Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    PCH fan control and OPT fan control

    I have been reading through the manual and it says the above 2 are disabled, my first question is what is the PCH fan and
    secondly should i enable these?

    if i enable them what setting should i put them on ?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array 8 Pack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    63
    Posts
    916

    The PCH fan is the small fan on the chipset of the board. No its not necessary you enable the fan control for this or for any OPT fans. If you want to be able to control the speeds of them using bios then enable. Otherwise no need to.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Expected RPMs?

    By chance I loaded up my Probe II and noticed that this sucker is spinning at 6.5k RPM! The other fans are around 1300-1700. Is this expected? That seems awfully high and I am surprised that little guy hasn't failed out yet.

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,490

    You must be on an old BIOS!

    Later BIOS set this fan to only spin at 85 degrees...was basically turned off since it's not really needed even with minimal airflow through case.

    But yeah...it spins fast

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    WOW... yeah I have been unravelling this for the past hour. It appears that fan control was set to disabled. But I did set it to auto and now it is at 0. FWIW I am on BIOS v4804.

    So maybe you or someone else can help me. Is AI Suite necessary? The whole reason I found out about this is that I am running performance runs w/ my software and noticed my CPU is taking cycles on aaHMSSvc.exe and atkexComSvc.exe. These seem to be from this suite and I am thinking of uninstalling it altogether.

    I would say that I would do this after I update my BIOS, but now thinking about it I think doing so will erase all my settings, and I recall telling myself four years ago that I am happy with the settings.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    NEVERMIND... looks like you can disable all the services/tools from the Settings window. That's very cool and I will use that instead (doing so turns the .exes above to 0%).

    However, it would be nice to know about my understanding of upgrading the BIOS. I am under the impression that upgrading it will reset all settings, basically wiping out my overclock data.

  7. #7
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,490

    Yes, if you flash the BIOS you will wipe your settings. And transferring settings from one BIOS to another, while it works mostly, may not work entirely. Things change between BIOSes and some adjustments often have to be made.

    Not much point in updating BIOS if system is running fine...

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Great, thank you for assistance and insight, Arne. It is much appreciated!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •