Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array kevin666a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Exclamation Rampage IV Extreme wont run any 10gbit adapters

    infiniband and myricom adapters will not work. causes the system to crash or freeze during driver installation.

    i figure'd i would create a new thread about this, as the last one i made was mislabeled.

    i wasted $100 on a set of myricom adapters thinking the issue was related to the infiniband drivers. wrong. this motherboard is junk or the developers haven't even tested any addon cards with this board. either way this is a joke. completely unacceptable from asus

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Have you tested with only one VGA?

    I know that there is a problem when you run dual VGA and add on cards.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array kevin666a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    i only have one gtx 680. i just tried 4 different configurations with the gpu/10gbit card. same thing. one of the lights on the 10gbit card just blinks while the computer is frozen, like its in some sort of initialization loop. i also tried forcing pci-e 2.0. same problem with the infiniband adapter.

    the 10gbit myricom card i have is brand new, i put it in my spare computer to test and it works great just like the infiniband.
    Last edited by kevin666a; 05-03-2012 at 10:16 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    That is rubbish that they do not work. Let me bump this one more time to the engineers.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array kevin666a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    thanks, i totally agree.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    135

    Quote Originally Posted by kevin666a View Post
    infiniband and myricom adapters will not work. causes the system to crash or freeze during driver installation.

    i figure'd i would create a new thread about this, as the last one i made was mislabeled.

    i wasted $100 on a set of myricom adapters thinking the issue was related to the infiniband drivers. wrong. this motherboard is junk or the developers haven't even tested any addon cards with this board. either way this is a joke. completely unacceptable from asus
    I also have similar problems like I installed Win 7 and then restarted and save restore point then I would install Asus installation drivers and applications then I'd restart it and create a restore point. Then I'd install my EVGA 560 Ti then restart it and I would see a Win 7 logo when it restarted then the screen went black and then I tried to hook up the monitor with VGA display and DVI display like Dell Ultrasharp 17" then it would also show it detects signal but still in black screen... And I'd uninstall the driver or reinstall them but the main problem is that I cannot see it... lol

    And I only have a laptop Mac Book Pro 2007 edition so I cannot use it for remote PC through RoG Connect because I don't think Win 7 would install such outdated Mac Book and I only have one installation license for Win 7 lol...
    ASUS Entheustic <3r MOBO RIG: First RIG first custom built myself...
    Antec Darkfleet-80 (Antec said it's a new Full Tower ATX.. and also said copied from other ATX..) / Rampage 4 Extreme / Intel i7-3820 (hope to upgrade to i7-3960X but cannot afford on budget atm...) / EVGA 560 Ti OC 256-bit 1GB 4-way SLI Kingston XMP 8 GB 2400 mhz DDR3 / Cool Masters 1000w PSU / Phantek European design Heatsink for LGA 2011 /ASUS Blu-ray Drive / Seagate SSHD 500GB Momentus XT Win 7 64-bit Ultimate / AutoCad2000

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    I just wanted to state that i am using an intel 520 10gbit adapter without issue.
    Asus RIV Extreme
    3960x
    32 GB .Skill 2133 ripjaws (F3-1700CL9Q2-32GBZH)
    WC 7970
    Ocz Revodrive 3 x2
    AX1200 PSU
    Custom Water Loop
    Build Pics

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Ah that does change things substantially. Thank you for sharing cryptz, did you have to set anything different in your BIOS or OS.

    And what OS are you using?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array kevin666a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by cryptz View Post
    I just wanted to state that i am using an intel 520 10gbit adapter without issue.
    what os and bios? i don't have $600 to spend on two of those cards. my infiniband and myricom adapters work great in everything else.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Not many folks do have that kind of money it is true. But it does seem to indicate that a 10GBit adaptor has worked on the motherboard.

    The trick is finding out why that adaptor and not the two you tried to use.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •