Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Installing second HDD

    Hello all,

    I've been lurking through these forums for a while and have found a lot of valuable information. So I'd like to say thanks for that first.

    I have a G73JH (Best Buy) and I just recently bought a Momentus XT to use as a second hard drive for my laptop. Actually, I want to use it as the primary drive to boot the OS off of. I've installed it into the 2nd bay but the computer doesn't seem to recognize it. When I look at my hardware under device manager it shows 2 hard disk drives but if I go to 'Computer' in Windows Explorer it doesn't show up. Just the current drive that I've been using and the DVD drive.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Nevermind...got it figured out. I forgot I had to initialize the drive. Works now!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Keith Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    7

    I would still make the momentus the main hdd if you plan on doing any kind of gaming. The 640gb it comes with is beyond noisy and slow.
    ASUS G73JH

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Yeah, I'm running the Momentus XT as the main HDD. Working beautiful as of the moment...nice to have both hard drive bays being used as well. Good thing they finally started selling those hard drive caddies through the ASUS store

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I'm having an identical problem. How do you initialize a drive?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    2,916

    Quote Originally Posted by grifmoney View Post
    I'm having an identical problem. How do you initialize a drive?
    Select it in Windows DIsk Management, right-click and select "Initialize disk."

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-17-2013, 03:05 AM
  2. Installing Solid State into an Asus G73
    By AgentArrow in forum ROG Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-24-2011, 01:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •