Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    131

    NVIDIDA GTX 660m overclock core +135 limit

    So, I've noticed that the limit is set by the vbios. Can anyone change the vbios into a modified one and increase the limit?

    I feel like I can push my GTX 660m's core to at least +300s, if not more.

    I don't know why nvidia set such a limit, especially when the GT 650m can overclock just as much and is nearly identical in performance if not better as the GTX 660m.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    69

    That is interesting to know.

    I know there are utilities that can allow you to flash vbios, but someone would have specifically had to have written a fix for the 660m.

    It is interesting that 100+ doesn't change thermals at all, for core and memory.
    G75VW-BBK5
    i7
    8 GB
    660m

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    10

    Yes the thermals on my G55 is fantastic, with +135OC (+300 Mem) I barely push past 75 celsius when playing Skyrim. Love it.

    I'd like to see what the 660M is capable of though, and it's a shame the vBios is stopping us from OCing further,

    However! I just stumbled upon this:
    http://forum.techinferno.com/general...weaks-etc.html

    It's just troubling me that he hasn't gotten any replies aside from a "thanks".
    Have anyone tried this, or a similar VBIOS flash?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    131

    Well, he did post that just yesterday, and I tried commenting on it, but my comment has to be approved by an admin first since I'm newly registered. Do you think a DELL vbios would work on ours?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    10

    Proch. risoryb

    That's exactly why I haven't tried it out yet.
    For example is the VBIOS configured for Optimus on Dell and as such will mess with our hardware? I don't know these things, so it'd be awesome if someone who did would chime in...
    Proud owner of the ASUS G55wv
    Former proud owner of the ASUS G1Sn.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    131

    Can someone give them a dumped vbios from our G55s? I don't know how to do it..

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    10

    GPU-Z tells me "BIOS reading isn't supported on this device", I'm going to try nvflash and see if that'll work.

    E: nvflash says a driver error occurs, and I have a feeling it's because I've updated to stock Nvidia 304.79 drivers.
    I don't know if I can be bothered rolling back to the ASUS ones just for this..

    Anyway doing what he wants you to is very easy:
    Downlaod this:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads..._ROG_Skin.html

    Launch it, and when it asks whether to just launch once or install, pick the one you want

    Once in the program, next to the "BIOS Version" box, there's a small icon, click it and select save to file.

    Voila

    Edit 2: I attached a screenshot of my GPU-Z, see if that's worth anything to him.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos GPUZ.JPG  

    Last edited by HrKristian; 07-25-2012 at 11:45 PM.
    Proud owner of the ASUS G55wv
    Former proud owner of the ASUS G1Sn.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Check out this forum:

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/idea...ml#post8700344

    There is a way to pass the 135Mhz limit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •