Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    88

    Ram: 2x4gb a lot better than 1x4gb?

    Hi,

    I just took my g53sw apart and noticed that it only has 1x4gb ram. I read somewhere that it's a lot faster if you have 2 ram modules because of dual channeling (or something like that). So would I gain much performance if I put 2x4gb in it? Does it matter which 2 slots I choose?

    Thx for your answers

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,774

    You might already have another module on the other side of the motherboard (much harder to get to). How much memory does Windows say you have?
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    88

    I checked all the slots, theres only one 4gb module and thats what windows says aswell.
    Would there be a major performance increase?

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,774

    For memory intensive applications dual channel is a definite improvement over single. I'm not sure what you consider major but at least 15% and noticeable. You would also benefit from having 8GB in that your machine won't have to use the swap file nearly as much. 4GB is a bit small by today's standards because after you finish loading Windows there isn't much left free for games and other memory hogs.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    88

    Ok great I'm gonna buy a second module then, does it matter which 2 slots I use for dual channeling?

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Yes. Slots 0 & 2 are on opposite channels. The best bet, if you have the money, is to buy two sets of 2x4 GB, remove all the existing RAM, and go to 16 GB. The price would be ~$100 or less, and that way you get RAM modules that are designed to work with each other. You could get 2x4, but you would have to use the hidden slot and the lower of the two slots on the underside of the notebook.

    If the G53sw is like the G53SX, there are two RAM slots on top of each other on the underside of the notebook. The one closer to the motherboard is the other channel from the hidden slot.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    88

    Ok thx.
    The max frequency is 1333mhz for the g53 right?
    Would 2x8gb be better than 4x4gb?
    And what's a good brand for ram, at the moment I have hynix in it.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    876

    Quote Originally Posted by iluvatar View Post
    Ok thx.
    The max frequency is 1333mhz for the g53 right?
    Would 2x8gb be better than 4x4gb?
    And what's a good brand for ram, at the moment I have hynix in it.
    At 2x8GB (dual channel mode) then you can use 1600Mhz if I'm not wrong, but with 4x4GB (singel channel mode) then you can run it on 1333Mhz. This is how I have understood it by reading some post in this forum over time.

    http://www.kingston.com/datasheets/K...9S3P1K2_8G.pdf perhaps that RAM set is good enough ?
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array Zygomorphic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    176
    Posts
    4,761

    Quote Originally Posted by fuzon1337 View Post
    At 2x8GB (dual channel mode) then you can use 1600Mhz if I'm not wrong, but with 4x4GB (singel channel mode) then you can run it on 1333Mhz. This is how I have understood it by reading some post in this forum over time.

    http://www.kingston.com/datasheets/K...9S3P1K2_8G.pdf perhaps that RAM set is good enough ?
    Actually, it works in dual-channel mode, just at 1333 MHz. I have 16 (4x4) GB in my G53SX, and memtest86 says that it is running in dual-channel mode, with a clock frequency of ~660 MHz (1333). I agree, it is a trade off between capacity and speed, but as several of us noted in another thread, the difference between 1333 and 1600 MHz RAM for computer games is nil. The only place it shows up is in artificial benchmarks. Even with 1333 RAM I get an 8.4 RAM score under Windows 8.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array fuzon1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    876

    Hmm, so if you place 4GB RAM in slot 1 and 4GB RAM in slot 3 with 1600Mhz then you will not get it's readings? I know it would downclock if it doesn't support 1600Mhz
    Asus G73SW-91058V 3D
    - Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300
    - BIOS 205

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •