cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G74SX-BBK11 HDD to SSD

iamjuice
Level 7
Hey I just purchased the G74SX-BBK11 from Best Buy and will be replacing one of the HDDs with a Crucial M4 128gb SSD.
I havent turned the machine on yet since I purchased it but I want to know what steps I should take before swapping the drives. I've never worked on laptops before but I want a fresh OEM Windows install and avoid putting as much bloatware and unnecessary crap on the drive as possible.

Thanks in advance.
31 REPLIES 31

Zygomorphic
Level 17
You need to make the recovery DVD's first. You will need a number of the drivers, but the ASUS software is optional. The computer should come with a DVD full of the drivers and other bloatware, but the nice thing about it is that you can pick the software you want to install. While some of the drivers are old, it makes a great way to get all the stuff installed so that you need to get the system functional. After that, you can go and find the drivers on the web that you want.

Note: definitely install the latest nVidia drivers from nVidia, they are newer than the ASUS ones, and it has the FXAA support. The 301.XX beta drivers are quite reliable, and definitely worth trying.
I am disturbed because I cannot break my system...found out there were others trying to cope! We have a support group on here, if your system will not break, please join!
http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=16
We now have 178 people whose systems will not break! Yippee! 🙂
LINUX Users, we have a group!
http://rog.asus.com/forum/group.php?groupid=23

The laptop actually didnt come with any CD/DVD and barely a user manual. I have an old Win 7 64bit disc that I have installed on all of my previous machines that works fine. It seems the biggest obstacle is backing up the drivers. Should I just find the drivers folder in the Windows directory and just make a copy of that or do I need to do something else?

iamjuice wrote: