Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    G74SX-3de RAM Upgrade to 32gb

    Good Morning Ladies and Gents:

    I bring before your infinite wisdom of the ROG Notebooks since it would surely surpass my own.

    I recently purchased 32gigs of DDR3 PC1333 ram to install into my laptop G74SX-3DE.
    Upon installation the laptop refused to boot to the bios and continue.

    Is there a way to get this laptop to take the 32gigs of ram considering that 64bit operating systems are designed to take and utilize 32gigs?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    DDR3 1333 MHz is the correct term you should use. The PC acronym will tell you what type of 1333 ram. For instance, you could have DDR3 1333 MHz (PC 10600). I would suggest putting the old RAM back in and going to crucial.com. Run their scanner and make sure you bought the right type of RAM. Sounds to me like you may have bought an unsupported type, which would cause your machine to not boot into anything at all.

  3. #3
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,754

    First let me point out that Windows 7 Home Premium only supports 16GB so unless you upgrade the OS half of that would be unusable anyway. If you do have a Pro or Ultimate upgrade then the next step would be to try the sticks one at a time to see if one or more of them is faulty. If they all POST individually then I would run memtest86 on them one at a time as perhaps they are borderline.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Grab http://www.memtest.org/download/4.20...+-4.20.iso.zip and burn image to CD. Put in the sticks two at a time (for dual channel operation, which is how you would normally want to be running them) and test for a minimum of three passes. If *any* errors are found (even one) switch out one stick and test again. Continue until you have narrowed which stick(s) has/have bad ICs. Sticks with errors must be RMA'ed with the manufacturer, and identifying the problem sticks makes the RMA go much more quickly.

    The G74 can definitely handle 32GB: I have been running 32GB for 8 months now in my G74SX and hammer all 32 GB pretty hard in my daily usage, with never a single problem seen.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by fostert View Post
    Grab http://www.memtest.org/download/4.20...+-4.20.iso.zip and burn image to CD. Put in the sticks two at a time (for dual channel operation, which is how you would normally want to be running them) and test for a minimum of three passes. If *any* errors are found (even one) switch out one stick and test again. Continue until you have narrowed which stick(s) has/have bad ICs. Sticks with errors must be RMA'ed with the manufacturer, and identifying the problem sticks makes the RMA go much more quickly.

    The G74 can definitely handle 32GB: I have been running 32GB for 8 months now in my G74SX and hammer all 32 GB pretty hard in my daily usage, with never a single problem seen.


    Hi Fostert,

    Would like to know what type and what brand of 32gb rams you use in your g74sx? please give link to the rams? is it possible to use high performance rams on G74sx??

    Cheers
    Pizzazz

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array fostert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Reputation
    54
    Posts
    706

    Quote Originally Posted by Pizzazz View Post
    Hi Fostert,

    Would like to know what type and what brand of 32gb rams you use in your g74sx? please give link to the rams? is it possible to use high performance rams on G74sx??

    Cheers
    Pizzazz
    I have four sticks of Corsair (CMSO8GX3M1A1333C9) 1x8GB DDR3-1333 MHz 9-9-9-24 204 pin. See (for example) http://ncix.com/products/?sku=64472&...acture=Corsair
    which is where I purchased them from (see also http://www.corsair.com/en/memory/lap...m1a1333c9.html). Works outstandingly well in my G74, and has been going strong in there for 9 months now. Linux flourishes with 32GB. Will never need a memory upgrade again.

    It is possible to use high-performance RAM on the G74; however, you will be limited to using 2x4GB=8GB total. For some reason the ASUS BIOS cripples the G74's ability to use 4 sticks of 1600 or even 1866 MHZ RAM, which the Intel Sandy Bridge chip's memory controller can handle without breaking a sweat. Despite many, many voices on this forum begging them, ASUS has not released an updated BIOS to fix this or other problems (e.g. the numlock issue) since October of last year. Sigh.

    Performance RAM is mostly gimmick and gives essentially no advantage using real-world applications over regular 1333MHz DDR3. Its really just for overclockers and those into competitive benchmarking; since benchmarks test RAM *specifically* for things such as clock speed and CAS latency timings, of course, performance RAM boosts your scores. Trust an old overclocker: I went from 1333 CL9 to 1600 CL7 sticks in my desktop, and saw d**k all in gains, even in some of the benchmarks I used. I have since wised-up. You can't overlock the G74 (again, a crippled BIOS limitation), so my advice: don't waste your money on anything but 1333MHz RAM in your G74. You might as well light cigars with paper $.
    Last edited by fostert; 09-03-2012 at 05:20 AM.
    --
    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array dstrakele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    4,437

    +1 @fosert! A "must read" post if you are planning a RAM Upgrade...
    G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •