Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    CPU Fan Header Issue - Rampage IV Extreme

    Hi there everyone. Second issue with the Rampage IV Extreme.

    I've got a Swiftech H20-320 Edge HD Watercooling kit set up in my system with an ASUS Rampage IV Extreme, Intel Core i7 3930k and 16GB of G.Skill Ripjawz Z Memory.

    Just to clear this up, the Watercooler pump has two cables. One runs to a 4 Pin Molex connector for power, and the other is a 4 pin fan header connection that plugs into the CPU_Fan header to allow the motherboard to control the pump speed.

    All was running fine until last night while I was running a Prime95 Torture test. Then all of a sudden the pump appeared to have cut out. So i switched the system off, made sure everything was plugged in correctly, made sure nothing had blow, or burnt out, etc. Turned the system back on, and discovered the CPU_Fan header has stopped working entirely. If I plug the connector into it, for the pump or any fan at all, the fan will always run at the lowest possible speed. If I unplug the connector for the pump, it kicks right up to 100% and stays there. I've tried a full BIOS reset (Unplug everything, take out CMOS battery, leave for 12 hours) and that hasn't solved anything.

    Any help is appreciated, I know that this isn't explained very well, and if anything needs further clarifying just ask.

    Kind regards,
    Swi7chblade

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,412

    Well, if a fan will still run then it hasn't stopped working entirely. I would make sure you have the latest BIOS first. Also I can't remember if there is a setting to disable dynamic fan control (essentially just run at full). If there is then I'd see what that does.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Well, if a fan will still run then it hasn't stopped working entirely. I would make sure you have the latest BIOS first. Also I can't remember if there is a setting to disable dynamic fan control (essentially just run at full). If there is then I'd see what that does.
    Tried the latest BIOS, and earlier. Disabled Q-Fan control, still the same result. Before the issue started, if I disabled the Q-Fan control it would run at full.

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Hmm, have you tried the other BIOS chip? or plugging the pump into any other fan header like the cpu opt one to find if the result is the same?
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 07-05-2012 at 07:24 PM. Reason: spelling!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    Check the wires of the 4pin fan header. I wonder if the control wire has not shifted a little or burnt out.
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Hmm, have you tried the other BIOS chip? or plugging the pump into any other fan header like the cpu opt one to find if the result is the same?
    Yeah I've tried the other BIOS chip, still the same result. And also yes, tried another header. If I plug it into the CPU_Opt, same result. If I plug it into any other header it works like it should. Or at least works like the header is configured to work in the BIOS.


    Quote Originally Posted by HiVizMan View Post
    Check the wires of the 4pin fan header. I wonder if the control wire has not shifted a little or burnt out.
    Checked that, the wires and connectors are all aligned and in order. No burnt spots or smell of smoke at the time.

  7. #7
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    Sounds like something has shorted/failed in the CPU header circuit if you are sure BIOS has been reset to defaults/and/or not set up wrong etc. You would have to inspect all the capacitors etc. to see if there is anything visible....

    No software that could do this right?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Sounds like something has shorted/failed in the CPU header circuit if you are sure BIOS has been reset to defaults/and/or not set up wrong etc. You would have to inspect all the capacitors etc. to see if there is anything visible....

    No software that could do this right?
    Nothing was visible at all, nothing seemed shorted or broken. However I returned the board to the place of purchase and got it swapped on the spot. New one is working like a charm with nothing wrong at all. I have no idea what caused this, but I'm going to keep a careful eye on it from now on.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •