Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Asus Rampage IV Formula Ram problem

    ASUS Rampage IV Formula
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4x4)

    GX Bronze 750W
    Geforce GTX Graphics Card
    2TB HDD

    so i originally upgraded my Ram from 8 to 16GB
    however my PC can only detect 8GB?

    i have update the Bios to the latest version also the Ram sticks can be seen in the Bios, BUT it only show 8GB
    A1, B1 don't show up but C1, D1 do, also the ram slot work cause i have troubleshooted it with Memtest any suggestions would
    be very helpful

    also this is a really cool site BTW.

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,413

    Hi there!

    X79 is very picky with RAM and I have to say, unfortunately, Vengeance RAM has a very dodgy track record on it. This is compounded when you try to run two different kits on the board.

    If, as you make it sound, you are trying to run two dual channel kits as a quad channel one I would be surprised if you didn't have problems. Or have you bought a single quad kit?

    Also, I have seen many times on this board that the RAM sticks can be in and the clip closed but the RAM is still not seated properly. First thing to do would be to tripple check the RAM is completely down into the slot.

    If it is all seated and memtest passes on each stick then you may need to try setting timings and voltages manually instead of running XMP.

    Could you list your exact kit(s)
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 09-05-2012 at 04:57 PM. Reason: Spelling....

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Yip this forum is full of people having issues with Vengence ram and as Arne said especially when they use two different kits, regardless if the kits are the same model.

    What you will need to do is ensure that each of the sticks of ram are working correctly at the stock and XMP profile settings. Once you have done that (memtest86+ guide is in my sig) post back here and we will try and walk you through the process of getting your ram to work. Please write down the values set in the ram tweaking section when using the XMP profile for each stick of ram. You might notice that one or more stick has a different value set in one of the timings. Also record the voltages set, VCCSA VCCIO and for the DIMMs them self.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Ram

    I have the Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 16GB (4x4)

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Good thank you, and how did the testing go that I suggested?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Ram setings in Asus SPD info

    All the Ram sticks settings are as follow

    XMP

    Frequency 1600
    Dram Voltage 1.500
    Cpu Vccsa Voltage 1.200
    Cas# Lantency 8

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    And those values are for all 4 sticks in the BIOS when you ran the XMP profile?

    And all 4 of the sticks passed 100% at least two cycles?

    And did you test each slot?

    And did you test with two then four sticks?
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •