cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Total Novice Needs Help Building Super Computer

deadpixel
Level 7
I am a TOTAL novice. I spoke to a techie who told me that the starting point pf building a PC is the processor so I went and got myself an intel core i7 3820 Quadcore chipset with LGA 2011. I believe this is an amazing Chip. Now i need a motherboard. On Monday I will buy the Asus Rampage IV Extreme. I have read that this one is the best out there at the moment and it has the same socket as the the chipset so i think this is a good combo. Please feel free to tell me otherwise. Next is the RAM. I have no clude what ram to buy or how many sticks I will need. This is where your advice comes in.
As you can tell, I am trying to buid a high spec/performance PC so what RAM is best. I have read RAM comes in 8,16 and 32GB sticks.

• I suspect that 32GB is probably the best? what brand?

It seems that Corsair Dominator 32 GB is the one everyone is talking about. Gskill Rip Jaws also seems to be a premium RAM

• Would I need four 32GB sticks?
  • Will either Corsair Dominator 32GB and Gskills Z series fit into my mother board assuming i get the Rampage IV extreme?
  • Is it possible to get too much RAM?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.
Windows 10 (64 bit) Asus rampage IV Extreme, Intel core i7 3820, Spire Max CPU cooler, 4x4GB (16GB) G-skills RipJawsZ RAM, LG Blu-Ray R/RW lightscribe, 120GB Kingston SSD, 1.5 TB WD HDD, Silencer Mk II 950 Watt PSU, AMD HD 7050 GPU
20 REPLIES 20

xeromist
*note* advertising not allowed on this forum so your signature was removed. Thank you for your understanding in this matter.