Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Constant BSOD

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Constant BSOD

    Ok I have been using bios 0018 since it came out, with 0 issue's until earlier this week.

    I have suffered from 6 bsod randomly during the week (a couple during the night and wake up to a windows has recovered blah blah message).

    Anyhow I figured that it may have been due to the new windows live update or possibly kaspersky internet security.

    So tonight I suffered 2 bsod in approx 10 mins, and figured enough was enough.

    So I removed windows live.

    I rebooted and suffered bsod before I got into windows.

    It restarted on it's own, and windows worked fine.

    So I plug my iphone in, open itunes and get bsod again (so it wasn't windows live then).

    This time I managed to catch a message in corner of screen saying "memory_management"

    Anyway get back into windows and reinstall windows live.

    All goes well, and I reboot.

    Then I thought I would do a google on the memory_management message and find a link that suggests bios might be the cause.

    So I come on here, and see there is an update 1305.

    So I updated from 0018 to 1305.

    WOW....

    That was a HUGE mistake, the update went fine, I booted into the bios, setup with previous settings.

    It booted into windows, and then locked up for about 2 mins.

    Then it worked for 1 min before (yep you guessed it) bsod.

    "memory_management" again.

    Ok so I go into bios, and reset everything to default, no overclocking, the only non default setting was manually set my memory to it's correct speed and lock the voltage to 1.5v.

    Reboot, bsod before windows loads.

    Reboot again, bsod again, this time getting a hardware failure error.

    Anyway I go remove 2 stick of ram.

    Makes no odds still won't boot.

    I underclock the ram, still the same.

    So I remove all ram, inspect it, nothing visable wrong with it, nothing hot in my system either.

    I put 1 stick of ram in, and get to bios screen, set it back to it's true speed (1600mhz, instead of the underclocked 1333mhz).

    Still can't get into windows, just locks up and then bsod.

    So I try to repair windows thinking maybe something is corrupt.

    Can't do that, bsod again

    As a last ditched attempt, I switch to my other bios (1101).

    What do you know, it posts, and boots with no issue's.

    I put all my ram back in, and it still boots fine and so far (been up 25 mins now) no issue's.
    RIG:
    Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79
    Intel Core i7 3930K Sandy Bridge-E
    Corsair Vengance 1600 DDR3 16GB (4x4GB)
    Gigabyte Nvidia SOC 560Ti
    Corsair HX850
    Corsair H100 Cooler, with 2x Noctua NF-S12B fans added for push / pull
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gb Sata 6GB's SSD
    Hitachi 3TB Sata 6GB's HDD
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
    Corsair Obsidian 800D Case

    Currently IBT stable @ 4700mhz , 1.365v

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero XI
    Processor9900k @ 5.1Ghz All Core 1.315v AVX -2
    Memory (part number)Gskill GTZ 4133 C17 32GB (4x8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix 2080 TI OC
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks Evolv X
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur VOID Pro
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    967

    What specific memory are you running? (part number)

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    The new bios is available on the support site and I think it is a little better than 0018 was. Might be worth a try. The good thing is you can revert back to BIOS B on your board and use the tools to flash the A bios to that version if you prefer it.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    What specific memory are you running? (part number)
    CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 XMP

    It does now seem that it might have been a memory problem.

    After the above post, all seemed fine.

    But when I woke this morning, it had crashed again during the night.

    So I downloaded memtest, and it instantly gave me errors (2400+) in about 45% of 1 pass.

    So I removed all sticks, and swapped them round.

    Ran memtest again.

    Same thing.

    So I removed all 4 sticks again, and just installed 1, ran memtest for a few hours, 0 errors, carried on with stick 2, after a couple of hours no errors.

    I tried with stick 3 for 40 mins, and again no errors.

    So I stuck the 4th stick back in, ran memtest for 20 mins and no errors again.

    So i've just booted into windows to see how it goes now.

    I will leave memtest running with all 4 sticks in overnight tonight.
    RIG:
    Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79
    Intel Core i7 3930K Sandy Bridge-E
    Corsair Vengance 1600 DDR3 16GB (4x4GB)
    Gigabyte Nvidia SOC 560Ti
    Corsair HX850
    Corsair H100 Cooler, with 2x Noctua NF-S12B fans added for push / pull
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gb Sata 6GB's SSD
    Hitachi 3TB Sata 6GB's HDD
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
    Corsair Obsidian 800D Case

    Currently IBT stable @ 4700mhz , 1.365v

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    The new bios is available on the support site and I think it is a little better than 0018 was. Might be worth a try. The good thing is you can revert back to BIOS B on your board and use the tools to flash the A bios to that version if you prefer it.
    I assumed 1305 was newer than 0018 ?

    0018 was perfect until this week and 1305 seemed to make things worse, but as I posted above, maybe my memory is starting to die ?
    RIG:
    Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79
    Intel Core i7 3930K Sandy Bridge-E
    Corsair Vengance 1600 DDR3 16GB (4x4GB)
    Gigabyte Nvidia SOC 560Ti
    Corsair HX850
    Corsair H100 Cooler, with 2x Noctua NF-S12B fans added for push / pull
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gb Sata 6GB's SSD
    Hitachi 3TB Sata 6GB's HDD
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
    Corsair Obsidian 800D Case

    Currently IBT stable @ 4700mhz , 1.365v

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Well I left memtest running over night, 10+ hours.

    0 errors in that time.

    Been running windows all day and no issue's until 2 mins ago, when ie gave an error message saying an error occured and needs to close.

    Hopefully thats not related.

    I am back on bios 1305 btw
    RIG:
    Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79
    Intel Core i7 3930K Sandy Bridge-E
    Corsair Vengance 1600 DDR3 16GB (4x4GB)
    Gigabyte Nvidia SOC 560Ti
    Corsair HX850
    Corsair H100 Cooler, with 2x Noctua NF-S12B fans added for push / pull
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gb Sata 6GB's SSD
    Hitachi 3TB Sata 6GB's HDD
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
    Corsair Obsidian 800D Case

    Currently IBT stable @ 4700mhz , 1.365v

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Well I ran memtest again, and instantly got a load of errors.

    Have switch the bios back to 1101, and ran memtest again, and still got errors.

    I then completely powered down the pc, and started it up and ran memtest again.

    No errors..

    Not sure whats going on, so going to RMA the memory and see what happens.
    RIG:
    Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79
    Intel Core i7 3930K Sandy Bridge-E
    Corsair Vengance 1600 DDR3 16GB (4x4GB)
    Gigabyte Nvidia SOC 560Ti
    Corsair HX850
    Corsair H100 Cooler, with 2x Noctua NF-S12B fans added for push / pull
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gb Sata 6GB's SSD
    Hitachi 3TB Sata 6GB's HDD
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
    Corsair Obsidian 800D Case

    Currently IBT stable @ 4700mhz , 1.365v

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Well there is a new version of memtest out (well an alpha) which now supports x79 etc etc.

    So I re-ran it again earlier.

    With all 4 sticks in, I got 2 errors on test 6.

    So I pulled all 4 and ran them 1 stick at a time.

    Stick 1, 0 errors on 1 pass
    Stick 2, 2 errors on test 6
    Stick 3, 2 errors on test 6 (same codes as on stick 2)
    Stick 4, 0 errors on 1 pass

    I then put the 2 good sticks back in, and ran the test again, 0 errors on 1 pass.

    So it looks like I have 2 faulty sticks, and 2 good sticks.

    The problem is, I bought 2x Dual memory kits as it was cheaper than 1x Quad kit (they have been running as Quad with no issue's since I bought it a little over 2 months ago).

    Anyway looking at the serial numbers or lot numbers, it seems I have 1 faulty stick from each kit.

    So i've just filled in the RMA form with Corsair and will send the lot back.
    RIG:
    Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79
    Intel Core i7 3930K Sandy Bridge-E
    Corsair Vengance 1600 DDR3 16GB (4x4GB)
    Gigabyte Nvidia SOC 560Ti
    Corsair HX850
    Corsair H100 Cooler, with 2x Noctua NF-S12B fans added for push / pull
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gb Sata 6GB's SSD
    Hitachi 3TB Sata 6GB's HDD
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
    Corsair Obsidian 800D Case

    Currently IBT stable @ 4700mhz , 1.365v

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Ah man thanks for the very detailed log of your problem. I am sorry dude I did not see that you had tried 1305 my bad.

    Ram is so key with this platform and it is so easy to skip the testing of the ram.

    Could you post the link for the alpha version of memtest that you are using please.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Memtest86+ 5.00 Alpha 1

    http://www.memtest.org/download/beta/500a1/mt500a1.bin

    Memtest86+ V5.00a1 changelog
    Added support for up to 2 TB of RAM on X64 CPUs
    Added multi-threading (SMT) support up to 32 cores
    Added complete detection for memory controllers.
    Added enhanced Fail Safe Mode (Press F1)
    Added CPU temperature reporting
    Added support for Intel "Sandy Bridge-E" CPUs
    Added support for Intel "Ivy Bridge" CPUs
    Added preliminary support for Intel "Haswell" CPUs
    Added support for AMD "Bulldozer" CPUs
    Added support for AMD E-/C-/G-/Z- "Bobcat" CPUs
    Rewriten lots of memory timings detection code
    Corrected a lots of bugs

    Known bugs (Mt86+ 5.00 alpha 1)
    Time counter goes crazy due to SMT on Intel CPUs
    Memory Bandwidth incorrect due to previous bug
    IBM clusters & 4 Socket servers not supported (Proprietary SMT)
    Fail Safe Mode doesn't disable SMT yet
    Older platforms not validated yet. Don't expect something working !
    AMD "Trinity" CPUs unsupported yet.
    False positive on a 8-byte memory area near 0.4 MB due to a bug somewhere in the SMT trampoline code.

    Download (raw binary - Best way to test : create an USB key with the 4.20 installer and replace mt86plus with this file) :
    If you don't know how to use it, wait for Beta release !


    Custom Alpha:
    http://www.memtest.org/download/beta...500a1_madt.bin
    http://www.memtest.org/download/beta...00a1_nosmp.bin
    I uploaded 2 new revision of mt500a1, one with SMP MADT, another without SMP
    RIG:
    Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme X79
    Intel Core i7 3930K Sandy Bridge-E
    Corsair Vengance 1600 DDR3 16GB (4x4GB)
    Gigabyte Nvidia SOC 560Ti
    Corsair HX850
    Corsair H100 Cooler, with 2x Noctua NF-S12B fans added for push / pull
    OCZ Vertex 3 120gb Sata 6GB's SSD
    Hitachi 3TB Sata 6GB's HDD
    Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
    Corsair Obsidian 800D Case

    Currently IBT stable @ 4700mhz , 1.365v

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •