check all of your drives for errors as well before doing that.

    WHEA 17 errors are related to the PCIe bus - used for your GPU, USB controller and certainly NVME drives. I don't know if the SATA ports are related to PCIe or not. So maybe have a think about anything you have that might be using the bus - might provide some more ideas about what to focus on. Do you have any other PCIe cards (like video capture, networking cards etc) that might be faulty or have old drivers? I'll let you know if I come across anything else that might help....

    One more thing - just make sure that all of your connections to the motherboard and PSU are solid. Probably not the cause, but easy to do and something could have worked loose. With thermal expansion/contraction, a poor connection could be causing errors after the machine has been on for a while.
    Last edited by JohnAb; 11-27-2022 at 10:12 AM.
    Z690 Hero, BIOS 2204, ME Firmware 16.1.25.2020, Corsair 7000X Case, Corsair RM1000x PSU, i9 12900K, ASUS TUF OC 3090TI, 2 x 16GB Corsair RAM @ 5200MHz, Windows 11 Pro 22H2, Corsair H150i AIO Cooler, 4x Corsair RGB fans, 3x M.2 NVME drives, 2x SATA SSDs, 2x SATA HDs, 2x 4K monitors.
    "If you're lazy like me and do nothing else in life, be nice to yourself and back up your data today"

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnAb View Post
    OK. Sorry I don't have a clear answer for you then, but like I said before, a fresh install of Windows fixed them for me. Might be worth trying if you haven't done that yet. Also check all of your drives for errors as well before doing that.

    WHEA 17 errors are related to the PCIe bus - used for your GPU, USB controller and certainly NVME drives. I don't know if the SATA ports are related to PCIe or not. So maybe have a think about anything you have that might be using the bus - might provide some more ideas about what to focus on. Do you have any other PCIe cards (like video capture, networking cards etc) that might be faulty or have old drivers? I'll let you know if I come across anything else that might help....

    One more thing - just make sure that all of your connections to the motherboard and PSU are solid. Probably not the cause, but easy to do and something could have worked loose. With thermal expansion/contraction, a poor connection could be causing errors after the machine has been on for a while.
    i have one nvme on the first slot that close to the cpu

    and i have 5 sata port in used

    i have only gpu connect

    i cheked all the connections to the motherbord and psu

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array JohnAb PC Specs
    JohnAb PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP 430 G5
    MotherboardASUS Maximus Z690 Hero
    Processor12900K
    Memory (part number)2x 16GB CMK32GX5M2B5200C40
    Graphics Card #1ASUS RTX 3090 TI 24GB TUF GAMING OC - TUF-RTX3090TI-O24G-GAMING
    Monitor28" Samsung 4K & 32" Samsung 4K
    Storage #13x NVME Drives on Motherboard
    Storage #22x SATA HDD, 2x SATA SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair iCUE H150i ELITE LCD Display 360mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCorsair 7000X RGB Black Full Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex Pro
    Mouse SteelSeries Rival 600
    Headset Blue Yeti / Sundara Headphones
    Headset/Speakers Bose Soundbar
    OS Win 11 Pro
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk RAXE500 6E
    Accessory #1 SDR Radio
    Accessory #2 Graphics Tablet
    Accessory #3 Jabra Microphone/Speaker

    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Reputation
    84
    Posts
    517

    Then perhaps reinstall Windows. Back up all of your files first of course.

    SATA drives should not be the cause. I read that they do not use the PCIe bus at all. That's all I can suggest for now - report back if you do try a reinstall. Good luck tomerturbo.
    Z690 Hero, BIOS 2204, ME Firmware 16.1.25.2020, Corsair 7000X Case, Corsair RM1000x PSU, i9 12900K, ASUS TUF OC 3090TI, 2 x 16GB Corsair RAM @ 5200MHz, Windows 11 Pro 22H2, Corsair H150i AIO Cooler, 4x Corsair RGB fans, 3x M.2 NVME drives, 2x SATA SSDs, 2x SATA HDs, 2x 4K monitors.
    "If you're lazy like me and do nothing else in life, be nice to yourself and back up your data today"

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z690-F Gaming WiFi
    Processori7-12700KF
    Memory (part number)Kingston Fury Beast 16GB (2x8GB) 6000MT/s (KF560C40BBK2-16)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 3090 Ti LC OC
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Seagate Firecuda 530 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Quantum Velocity2
    CaseThermaltake Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600 T2
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX / Strix Flare II/Azoth
    Mouse ROG Chakram X/Chakram Core/Spatha X/Harpe Ace
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL / ROG Scabbard II/Hone Ace
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 2x Swiftech Maelstrom X300 D5 V2
    Accessory #2 2x Hardware Labs SR2 560 MP radiators
    Accessory #3 Lamptron FC-5 V3 fan controller
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    404
    Posts
    17,808

    Hello tomerturbo,

    To stop the WHEA errors, in the bios...

    Advanced tab, Platform Misc Configuration, Disable PCIe Native Power Management.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array BenchAndGames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    Disable PCIe native power management and ASPM from the bios

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    ok tank you very much for the help

    i Disable PCIe native power management and ASPM from the bios and no WHEA errors

    does it effect something in my pc?

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array BenchAndGames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    59

    Not at all, other vendors MB that is not nice to name them here, got those disabled by default on bios. This is just power saves on PCIe connection when its on IDLE so disabling it will just not save this tiny powers....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •