Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Question Xoticpc already deletes asus live update?

    I just received my G75 rs72 today and I was going through my checklist of things to do and I could not find the Asus Live Update Utility anywhere. So I am curious to see if anyone else has had this happen to them. Or maybe I am just dumb and am looking in the wrong place.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I got mine from them too and they deleted all the asus bloatware, I didn't even pay for that service. I think they also deleted the factory default backup, check if they did it to you too.

  3. #3
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    If they removed the factory backup that's an issue as F9 won't work. I hope they still give you recovery discs or something.

    Does everything work out the box without the ASUS stuff? You'll need the ATK package at least afaik.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by ChoaticRobotic View Post
    I got mine from them too and they deleted all the asus bloatware, I didn't even pay for that service. I think they also deleted the factory default backup, check if they did it to you too.
    From the looks of it they did delete most of the bloatware and the default backup. I did not actually realize how much there was until I looked up what bloatware it comes with. I guess it saves me some time.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by MarshallR@ASUS View Post
    If they removed the factory backup that's an issue as F9 won't work. I hope they still give you recovery discs or something.

    Does everything work out the box without the ASUS stuff? You'll need the ATK package at least afaik.
    Yea, they kept the ATK package for the function keys. Everything seems to be working fine as of right now... I guess i'll hope for the best in the next few weeks to see if everything is still running good. And no I did not get any recovery disks.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I didn't get any recovery discs either. Runs good though!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Woots's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    176

    If you guys don't get a backup you can always using a cloning backup tool which will give you greater and cleaner control ultimately anyway.

    I highly recommend you backup an image early into the life of your clean OS install that way if you need to recover in the future, you can recover in as "pristine" of an OS state as possible.

    My personal favorite the last couple years has been Acronis True Image
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing...cts/trueimage/

    Here is a site listing their picks for top 10 image backup softwares.
    http://disk-imaging-software-review.toptenreviews.com/


    If money is a little tight you can use the windows built in tool as a last case backup.
    This is the method here
    http://www.howtogeek.com/?post_type=post&p=4241



  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    317

    i actualy got one of the first g75 out from them. i still have my recovery part ion. but don't have the bloakware.
    G75vw DS71
    3610QM I7
    16GB Ram 1600mhz
    750GB+120GB(patriot pyro)
    Nvidia gtx 660m
    Purple Keyboard mod
    Proud Owner of a GTX 660ti DC-II

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •