Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    155

    Type of RAM does the ASUS G75 have.

    Hello guys, I was wondering what type of RAM does the Asus g75 have. Thinking about upgrading from 8gb to 16gb.

    Would these work?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820104257

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    876

    They will work, but you dont get 1600Mhz.... So if you buy them, it will get down clocked to 1333Mhz since it's in singel channel mode.
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Quote Originally Posted by fuzon1337 View Post
    They will work, but you dont get 1600Mhz.... So if you buy them, it will get down clocked to 1333Mhz since it's in singel channel mode.
    What have you got in there right now? Is it 1600, or 1333 MHz stuff? Download CPU-Z and have a look. Best to get the same stuff thats probably in there right now (under the keyboard): likely Samsung modules. They are very good and robust actually. If you buy the above Kingstons they definitely will downclock to 1333 MHz if thats what you have in your G75 already; otherwise, whether they work at 1600 MHz with existing 1600 in your G75 is spotty and a gamble.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    At that price, you cannot go wrong. The G75 is supposed to have 1600 MHz modules, so at worst they turn to 1333. 1333 is still plenty fast, so no worries there. Buy and enjoy!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Agreed with Zygo; the diff between 1333 and 1600 is unnoticeable in all but Memory benchmarks... 1333 will be ~equal to 1600 as far as games are concerned.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    233

    fuzon1337: Can you elaborate on why the memory won't run at 1600mhz if Daylife uses the Kingston sticks in his link? What about those sticks of RAM make the laptop run in single-channel mode? From the product description, those Kingston sticks run at 1600mhz and from what I understood, the stock RAM in the G75 runs at 1600mhz in dual-channel mode. So if he gets those two sticks, shouldn't the system still run at 1600mhz?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    317

    its something hard-coded into the bios. i beleave its something to do with heat. somebody else and elaborate why.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    876

    Quote Originally Posted by Cecil_2099 View Post
    fuzon1337: Can you elaborate on why the memory won't run at 1600mhz if Daylife uses the Kingston sticks in his link? What about those sticks of RAM make the laptop run in single-channel mode? From the product description, those Kingston sticks run at 1600mhz and from what I understood, the stock RAM in the G75 runs at 1600mhz in dual-channel mode. So if he gets those two sticks, shouldn't the system still run at 1600mhz?
    Okey, so I researched a little and it looks like the Ivy Bridge can handle 1600Mhz on singel channel mode.... but I don't wan to say that for sure, so if @Daylife already have 1600Mhz sticks in his notebook and upgrades with two new 1600Mhz sticks and the BIOS reports back that it runs on 1600Mhz, then the new gen cpu is impressive!

    http://ark.intel.com/products/64891/...p-to-3_60-GHz)

    The reason why I said that it would downclock to 1333Mhz in singel channel mode is becuase it's like that for the Sandy Bridge users... So if I want to have 1600Mhz in my notebook I'll have to use RAM slot 1 and 3 with 1600Mhz and then it should work. But since I have all slots in use then the CPU cant handle faster Mhz than 1333Mhz.

    http://ark.intel.com/products/52219
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    It runs in dual-channel with all 4 slots filled, just at 1333 MHz, at least my G53SX does this. ASUS basically built a multiplexer that splits the channels to two slots each. memtest86 reports it running in dual-channel mode. Only the desktops support more than dual-channel hardware, but multiple memory SODIMMs per channel is possible (and existing on ROG notebooks, as well as a few others).

    From what I can tell, the IMC--for Sandybridge--cannot handle 4 slots of 1600 MHz, but it still runs it in dual-channel mode. Like @fuzon1337 said, slots 0 & 1 are one channel and 2 & 3 are the other. Adding more--matched!--RAM should not change the channel mode, just possibly the memory frequency and timings.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    615

    Quote Originally Posted by Daylife View Post
    Hello guys, I was wondering what type of RAM does the Asus g75 have. Thinking about upgrading from 8gb to 16gb.

    Would these work?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820104257
    Probably be just fine ... I just put in 2 Samsung 4 gb 1600 in my new G75VW ... cpu z reports 800 Mhz at Dual channels so 1600 for all 4 installed ...

    I guess the G75 is better at some things than the older machines?

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •