cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G75VW-BBK5 SSD upgrade help.

dmoon723
Level 8
I know there are guides everywhere, but I'm still slightly confused, and feel the need to have my hand held through this process. I'm still very new to the PC world, so bear with me.

I'm getting a Crucial M4 128gb SSD in the mail later this week, and plan to make it the primary drive for my BBK5 (1TB).

So far, I have:
-Removed Asus Live Update Utility
-Updated to the latest AI Recovery
-Removed several pre-loaded apps, and installed several others
-Made myself a set of recovery DVDs

...in that order.

Can someone give me a list of steps to do a clean factory install on my new SSD, and make my HDD a secondary? I don't care if I lose programs, I can re-download them. The DVDs I burned through AI Recovery make this possible, correct?

Thank you.
9 REPLIES 9

xXx
Level 10
Just use Arconis and clone the disc. I have a G74SX and cloned my drive to a cosair GT 240 and it worked fine. No hassel , no fuss.
4 GHz 4790K i7@ 4.6GHz (1.18v) , 16GB DDR3 1866 MHz Dominator GT , Asus Maximus VI Formula Motherboard , Cosair GT 240 GB ( Boot )
Obsidian Series 650D Mid-Tower Case , Asus GTX 680, LG Blu -Ray combo , Cosair HX 1000 PSU , Custom water loop.( EK and Rasa )

While cloning does work for SSD's (as with all drives) that is a practice you do not want to do with 1st time OS installs on an SSD (unless it's from one SSD cloned to another SSD). Reason being you will not get the best read/write speeds possible from your SSD.