Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Asus G75, installing an SSD

    Hey i've tried to install an SSD in my new G75 laptop. I replaced the already placed harddrive with my new SSD. Everything went fine but it doesn't show when I start up my computer.

    I'm pretty new to this stuff so some help would be awesome!

    I don't have Windows on it, I only want to install new games on the SSD.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    878

    Hi

    Perhaps this thread: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status= can give you the answers you seek.

    Is the SSD the primary disk or the second ?
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by fuzon1337 View Post
    Hi

    Perhaps this thread: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status= can give you the answers you seek.

    Is the SSD the primary disk or the second ?
    Hey, well I put the SSD disk in the primary slot. It doesnt have windows.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    I dont think that thread is what I'm looking for. My problem is: I can't seem to find the SSD disk. Or rather, my computer doesnt find it. I can locate it in BIOS but when I start the computer it doesnt show as a harddrive.

  5. #5
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Have you swapped the Boot order in BIOS to point to the 1st drive you swapped out?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    elf nannyor

    I have not swapped in BIOS, but the computer boots. I mean I'm typing from my new computer right now but it wont find my SSD. Windows works fine.

  7. #7
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Quote Originally Posted by NInami View Post
    I have not swapped in BIOS, but the computer boots. I mean I'm typing from my new computer right now but it wont find my SSD. Windows works fine.
    Well that is very strange to say the least. Have you tried putting the original drive back in the primary and the new SSD as the Secondary? if not, try that and see *if* it changes anything

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Myk SilentShadow View Post
    Well that is very strange to say the least. Have you tried putting the original drive back in the primary and the new SSD as the Secondary? if not, try that and see *if* it changes anything
    Yeah alright I'll try that! Thanks

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Btw is the SATA supose to be IDE in BIOS settings or?

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    I swapped the 2 harddrives so now the SSD is in the secondary slot but didn't change anything. Windows still works fine but I still can't find the SSD on my computer.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •