Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    224

    Can I power/ground Phoebus with three 2 pin power connectors from 2+6 pin PCIE cable

    Hi Everyone,

    So this is probably a noob question, but I am currently not using the two extra pins on my four 2+6 pin power connectors since my two 570s don't require it. My question is can I use three of this 2 pins to power/ground the Phoebus? Here is what I am talking about however my 2 pin connectors are really long.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	psu pcie 6 2pin.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	312.0 KB 
ID:	8341



    I would like to not have to use the 4 pin molex to 6 pin PCIE in my case since it is already crowded and those 2 pins are hanging out in the back of my case doing nothing.

    Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by dedaciai; 05-03-2012 at 05:05 PM.
    Intel Core 3930K at 4.25GHz
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme BIOS 1404
    Crucial M4 SSD 256GB
    EVGA GTX 570 SC 2-Way SLI @ 822/2000/1.038V 24/7 Drivers: WHQL 301.42
    2 Caviar Black 1TB HDD
    Asus XONAR Phoebus
    Corsair H100 (p/p)
    Corsair Vengance RAM 16GB @1600MHz
    Enermax 1350W PSU
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    135

    Yeah I asked the manufacture for my power supply if I can purchase extra 4 pin molex for my psu cos a lot of my PC case tower (7 fans) uses 4 pin molex plus my gpu uses 2 4 pin molex... and I wanted to purchase extra cables...

    They e-mailed me and sent me this website... for extra cables... http://www.cmstore-usa.com/parts/?sort=featured&page=2
    ASUS Entheustic <3r MOBO RIG: First RIG first custom built myself...
    Antec Darkfleet-80 (Antec said it's a new Full Tower ATX.. and also said copied from other ATX..) / Rampage 4 Extreme / Intel i7-3820 (hope to upgrade to i7-3960X but cannot afford on budget atm...) / EVGA 560 Ti OC 256-bit 1GB 4-way SLI Kingston XMP 8 GB 2400 mhz DDR3 / Cool Masters 1000w PSU / Phantek European design Heatsink for LGA 2011 /ASUS Blu-ray Drive / Seagate SSHD 500GB Momentus XT Win 7 64-bit Ultimate / AutoCad2000

  3. #3
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by dedaciai View Post
    Hi Everyone,

    So this is probably a noob question, but I am currently not using the two extra pins on my four 2+6 pin power connectors since my two 570s don't require it. My question is can I use three of this 2 pins to power/ground the Phoebus? Here is what I am talking about however my 2 pin connectors are really long.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	psu pcie 6 2pin.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	312.0 KB 
ID:	8341



    I would like to not have to use the 4 pin molex to 6 pin PCIE in my case since it is already crowded and those 2 pins are hanging out in the back of my case doing nothing.

    Thanks in advance!

    A couple of things you need to consider:

    1) The 6 pin female connector will not accept that lead in all positions. The holes are rounded off.

    2) Those leads would not reach those of the card if you are plugging them into GPUs.

    So, carefully consider these points and you will have your answer.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    224

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    A couple of things you need to consider:

    1) The 6 pin female connector will not accept that lead in all positions. The holes are rounded off.

    2) Those leads would not reach those of the card if you are plugging them into GPUs.

    So, carefully consider these points and you will have your answer.
    Thanks for you input Raja. With regards to item 1, after looking at 6 pin PCIE diagram more closely you are right I will definitely have to check and see if the males ends will fit in those female ends since some are rounded off and others are square.

    With regards to number 2, I have individually sleeved all of my cables so the 2 pin connectors on the 2 + 6 pin are very long now and should easily reach the Phoebus.

    Thanks again.
    Intel Core 3930K at 4.25GHz
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme BIOS 1404
    Crucial M4 SSD 256GB
    EVGA GTX 570 SC 2-Way SLI @ 822/2000/1.038V 24/7 Drivers: WHQL 301.42
    2 Caviar Black 1TB HDD
    Asus XONAR Phoebus
    Corsair H100 (p/p)
    Corsair Vengance RAM 16GB @1600MHz
    Enermax 1350W PSU
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

  5. #5
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Yes the round shape on one end together with the shape of ground return and positive ensures people don't plug the connectors in upside down to create fireworks or put the 2 pin connector in the wrong place.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    224

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    Yes the round shape on one end ensures people don't plug the connectors in upside down to create fireworks or put the 2 pin connector in the wrong place.
    Haha. Yeah, the last thing I want to do is watch my Phoebus (pre-ordered as of Monday) go up in smoke.
    Intel Core 3930K at 4.25GHz
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme BIOS 1404
    Crucial M4 SSD 256GB
    EVGA GTX 570 SC 2-Way SLI @ 822/2000/1.038V 24/7 Drivers: WHQL 301.42
    2 Caviar Black 1TB HDD
    Asus XONAR Phoebus
    Corsair H100 (p/p)
    Corsair Vengance RAM 16GB @1600MHz
    Enermax 1350W PSU
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

  7. #7
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Yeah, just get it up and running normally first and then look at your options.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •