cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dead motherboard? Tricky challenge!!!

vanesaurus
Level 7
Hi guys!

My computer died and I'm not sure what should I do now. I don't really know that much about computers, I'm new in my city, all my friends that have solid knowledge on this are far way and trying to help me via Skype or Ventrilo, but we are all out of solutions. Sorry for my mistakes, english is not my mother tongue.

Config:
Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
Video: AMD ATI FirePro V4800
Hard drive: Western Digital Caviar Green 640GB 64MB Cache SATA
Memory: Kingston 4 GB DDR3
CPU: i really don't remember but it's not bad
Power supply: Thermaltake Tr2 tx 750
Case: Thermaltake Element G

About a month ago the cpu fan started to sound forced. I opened the case, cleaned the dust as good as I could without touching too much, checked for obstacles but I didn't found nothing. I was told that it was normal that this generic fans would go bad and that I would have to change it soon. One day, (i live in Rome and it is summer, so it was a specially hot day, even with air conditioning), about a week ago, my computer just turned off. I wasn't doing anything special, working in Illustrator (I had just finished a lol game though). I turned it on again, and after one minute or so, it turned off again. All the lights in the motherboard where on, (leds and stuff), but nothing happened. At some point I recall moving the case and then the lights went off too, and it wouldn't turn off (had to power down the power supply).