Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    24

    Difference BIOS ver. 207 & 210, Worth the upgrade?

    Greetings All,
    I was wondering if anyone has upgraded from BIOS ver. 207 to 210 and is it worth it?
    Thabjs

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    The only time I ever see a BIOD update as worth it, is if I'm having issues. I'm still running 206 and I'm happy as pie. No need to risk bricking it over nothing
    Laptop - ASUS G751 | 4710 | 24GB RAM | 980M 4GB | Samsung 256GB PCIe SSD | Matte 1920X1080 IPS | Win 10 64
    Work - HP 640Z | 6 Core 1650v4 @ 4.0 | 128GB RAM | GTX 1080 | Intel 512GB PCI-E SSD | 7680X1200 (4 24" IPS Displays)
    Perifs - Logitech G502 + G933 | Razer Blackwidow Chroma | Beyerdynamic DT 1770 250 oHm | Schiit Lyr and Bifrost | Everki Black Beacon
    My Portfolio Site - www.amorton.com

  3. #3
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    192

    for me, when there is a BIOS update, it's like breathing new life into my computer and I update right away!

    Updating ASUS notebooks is the easiest way in any other laptop through the Easy Flash in BIOS

    this 210 BIOS has updated VGA BIOS + better Turbo Boost throttling!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    What will it get me? I don't throttle at all now.
    Laptop - ASUS G751 | 4710 | 24GB RAM | 980M 4GB | Samsung 256GB PCIe SSD | Matte 1920X1080 IPS | Win 10 64
    Work - HP 640Z | 6 Core 1650v4 @ 4.0 | 128GB RAM | GTX 1080 | Intel 512GB PCI-E SSD | 7680X1200 (4 24" IPS Displays)
    Perifs - Logitech G502 + G933 | Razer Blackwidow Chroma | Beyerdynamic DT 1770 250 oHm | Schiit Lyr and Bifrost | Everki Black Beacon
    My Portfolio Site - www.amorton.com

  5. #5
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    192

    Quote Originally Posted by Almost Tactful View Post
    What will it get me? I don't throttle at all now.
    It enhanced the Turbo Boost I now get all the way up to 3.27 GHz. on High Performance on some apps that use a single core whereas before I only maxed out @ 3 Ghz. or 3.10 Ghz.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array mrwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    657

    Hmm are you sure that is attributed towards the BIOS version..? Ive got BIOS 207 and ive seen mine go up to 3.20
    I think it might be more due to the latest chipset drivers..
    Either way the decision is up to you.. It doesnt look too complicated either when you look at Maximus's instructions.
    For those of you who want to update go here: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

    The only reason i havnt yet is because i dont have a FAT16 usb flash disk :s

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Bundy_Drop_Bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    280

    @ Mrwolf I read in another BIOS update post that FAT and FAT16 are the same thing so formatting a USB to just FAT will (should )work.
    I think it was MaXimus711 was the one who posed it.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    691

    Guys, the CPU will go to a max of 3.3Ghz, but it's not in fixed steps and it's on demand. If you really want to see that it goes to the max value of one core, just keep an eye on it for a few minutes with High performance active.

    You do not need BIOS or anything else. This is already in the CPU. This is mine:


  9. #9
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    192

    Quote Originally Posted by mrwolf View Post
    Hmm are you sure that is attributed towards the BIOS version..? Ive got BIOS 207 and ive seen mine go up to 3.20
    I think it might be more due to the latest chipset drivers..
    Either way the decision is up to you.. It doesnt look too complicated either when you look at Maximus's instructions.
    For those of you who want to update go here: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

    The only reason i havnt yet is because i dont have a FAT16 usb flash disk :s
    FAT is the same thing as FAT16 and should work just fine!

    Alternatively, there are hundreds of free tools online that can format in FAT16 (and the name appears as FAT16)

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    691

    I've done a lot of BIOS updates with WinFLash and I had no problems at all.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •