Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Shot my self in the foot (figuratively), please help.

    Noobie here, I know just enough to be dangerous and realize I screwed myself by trying to wing it, please be gentle. Bought a rig from Xtreme Gear here are the specs:

    Intel(R) Core™ i7-3820 Quad-Core 3.60 GHz 10MB Intel Smart Cache LGA2011
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79 Chipset
    16GB (2GBx8) DDR3/2000MHz Quad Channel Memory
    2x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 4GB 16X PCIe 3.0 Video Card [+128] (EVGA Superclocked)
    1,200 Watts - Thermaltake TP-1200M ToughPower Modular
    4x 120GB Corsair Force GT Series RAID 0+1
    2x 2TB Raid 1
    27" ASUS VG Series VG278H Black
    Microsoft(R) Windows 7 Ultimate x64



    As you can see I bought this system with the 4 SSD's in a RAID 0+1 and the 2 spinners in a RAID 1. After I hooked it up I was doing a clean install of Windows 7 ( clean slate and all, hate any bloat), at the point where it showed my partitions and asked where I wanted to install windows I picked the SSD RAID array as my OS drive. Windows says it can't find any partition to install the OS to and that I need to create one. I tried to do that but it says I'm missing drivers and I don't know where to find them. Then my lovely 2 year old scares the bejeezzus out of me as I'm typing and I accidentally deleted one of the partions. So I start surfing forums to try and learn about different kinds of RAID arrays (0, 1, 0+1, 5, 10) and partitions. I have the very tentative grasp on what I have been reading. I have been reading about different BIOS versions and AHCI and RAID and most of it doesn't make sense to me. So I have decided to start all the way over from square one and hope that you fine people are in a patient and generous mood.

    I believe that my SSD's are still in a RAID 0 because it shows 2 drives at a little less than 240GB. The 2 spinners are showing as 2 separate drives both a little under 2TB. I need to get the 4 SSDs back into RAID 0+1 with OS installed and the spinners back to RAID 1. I have basic knowledge and have jumped into the deep end of the pool, need some help to keep my head above water. I appreciate any help forthcoming.
    Last edited by soulja11c; 07-19-2012 at 08:04 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,632

    Hi there! Here are a couple of good links that might help you get back up and running...

    http://rog.asus.com/77402012/rampage...d-setup-guide/

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1156654/s...#post_15521910

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Thanks brotha, checkin it out now.
    Intel(R) Core™ i7-3820 Quad-Core 3.60 GHz 10MB Intel Smart Cache LGA2011
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79 Chipset
    16GB (2GBx8) DDR3/2000MHz Quad Channel Memory
    2x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 4GB 16X PCIe 3.0 Video Card [+128] (EVGA Superclocked)
    1,200 Watts - Thermaltake TP-1200M ToughPower Modular
    4x 120GB Corsair Force GT Series RAID 0+1
    2x Seagate Baracuda 2TB HDD Raid 1
    27" ASUS VG Series VG278H Black
    Microsoft(R) Windows 7 Ultimate x64

  4. #4
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    362

    Hiya soulja11c
    Just stopping by to welcome you to our forum i really enjoyed reading your 1st post xxx

    Lots of love Kaitlin Rog Princess.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    OK, got both of the RAID arrays reconfigured, those guides were perfect, thank you. Now I have another problem. Using the guide I downloaded all the drivers from the ASUS Support site. When I tried to install Win 7 my neither of my arrays are showing up. I chose LOAD DRIVERS and pointed it to the drivers I got from ASUS. Then I get an error saying that says that my drivers aren't signed. Where do I get signed drivers?

    Also, appreciate the welcome DARK.
    Intel(R) Core™ i7-3820 Quad-Core 3.60 GHz 10MB Intel Smart Cache LGA2011
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79 Chipset
    16GB (2GBx8) DDR3/2000MHz Quad Channel Memory
    2x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 4GB 16X PCIe 3.0 Video Card [+128] (EVGA Superclocked)
    1,200 Watts - Thermaltake TP-1200M ToughPower Modular
    4x 120GB Corsair Force GT Series RAID 0+1
    2x Seagate Baracuda 2TB HDD Raid 1
    27" ASUS VG Series VG278H Black
    Microsoft(R) Windows 7 Ultimate x64

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,632

    One thing...when you install windows, disconnect everything except the array to which you are installing otherwise Windows will install a small partition to the other array. How are you installing windows... from a CD or do you have SP1 version on pen-drive? (latter probably better)

    This is a good resource for the latest drivers... http://www.overclock.net/t/1193055/a...g-updated-6-22

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Yeah, I'm using the disc. Tried to make a bootable USB with Win 7 usb/dvd tool, but kept getting a bootsect error. Tried to fix it with a few tutorials but no matter how I added it still wouldn't work. As far as disconnecting the two spinners, little nervous about that. Just spent $4600 on this rig and I'm not knowledgeable or confident enough to start messing around in it's guts. Been trying to work up the courage to try and build one but would rather start small like a Home Server for my first DIY. Gonna try your link and see if those drivers work. Thanks brotha.
    Intel(R) Core™ i7-3820 Quad-Core 3.60 GHz 10MB Intel Smart Cache LGA2011
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79 Chipset
    16GB (2GBx8) DDR3/2000MHz Quad Channel Memory
    2x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 4GB 16X PCIe 3.0 Video Card [+128] (EVGA Superclocked)
    1,200 Watts - Thermaltake TP-1200M ToughPower Modular
    4x 120GB Corsair Force GT Series RAID 0+1
    2x Seagate Baracuda 2TB HDD Raid 1
    27" ASUS VG Series VG278H Black
    Microsoft(R) Windows 7 Ultimate x64

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I extracted the drivers from the link you gave me but when I try and point the installation at them it says there are no compatible drivers.
    Intel(R) Core™ i7-3820 Quad-Core 3.60 GHz 10MB Intel Smart Cache LGA2011
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79 Chipset
    16GB (2GBx8) DDR3/2000MHz Quad Channel Memory
    2x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 4GB 16X PCIe 3.0 Video Card [+128] (EVGA Superclocked)
    1,200 Watts - Thermaltake TP-1200M ToughPower Modular
    4x 120GB Corsair Force GT Series RAID 0+1
    2x Seagate Baracuda 2TB HDD Raid 1
    27" ASUS VG Series VG278H Black
    Microsoft(R) Windows 7 Ultimate x64

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    Quote Originally Posted by soulja11c View Post
    I extracted the drivers from the link you gave me but when I try and point the installation at them it says there are no compatible drivers.
    I was having the same problem getting Windows 7 to recognize my RAID array. I was using a Windows 7 disc without service pack 1. Once I switched to my Windows 7 disc that included SP1, my array showed up using the drivers from Intel's website.
    i7-3930k
    Rampage IV Extreme
    Corsiar 16gb 2133mhz CMT16GX3M4X2133C9
    GTX 680 x 2 SLI
    Corsair AX850
    Mushkin MKNSSDCR120GB x2 RAID0

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by NickH View Post
    I was having the same problem getting Windows 7 to recognize my RAID array. I was using a Windows 7 disc without service pack 1. Once I switched to my Windows 7 disc that included SP1, my array showed up using the drivers from Intel's website.
    The disc that I am using has SP1 included. Still no joy.
    Intel(R) Core™ i7-3820 Quad-Core 3.60 GHz 10MB Intel Smart Cache LGA2011
    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Intel X79 Chipset
    16GB (2GBx8) DDR3/2000MHz Quad Channel Memory
    2x NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 4GB 16X PCIe 3.0 Video Card [+128] (EVGA Superclocked)
    1,200 Watts - Thermaltake TP-1200M ToughPower Modular
    4x 120GB Corsair Force GT Series RAID 0+1
    2x Seagate Baracuda 2TB HDD Raid 1
    27" ASUS VG Series VG278H Black
    Microsoft(R) Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •