Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array MasterBlaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Asus iv Extreme 2105 Bios, i7 3930 BSOD on overclock

    Hi guys
    I hope im in the right place not sure what im doing wrong :-(. Its my first overclock attempt so any advise or help would be great. I have read all of the guides here and followed the videos but still not sure where the problem is.


    Trying to achieve a moderate clock for every day use of 4.4 Ghz
    It posts ok, I then run Prime95 on blend -temps- max 69-70 but PC crashes with Pime95 but crashes after 2 hours so not sure if its memory voltage, memory timings, cpu voltage or another setting (see images Nof Bios settings)

    thanks for taking the time to read this and any advise will be appreciated

    My Spec
    Asus Rampage iv Extreme - Bios 2105 (latest version) - Full EK waterblock
    Mem Corsair Dominator GT 2133 with DHX Pro Connector (4 x 4 sticks)
    Proc 17 3930k @4.4ghz on XSPC RayStrom WaterBlock
    GPU EVGA GTX 590 Hydro Copper Quad SLi
    Power supply Corsair ATX 1200

    Ran out of Image Space - so Cpu Configuration page=
    Intel Adaptive Thermal Monitor Disabled
    Hyper Threading Enabled
    Active Processor Cores All
    Limit CPUID MAximum Disabled
    Everything else Enabled
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120818102017.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	168.4 KB 
ID:	10932Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120818102041.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	153.5 KB 
ID:	10933Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120818102109.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	157.5 KB 
ID:	10934Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120818102125.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	151.1 KB 
ID:	10935Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120818102256.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	158.8 KB 
ID:	10936Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120818102834.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	135.0 KB 
ID:	10937Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120818102955.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	157.8 KB 
ID:	10938Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120818103036.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	138.1 KB 
ID:	10939Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120818103534.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	163.0 KB 
ID:	10940
    Last edited by MasterBlaster; 08-18-2012 at 11:38 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,359

    My first thought is about the power... are you OC'ing the graphic cards too? Do you have all power connectors filled with cables? Including the Ez_Plugs?

    My second thought is on the memories... what is the exact model number of your kit? and version? Have you tried to run them at their XMP profile? I mean, set up the values manually based on the XMP profile... Also, running overnight Memtest86+ could save you a lot of time in terms of memory stability...

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array MasterBlaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Asus iv Extreme 2105 Bios, i7 3930 BSOD on overclock

    Quote Originally Posted by Zka17 View Post
    My first thought is about the power... are you OC'ing the graphic cards too? Do you have all power connectors filled with cables? Including the Ez_Plugs?

    My second thought is on the memories... what is the exact model number of your kit? and version? Have you tried to run them at their XMP profile? I mean, set up the values manually based on the XMP profile... Also, running overnight Memtest86+ could save you a lot of time in terms of memory stability...

    Hi thanks for your reply and for taking the time to assist.
    GPU is running at stock - no overclock
    Just using standard power cables for GPU, no EZ_plugs
    Also have extra power cable 8 & 4 pin on mobo for CPU so power is all ok

    Memory model is Corsair Dominator GT 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 PC3-17000C9 2133MHz Dual/Quad Channel Kit with DHX Pro Connector (CMT16GX3M4X2133C9) **SPECIAL**
    I looked at XMP Profile and only changed first timings so 9 -11- 10-27 thats all

    I'll download the memstest and run overnight - so am I right to assume my settings above are all ok?
    Last edited by MasterBlaster; 08-18-2012 at 10:44 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,359

    Please confirm that all power connectors are filled...

    Not sure about the settings yet... why did you load the Elpida Hyper Profile? That's the reason I was asking about the version number of your memory... it's on the sticker on the modules...

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array MasterBlaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Asus iv Extreme 2105 Bios, i7 3930 BSOD on overclock

    Quote Originally Posted by Zka17 View Post
    Please confirm that all power connectors are filled...

    Not sure about the settings yet... why did you load the Elpida Hyper Profile? That's the reason I was asking about the version number of your memory... it's on the sticker on the modules...

    All power connectors are filled - (sorry forgive my ignorance but im assuming here you mean for CPU, GPU etc?)

    The Elipida Hyper Profile is just highlighted - didnt load it :-)

    version number of Memory is 4.13 (CMT16GX3M4X2133C9)

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,359

    OK, then... I have the same kit, but the 8GB version...

    The timings seems right, but why do you run them at 1.6V? They're rated at 1.5V... have you tried that?
    And yes, you do have to do Memtest86+ to be sure that the memories are stable...

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array MasterBlaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    good spot, that could be it, I hope :-)
    ok MemTest is at 77% so far no errors, ill change voltage when its done, i dont think mem is faulty but ill get results soon
    its very strange as its fine for at least 2 hours then kaput;crash when running Prime95 (latest version)!
    I'll change mem voltage to 1. 5

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,359

    Wait a minute! I'm talking about Memtest86+ not the Windows own memory testing...

    You can read about Memtest86+ here: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...untry=&status=

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array MasterBlaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    yes thats the one i ran Memtest86+ no errors
    I still get BSOD, last one said clock interrupt so i'll up the voltage on cpu
    Asus Rampage IV - EK -FB Kit RE4 Nickel
    I7 3930@4.4 (1.3v) - XSPC RayStorm
    16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133
    GTX 680 SLI
    Corsair ATX 1200i|Intel 520 SSD 240GB|OCZ RevoDrive 3 240GB|WesterDigial 2TB
    CaseLabs MH10| 2 x XSPC 480|XSPC 360
    Koolance RP-452x2|2xMCP655|6 x ScytheGT1850's|Single loop|Pull config

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Diamond Belt Array Zka17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    199
    Posts
    8,359

    I see... what is the BSOD code?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •