Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Angry Extreme Z 2600K OVERCLOCKING HELP PLEASE!

    Hi guys,

    This is my first post here Basically I cant get a stable 4.5ghz. Im currently at 4.2 with pretty much everything at else at stock settings and its going good after running prime for about 15mins. When at 4.5ghz windows kept freezing up. I had the voltages at around 1.35 and still could not get a stable setting.

    Im really new to overclocking and was wondering if you guys could please help me out Im a noob.

    Also temps at 4.2ghz are around 34-37c idle and 64-67c Load. I was getting some pretty high temps at 4.5 around 74c at load.

    Any help is appreciated

    PC SPECS:
    Maximus IV Extreme-Z
    Intel 2600k
    EVGA GTX 580 SC SLI
    Corsair H70
    16GB CORSAIR VENGENCE
    WD BLACK 2TB
    OCZ AGILITY 3 60GB
    CoolerMaster HAF X
    1200w PSU

  2. #2
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    Drop the vcore voltage and increase the VCCSA and VCCIO slightly, this should help more. They do NOT need anywhere near as much as the vcore. What about the VRM Frequency - did you set it to high or extreme?

    What is your memory running at too? All in spec? You need to make sure its voltage and timings are all set correctly.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by MarshallR@ASUS View Post
    Drop the vcore voltage and increase the VCCSA and VCCIO slightly, this should help more. They do NOT need anywhere near as much as the vcore. What about the VRM Frequency - did you set it to high or extreme?

    What is your memory running at too? All in spec? You need to make sure its voltage and timings are all set correctly.
    Thanks for the reply What should I have the vcore around in your opinion? also I have never touched VCCSA and VCCIO so i dont know exactly what to do :S

    I set my memory to 9 9 9 24 2 and set the voltage to 1.45 if thats what your talking about hopefully that was the right thing to as you can tell im am very new at this so detailed information would help alot
    Last edited by Greaza; 06-08-2012 at 08:46 AM.

  4. #4
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750


  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by MarshallR@ASUS View Post
    Running prime now fingers crossed its stable. If I do happen to get a freeze or BSOD how much should I increase the VCORE?
    Also my temps are 34c Idle and currently 65-67 load.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Ok I think its stable. Ran prime for an hour with no problems
    Temps around 68-69c....

    Should I try decreasing the vcore any more ?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Steel getting crashes and bsod.....I really cant get this to work

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •