Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Xonar Phoebus Audio Center force close

    Just brought my Phoebus soundcard for a week (loving it so far) messing around the setting, and i found that when I
    choose another profile in the audio center with Dolby Home Theater opened & enabled, it will force the audio center to close.
    Just want to see if anybody is experiencing this or it's just me?
    MB - Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU - I7 3930K
    RAM - Corsair Vengeance 8GB X 4 (1600Mhz)
    SSD- Plextor M5P 128GB x 2 (RAID 0)
    Graphic - Inno 3D GTX 590
    HD - WD Caviar Green 1.5TB
    PS - SilverStone 1000W
    CASE - HAF-X
    Cooling - H100
    Sound Card - Asus Xonar Phoebus

  2. #2
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Can't recall having a problem myself. I have tried most of the profiles in that GUI and never had it closing as a result. I guess it could be down to one setting over-riding the other if you are applying things from both GUIs (I was only using one at a time).

    Can you provide more specifics on which profiles, settings and what you have connected to the card etc??

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Hi Raja, thank you for the quick reply.
    It is not a specific profile causing the force close issue, it happens when I change the profile when I leave the Dolby Home Theater enabled and
    on.
    For example, I am using the music profile when I listen to music and play with the EQ in the Dolby Home Theater, then I decide to play game for
    instance, choosing the gaming profile I save, then a window will pop up (You know, the windows whenever the application is not responding).

    But if I disable or close the Dolby Home Theater before I choose another profile, it works fine.

    The setting in the audio center is untouched, only play with the EQ in the Dolby Home Theater.
    I had connected the soundcard using the 4pins molex to 6pins that came with the package.
    MB - Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU - I7 3930K
    RAM - Corsair Vengeance 8GB X 4 (1600Mhz)
    SSD- Plextor M5P 128GB x 2 (RAID 0)
    Graphic - Inno 3D GTX 590
    HD - WD Caviar Green 1.5TB
    PS - SilverStone 1000W
    CASE - HAF-X
    Cooling - H100
    Sound Card - Asus Xonar Phoebus

  4. #4
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Not seen this myself, I will try to replicate if possible. Is your system overclocked?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Yes, I am oc to 4.5ghz, not too heavy so I doubt it caused the force close.
    I think the driver got mess up or something...
    MB - Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU - I7 3930K
    RAM - Corsair Vengeance 8GB X 4 (1600Mhz)
    SSD- Plextor M5P 128GB x 2 (RAID 0)
    Graphic - Inno 3D GTX 590
    HD - WD Caviar Green 1.5TB
    PS - SilverStone 1000W
    CASE - HAF-X
    Cooling - H100
    Sound Card - Asus Xonar Phoebus

  6. #6
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    I'll try and replicate when I get back to my place and let you know.

  7. #7
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Ok I have no problems at all my end changing profiles when Dolby Home Theater and the Phoebus GUI open. I can change settings in either GUI. The settings that overlap (Xear) simply disable DHT when they are enabled. I can also change to any saved profile without errors. I think it is down to something on your system. Either down to the drivers as you suggest or the overclock.

    I am running the following in my system:

    Corsair AX 1200
    i7 3930K
    Gskill F3-17000CL7-4GBHD at DDR3-2133 (16GB kit)
    2 X GTX 460 watercooled in SLI
    1 X GTX 570 dedictaed to Physx
    Xonar ROG Phoebus using drivers on suport disc.
    Win 7 64 bit SP1

    -Raja

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Ah, I thought so too, it should be the problem of my system or drivers...
    Anyway, I want to say thank for your time and effort.
    I will try to reinstall the driver and see where it goes.
    MB - Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    CPU - I7 3930K
    RAM - Corsair Vengeance 8GB X 4 (1600Mhz)
    SSD- Plextor M5P 128GB x 2 (RAID 0)
    Graphic - Inno 3D GTX 590
    HD - WD Caviar Green 1.5TB
    PS - SilverStone 1000W
    CASE - HAF-X
    Cooling - H100
    Sound Card - Asus Xonar Phoebus

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •