Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Power question

  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    136

    Power question

    On my RIVE I have the 24 pin power hookup. On the top of board I have the 8 pin power. Should I also hook up the 4 pin next to it?

    Without it seems to be running fine but hooking it up gain me anything? I can do it easy since I have room to wire it.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Comunist Array Dartmaul PC Specs
    Dartmaul PC Specs
    MotherboardRIVE
    Processor4930k
    Memory (part number)F3-19200CL9Q-16GBZMD \ F3-17600CL7Q-8GBPIS
    Graphics Card #1R9 290X
    Graphics Card #2R9 290X
    Sound CardXonar DX
    MonitorDell U2913WM + 3 x Asus VW225N (Eyefinity)
    Storage #12 x Samsung 850 Pro 512GB (RAID0)
    Storage #24 x Seagate ST1000DM003 (RAID0)
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU-370SI LGA2011
    CaseLD PC-V4 Black
    Power SupplyOCZ ZX 1250W
    Keyboard Logitech G11, G13, G710, Steelseries 6Gv2, Func KB-460 (red)
    Mouse Roccat Kone, Kone XTD, Kone XTD Optical, Func MS-3
    Headset Roccat Kave, Func HS-260
    Mouse Pad Steelseries SX. Roccat Raivo, Siru, Apuri, Func F-10L, 1030XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win 7/8.1/10
    Network RouterTP-Link N600
    Dartmaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    67
    Posts
    836

    8 and 4 power pins are both for CPU. Use 8-pin it's better.
    (actually don't know why there's 4-pin on this board when you can plug 4-pin cable into 8-pin slot but anyway)

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array InnervateD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    205

    I'm pretty sure the 4Pin is there to stabalize and add additional power if needed for Overclocks and the over all power usage of the motherboard for say a fully loaded board with all it's connections maxed out. In the manual it states it recommends both 4 and 8pins to be plugged in or your system will not boot, but I think that's more to make sure all your bases are covered. I would just plug it in.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array 8 Pack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    63
    Posts
    916

    Hook up both!!

    The power draw is then shared evenly across all the fets and then more stable power is applied. Spreading the load makes sense!!!!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    136

    Interesting. My manual says use 8 pin or 4.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    878

    If you want to used the oc setting,i suggest hoop up both...

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,358

    By connecting both the 8 and 4 pins, you will stabilize the power... it won't draw more juice than it needs anyway...

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    136

    Ok. I will do it.

    Quote Originally Posted by SUKARA@ASUS View Post
    If you want to used the oc setting,i suggest hoop up both...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •