cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G73JH screen problem

Tindreal
Level 7
Hi!
I tried to use my old account, but it seems impossible, when I fill out the new required fields, the Asus webpage goes into an infinite loading loop, so I made a new account...

I have been using my G73JH for 2 years without any problem. Today I wanted to repaste it, but I wanted to check the current stock temps before applying new paste.
When I turned on my laptop I got this strange look on my screen:

I hope is nothing too serious, because I really need my laptop for work (the main reason why I bought this really expensive laptop so I could use it for years without the worry of the laptop faulting like the cheap ones) and I do not have money for a new computer or for any expensive parts (like VGA or motherboard) and the warranty has ended 3 months ago.

What is the problem and how can I fix it?

Thank you.

Question:
If I buy a new HANNSTAR HSD173PUW1 (or is there a better one?) panel and swap it with the current one, will that fix this issue?

The GPU is working without any problem. The picture quality is okay on an external monitor.

I was thinking of buying a new LCD screen panel, since I need my laptop. First I was thinking about getting another HANNSTAR HSD173PUW1, but then I realized that this panel is terrible. Faulty and color banding for a few examples.

I saw LG PHILIPS LP173WF1 TLB2 and LG PHILIPS LP173WF1 TLC1 for a cheap price. Any thoughts about this? In the past I was satisfied with LG panels. Btw, does anyone know what is the difference between C1 and B2? Does anyone know a better panel? Like, is the AU OPTRONICS B173HW01 V5 a better one?

Or the problem is not the panel at all?
7 REPLIES 7

dstrakele
Level 14
If you are going in for a repaste, try removing and re-seating the LVDS cable from the motherboard to see if it resolves your video issue.
G74SX-A1 - stock hardware - BIOS 202 - 2nd Monitor VISIO VF551XVT