Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Maximus V Gene "iRog is updating" boot loop

    I just installed a Maximus V Gene mobo with a 3770K processor and a NVidia GTX680 video card. It seems to take a very long time (around 2 minutes) for my monitor to display the BIOS splash screen. After the BIOS splash screen appears it immediately goes to a screen which says "irog is updating" and takes around 4 hours to complete. After completing, it starts the process all over again. Any ideas how to get past this?

    I initially flashed new BIOS (version 701) via Flashback because I could not get video output, could that have screwed things up?

    I'm at a loss for things to try at this point, any ideas?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array 8 Pack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    63
    Posts
    916

    I would try taking out the 680 and using the CPU's onboard graphics until Irog has finished. If this does not work reset the bios and flash again using flashback as it may be a corrupt flash and try again with onboard graphics first. Then once flashed and up and running try the 680.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I would redo the BIOS flash.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thanks for the suggestions but I'm still having the issue.

    I can't seem to get video out of the onboard HDMI port. This may be because the only display I have with HDMI is my TV and I don't know if it supports the resolution the mobo is outputting.

    I've reflashed with flashback several times with the same results.

    The other odd thing is my Q-Code display always reads "00" and never changes.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    HDMI and a TV is not ideal, unless the TV is at the default HDMI res.


    The OO is not too good. Are you able to borrow a VGA card to test please. Or take your system round to someone with a PC screen?

    At the moment you are running blind and that is not helping.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    I would disconnect everything from the board also removing the CPU and memory and try USB BIOS Flashback

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    48

    If nothing else works for you and you think that a clean BIOS flash would perhaps be the solution, you could send me your BIOS chip and I can program it with the latest BIOS or the BIOS you want.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I have unplugged everything from the motherboard except for the 24 pin and 8 pin power connectors. I've removed the RAM and CPU so there is literally nothing connected to the motherboard (except power). When I turn on the board the Q-Code display only reads "00" and does not change. Is this normal behavior?

    With everything disconnected I tried flashing the two available BIOSes (version 0701 and 0602) and have gotten the same result.

    With the CPU installed I occasionally see the following sequence of codes 00-04-00-04-CC. There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to when it displays this sequence and when it does not.

    I'm starting to think that the board is bad.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    RMA the board.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •