cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SSD is not detected

DnBVince
Level 7
Hi,
I just build a new rig with the maximus V formula, and the SSD (crucial m4 128gb) is not detected!
I tried to plug it to the intel z77 6gb/s port, nothing, then the Asmedia 6gb/s port, then tried the intel 3gb/s port, all with appropriate cables, and nothing. The dvd drive is detected, my old HDD is also detected. Windows 7 does load, and is ready to install. I also tried to see if the ssd would be detected by my older motherboard, and nothing. I dunno if I'm supposed to jump to conclusion and claim that the ssd is not working at all. Or maybe I should try to update the firmware? But I mean... it's not detected. Crucial claimed I should try to update it anyway. It's my first time using an ssd... any of you guys happen to be in the same situation or can help?
Thanks!!
Asus Maximus V formula
Intel i7 3770K 3.50 ghz
Corsair Dominator 2x4Gb 1600 mhz
Asus GTX 670 TOP
Crucial SSD m4 128Gb
Corsair 650D
Corsair profesionnal 650W
7 REPLIES 7

HiVizMan
Level 40
Hello

This is going to be a stupid question but hey let me ask it.

How are you deciding if your SSD is detected or not? Are you looking in the BIOS? Or in OS?

Does the Disc management see your SSD?

Go to control panel, type disc management in the search area. Click on the application and if your SSD is picked up you can then set it as active.
To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

Well it's not detected in the BIOS, and when I booted with the win 7 cd at first, I couldn't install it anywhere, since the ssd was not detected!
Asus Maximus V formula
Intel i7 3770K 3.50 ghz
Asus GTX 670 TOP
Crucial SSD m4 128Gb
Corsair 650D

HiVizMan
Level 40
Ah thanks.