Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sverre PC Specs
    Sverre PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Formula
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C15
    Graphics Card #1ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti
    Monitor1 x Asus 27" LED FreeSync MG278Q + 2 x Benq XL2420T
    Storage #1C-drive: Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 PCIe SSD
    Storage #2D-drive: Force Series LS 480GB
    CPU CoolerEK-Supremacy MX
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos C700P
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB FSP
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Built into the computer table
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906
    OS Windows 10 pro 64-bit
    Network RouterZyxel P8702N
    Accessory #1 Several HDD’s 1, 2 and 3 TB
    Accessory #2 Aquaero 6xt + a lot of water cooling stuff.
    Accessory #3 UPS BlueWalker PW UPS VI 2200 SH

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    141

    New WC PC, problems with Rampage IV Extreme

    I am putting together a new PC and have run into some trouble.

    Rampage IV Extreme
    64GB memory
    2xPOW GTX590
    2x3TB HD
    1x480GB SSD
    Aquaero 5
    2 water pumps, tanks and radiators
    9x120mm fans
    4x80mm fans
    Corsair AX 1200 gold
    Plus a lot of sensors that will connect to the Aquaero

    I have connected the Aquaero and the fans and it runs fine, but when I connect the motherboard and the graphics cards and 1 HD it only gets 5v standby power. If I disconnect the MB, HD and graphic cards I still only get 5v SB. Have to disconnect the power cord for some minutes (haven't timed it) before full power returns. Then running Aquaero is ok, but the second I reconnect the MB it turns off.

    The other day I found a 30v mosfet regulator on the bottom of the case, but quite sure it's for the PSU tester (molex output isn't working) as it is produced for iPhone and iPad.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sverre PC Specs
    Sverre PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Formula
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C15
    Graphics Card #1ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti
    Monitor1 x Asus 27" LED FreeSync MG278Q + 2 x Benq XL2420T
    Storage #1C-drive: Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 PCIe SSD
    Storage #2D-drive: Force Series LS 480GB
    CPU CoolerEK-Supremacy MX
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos C700P
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB FSP
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Built into the computer table
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906
    OS Windows 10 pro 64-bit
    Network RouterZyxel P8702N
    Accessory #1 Several HDD’s 1, 2 and 3 TB
    Accessory #2 Aquaero 6xt + a lot of water cooling stuff.
    Accessory #3 UPS BlueWalker PW UPS VI 2200 SH

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    141

    Disconnected the graphics cards and the power is ok. When I connect ANY of the PCI-E cables (not connected to graphics cards) I hear a sound that reminds of a shorting, and the PSU goes dead, only leaving 5v SB. Since this seems to be the same for all the cables I'm a bit lost. And it isn't the outlets from the PSU, as I use the same outlet for the 8-pin motherboard connector. When I check the cable on the PSU tester, it serms ok, but I can only test the 6-pin part of the connector.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Could you please tell me which connectors you have used on the motherboard.

    I am interested in all the 12V CPU connectors and the additional connectors supplying power to the PCIe lanes for your cards.

    Where are you drawing power for all the other stuff you have connected to your system?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sverre PC Specs
    Sverre PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Formula
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C15
    Graphics Card #1ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti
    Monitor1 x Asus 27" LED FreeSync MG278Q + 2 x Benq XL2420T
    Storage #1C-drive: Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 PCIe SSD
    Storage #2D-drive: Force Series LS 480GB
    CPU CoolerEK-Supremacy MX
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos C700P
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB FSP
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Built into the computer table
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906
    OS Windows 10 pro 64-bit
    Network RouterZyxel P8702N
    Accessory #1 Several HDD’s 1, 2 and 3 TB
    Accessory #2 Aquaero 6xt + a lot of water cooling stuff.
    Accessory #3 UPS BlueWalker PW UPS VI 2200 SH

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    141

    I have connected the power, reset, hdd led and led +/-. Then I connect the 24-pin and 8-pin. In addition I have power to the Aquaero wich powers the fans and power to the BD's and HD's. If I turn on the power now the Aquaero works and powers the fans, and the motherboard gets power, but a red led is illuminated. Looks like the CPU led. When I connect PCI-E cabel the PSU shuts down and only the 5v standby power is available. I then have to dissconnect the AC for a few minutes before the power gets back.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Something is grounding out the system. Or something is causing the system to shut down.

    Please check each and every power connector, and each and every connection that will be carrying power to a fan or anything at all for that matter. Obviously you will pay special attention to the PCie connectors.

    Check also for bits of cable that are nicked or might have small cuts. Something is causing this and until we narrow it down we are stuck.

    If you have access to another PSU please swap that out and see if the problem remains.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Rassal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    110

    Is your motherboard screwed down in your case? If it is... i would suggest tearing apart your system and try the same components outside of your casing and test it from there... i would even say go bare minimum... so motherboard, 1 dimm of memory in 1st slot, cpu, cpu cooler and power supply... then power it off... if it works outside the case, i would suggest you rebuild your system and pay attention to your motherboard standoffs and make sure they are properly aligned... like HiVizMan says, it sounds like you have something that grounds up your system thus the powere supply goes into protection mode...

    It happened to me a couple of years ago, in a specific case, until i could see that one of the motherboard standoff was too large and was grounding some lines on the motherboard... best way to test your components is to try them outside the case 1st... and see if you have the same problem.
    Rampage IV Extreme (4802) + Core i7-3930K @ 4.3GHZ + Corsair H100i Push Config.
    VCore = 1.33v | LLC = Auto | VTT = 1.10v | 2nd VTT = Auto | VCCSA = 1.10v | PLL = 1.78125v
    G.Skill Ripjawz Z 32GB DDR3-1866 @ 1866 (8x4gb) Using XMP profile#1
    Dual Corsair Force GT 120gb Raid-0 Sata 6G RSTe + 1TB WD Blue Sata 6G ASMedia
    Dual Sapphire Radeon 6870 xfire - Cooler Master Cosmos II Case
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 950w power supply.
    Dell 2709WFP LCD Monitor (1920x1200) - Windows 8.1 Pro x64

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sverre PC Specs
    Sverre PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Formula
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C15
    Graphics Card #1ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti
    Monitor1 x Asus 27" LED FreeSync MG278Q + 2 x Benq XL2420T
    Storage #1C-drive: Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 PCIe SSD
    Storage #2D-drive: Force Series LS 480GB
    CPU CoolerEK-Supremacy MX
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos C700P
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB FSP
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Built into the computer table
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906
    OS Windows 10 pro 64-bit
    Network RouterZyxel P8702N
    Accessory #1 Several HDD’s 1, 2 and 3 TB
    Accessory #2 Aquaero 6xt + a lot of water cooling stuff.
    Accessory #3 UPS BlueWalker PW UPS VI 2200 SH

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    141

    As this happends only when I attach cables thar aren't connected to anything and that the output I use for PCI-E is the same as I use for the 8-pin to the MB power, I can't understand that it's anything but the PSU. I have another PSU that is broken (waiting for the supplier to take it back on the guatantee) and have tried the PCI-E cabels from that too, with the same result. Could it be tha 30v mosfet that I found, belongs to the PSU? I can't believe that, but I have to try all avenues. I also had to drill a little bigger holes for the screws, and I notice that the screw that is a little indented has touched the board in the PSU, but after careful examination with a magnifiing glass, I can't see that that has damaged anything but leving a little scar. And since the 8-pin CPU power works from the same connectors, why shouldn't the PCI-E? I'm totaly lost.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sverre PC Specs
    Sverre PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Formula
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4B3200C15
    Graphics Card #1ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2ROG Poseidon GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti
    Monitor1 x Asus 27" LED FreeSync MG278Q + 2 x Benq XL2420T
    Storage #1C-drive: Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 PCIe SSD
    Storage #2D-drive: Force Series LS 480GB
    CPU CoolerEK-Supremacy MX
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos C700P
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Corsair Gaming K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB FSP
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Built into the computer table
    Headset/Speakers Logitech z906
    OS Windows 10 pro 64-bit
    Network RouterZyxel P8702N
    Accessory #1 Several HDD’s 1, 2 and 3 TB
    Accessory #2 Aquaero 6xt + a lot of water cooling stuff.
    Accessory #3 UPS BlueWalker PW UPS VI 2200 SH

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    141

    The case is a Danger Den in all acrylic, so there is no way the screws that holds the mother board could cause a shorting.

  9. #9
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    pcie = screencards ONLY!!!
    look in the instruction book of the psu and see where each cabel is for..........
    and if its a new psu there should be a 4 and a 8 pinn power for the motherboard.......

  10. #10
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    sorry if i did miss understood enny of your writing ( my eyes are a lill blury ( small text large screen ) )

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •