Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 54
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array n113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    hi-5 doncker... hahah...
    RIVE || 3930k @ 4.5 (-offset 0.010) || Vengeance 1866 4x4 || STRIX GTX980 || H100i GTX || CM pro-gold800w || 2x HyperX 3k 120GB || 750D af || awful cable management

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Anyway if you stay on Win 7 may be you don't need the convert your bios. So no riskssss

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array n113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    roger that... thanks doncker...
    RIVE || 3930k @ 4.5 (-offset 0.010) || Vengeance 1866 4x4 || STRIX GTX980 || H100i GTX || CM pro-gold800w || 2x HyperX 3k 120GB || 750D af || awful cable management

  4. #24
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Bios update help...

    Heya guys,

    Lets get this right out there in the front and center - I have no clue what I am doing..... phew that needed to be said...

    So here we go:-

    I had some spare chedda to burn and as my old pc was well - old!! I decided to build a new rig myself (specs below) I knew it was going to be a challenge but as i heard on YouTube somewhere building a new rig is like Lego for adults so I dived right in...

    Everything went great although it took me hours to put together partly because it was new to me and partly because I would read the instruction manual several times to make sure, I installed windows 8 64bit and all was right with the world although every disk that came packaged with all the components was out of date

    My question is this:-

    1) My current bios is 1404 and the current ver available is 3404 is it a requirement to update? if so then do I follow the procedure as indicated in the vid posted at the beginning of this thread? and having copied the files Rampage-IV-Extreme-CAP-Converter.ROM and Rampage-IV-Extreme-ASUS-3404.CAP to a USB can I insert the USB into any USB port or does it have to be the specified Bios USB port?

    2) I have 32GB 2133MHz RAM - Corsair Dominator Platinum installed but it shows up as 1333MHz in bios - what can I do to solve this?

    PC Specs-

    Corsair 800D Obsidian
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    Intel 3970X
    Corsair H100i
    Corsair AX1200i
    Asus Geforce 690
    Asus Xonar Phoebus
    Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB 2133MHz
    2x Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB
    1x Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB
    1x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
    Corsair K90
    Razer Mamba 2012 wireless

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array n113's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    65

    im not a pro, but try this... go to BIOS, set the [Ai Overclock Tuner] to MANUAL, then set the [Memory Frequency] to XMP.. (guys, plz tell me if im wrong).. by the way Exodus, your pc specs are BEAST...
    RIVE || 3930k @ 4.5 (-offset 0.010) || Vengeance 1866 4x4 || STRIX GTX980 || H100i GTX || CM pro-gold800w || 2x HyperX 3k 120GB || 750D af || awful cable management

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    86

    Hey guys i was just trolling on the thread as im trying to gather information on my new build i just put together last night but due to work havent got any further yet. I will be using windows 7 and i believe my board shipped with bios 1202 for some reason and will need a huge update. The question is with using windows 7 will i need to do the converter first then the bios update or is that just for windows 8 users? I want to ensure this build is stable as possible and get the full functionality out of the build with no issues. I watched the video and its great someone posted it but i will say you move through the process so quick its really hard to see what your doing and where your going. I think if you narrated the video and did it much slower so people can ensure where there going and doing leaving little room for mistakes would be great.

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Lokiey View Post
    using windows 7 will i need to do the converter first then the bios update or is that just for windows 8 users?
    I have the same question myself. I hope some Asus Staff member can answer that for us.

  8. #28
    ROG Member Array Fieldsweeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Is this necessary? I have a board I bought about a month ago.?

  9. #29
    Super Moderator - Coderat Array Nodens PC Specs
    Nodens PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS GL702VW-GC004T
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel 3930K C2
    Memory (part number)CMZ16GX3M4X2133C11
    Graphics Card #1ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
    MonitorASUS VG278H
    Storage #13x OCZ Vertex 3 240 (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    Storage #23x WD2003FYYS (RAID5 - LSI 9361-8i)
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i + 4x Noctua NF-P12
    CaseCoolermaster HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-1250
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterLinksys E4200v2 (running TomatoUSB/Toastman firmware)
    Nodens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    4,388

    If your board has a 1xxx version UEFI and you want to upgrade to 3xxx or 2xxx versions, you must use this procedure first.
    RAMPAGE Windows 8/7 UEFI Installation Guide - Patched OROM for TRIM in RAID - Patched UEFI GOP Updater Tool - ASUS OEM License Restorer
    There are 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't!

    RealBench Developer.

  10. #30
    ROG Member Array Fieldsweeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    is this still needed? i bought my RIVE about a month ago and I think it ahs the newest bios available right now? how will i know if i need to do
    this??
    or not?

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •